We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont stay unless you have to”
Review of Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we stayed here for one night as there was nowhere else available this place is awful, the radiators do not work so we were very cold all night, there is no extra bedding left in room incase it is needed, no electric heater as a back up, half the lights are missing the light bulbs, the curtains are dirty, the furniture is dated, wobbly, and generally well battered, the carpet is threadbare, the tiles in the bathroom are a dirty disgrace especially in the shower, it is all 1970s and urgently needs a full refurbish, especially the beds which are uncomfortable, not enough tea & coffee, very over priced,and thats all the falstaff are interested in, making money but not spending it on the place, ..... we had stayed at a B&B down the road for a few days which was half the price and completely superior in every way & spotless but unfortunately booked up or we would have stayed there.

Room Tip: try and book somewhere else first
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Falstaff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

I had not Tripped this Hotel, so went in blind. My first impression as we parked the car was dull and grey. Not like Sheakspears Falstaff at all, however going through the front door and I saw a potential for something good. The receptionist was helpful and we were upgraded to the Bridal Suite, so far so good. The room was huge with a large bed and a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi. After refreshing ourselves and resting we went down to the bar prior to eating in the restaurant. It was then that I really noticed the Art Deco furnishings. Subtle but there. Beautiful chandeliers and amazingly adorned curtains give this Hotel a special style. Tables and lights contribute to this in the bar and reception.
We were DB&B and we were impressed to get Rib-eye steak on the menu which was excellent. The Chef took note of my allergies and provided everything I wanted. Again the decor on the restaurant is excellent. The curtains themselves are a work of Art.
We retired to our room and that is when we noticed that it was a bit cold. The radiator was warm at one end but not at the other. To counteract this we left the bathroom door open to allow the heat from the towel rail to get into the room. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well.
Now. Breakfast. We were a bit later than we would have liked, 9.20, but I was disappointed as the scrambled eggs were solid and cold and the coffee I was given was cold, they did change that for me though. However, the entire help your self buffet did not have any lids on, so was also cold.
This Hotel has potential to get a better rating if it just pulls it's socks up. When we went to check out there was no one in reception for quite a while.
The curtains around the public areas being so ornate need periodic dusting as do the mirrors and also the sink unit in the bridal suite should be painted Black like the mirror and the wardrobe in the bedroom.
I have been more detailed than normal because I think this Hotel could do better and by doing so could be a real Gem.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your constructive feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I have passed your comments to all of the departments highlighted. All of which would like to convey their thanks for the productive manner in which you have described your guest experience. The hotel will benefit from your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again in the future so that you can experience the improvements made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Upon arrival I was sent to a room without any bed lined. I was quickly and politely moved to a room that had been made up.
I used to stay regularly at the I Falstaff hotel but the last 2 times I stayed there no hot water for a shower in the morning. Again I was showed to yet another room. On the second occasion when I woke up to cold water I felt the need to email the area manager, he apologised and said I could have a free stay at the Falstaff. The first time I tried to take him up on this offer the hotel was apparently full. The next time I tried my email was just ignored.
It is a shame the management of this hotel is so poor because it is well located and the staff are generally helpful and seem embarrassed at the poor management of the hotel
I used to stay regular

Room Tip: The right side of the hotel has rooms with a more reliable boiler
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CH123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Please accept my apologies for the difficulties experienced. Although I did receive and responded to your initial email I did not receive the latter. Since receiving your feedback I have instructed our maintenance department to conduct a thorough check on the hot water supply to each room as it does not appear to affect the majority of hotel. Please do consider the Falstaff Hotel once again when next in the area. My apologies once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very pleased with my stay here,noticing some not so good reviews I was a bit worried but I was not dissatisfied with the hotel and facilities at all.Bed and Breakfast good value as quite often they have good offers.I do think that some of your dissatisfied guests are over-reacting perhaps thinking they had booked into The Ritz!but also writing unnecessary,negative comments.I also found(Tina Brown)I think her name was on duty on my last visit very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ber888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

On behalf of the team here at the hotel I would like to convey my thanks for the kind comments which are contained within your recent review. They are very much appreciated by the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is clean, pleasant, has a good location, only 5 minute walk from town centre. Breakfast was OK on 1st day as a buffet but on 2nd day order service which wasn't as good - some shortage in items, small selection but sufficient. Staff nice & tried to do a good job.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

I am sorry that the hotel did not exceed your expectations. May I also apologise for the inconsistent breakfast service experienced, which has been addressed. Your comments regarding the team here are appreciated and will be circulated. I do hope you consider staying at the Falstaff Hotel again when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Got the last room in this hotel, after trying every other hotel in the town. Room no. 22 is not recommended, as it is right beside the kitchen extractor fan which creates some racket when on full throttle. Cats would feel comfortable in this room, as they would be safe in the knowledge that they couldn't be swung about the place. They would also feel safe in the shower, as their dislike of water wouldn't be seriously tested, due to the lack of water pressure. Food was average. On the night of our stay, it seemed that the introduction of prohibition was imminent, as their stocks of beverages appeared to be well run down, given the limited range of wines on offer. On the plus side, staff were friendly and doing their best. However, I would not be tempted back.

Room Tip: Avoid room 22
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequenthoteluser37, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for completing your review following your recent stay. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been circulated and improvements will be made in the areas highlighted. Naturally I would like the opportunity to restore you confidence in the hotel. With that in mind I would like to invite back when next in the area. Please contact me when convenient as I would like to look after the reservation personally. My apologies once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
0.9 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#7 of 16 in Leamington Spa
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstaff Hotel

Address: 16-20 Warwick New Road, Leamington Spa CV32 5JQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: £61 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falstaff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Royal Leamington Spa! BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel is near the fashionable town of Royal Leamington Spa, with its Georgian and Victorian architecture, tree-lined avenues, squares and glorious gardens. The perfect place to while away a peaceful afternoon! Created in the early 1920s from three Victorian mansions, the hotel has lost none of its character over the years. In fact, its more appealing than ever, with parkland, riverside walks and other beautiful towns and cities to enjoy before returning to the friendly, welcoming atmosphere at the hotel. Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon are both within easy reach, with something for everyone to enjoy from shopping to Shakespeare! Welcome to Leamington Spa.You name it, we're near it! From clay pigeon shooting and paint balling at the local activity centre to art galleries and National Trust properties, there's plenty to see and do when you stay at this wonderful Warwickshire hotel! Landmarks and getting around: 3 miles from Warwick & Warwick Castle, 1 mile from Royal Pump Rooms, Jephson Gardens, 10 miles from Gaydon Motor Museum & Activity Centre, 7 miles from Charlecote Park (National Trust), 1 mile from The Assembly, Leamington Spa. BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel at a glance: well located and well-equipped, our hotel is well worth a visit! 63 hotel rooms, 2 bars, free WiFi, 1 restaurant, 7 meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa Best Western
Falstaff Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing