We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GROUP TRAVEL WEEKEND”
Review of Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Falstaff for the second year running, 56 happy passengers. Hotel clean, staff friendly and helpful. Rooms vary in size, but all adequate with tea & coffee making facilities. The beds were really comfortable and the hotel offers great value for money. Would highly recommend. When you see the negative comments on here, we do wonder what people want for their money. We will hopefully be returning again in 2015.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footstepstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked on line to this distinctly average hotel where I have stayed before. It's a convieient location & within our business budget, but I wish I had paid the extra & gone elsewhere.
When I arrived later in the evening, there was no record of my booking. I had heavy bags, my room number was announced to all within ear shot & I had to climb stairs, only to find my room number didn't exsist! I was told I was lucky when I went back to Reception as they had one last single room! The Reception looks like something out of Fawlty Towers & the service wasn't much better. Breakfast the following day was a non event. Clearly there was a staffing problem as there was one person coping with the Dining Room, except she wasn't coping! No apologies, no place settings & we all had to ask for basics like cutlery, plate etc. Embarassingly bad.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and managers, we have been attending this hotel for the past 3years every week for our meetings for my business, I highly recommend Falstaff for the service, great value, location and fabulous atmosphere. Lunch is delicious when we have our meetings we look forward to dinner. Thank you Falstaff hotel

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Miah89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Thank you Falstaff for a nice room a good dinner and clean comfortable bedroom. Much better than the premier inn, holiday inn and angel, will be back next week, a really good atmosphere here. Good food and service.

Room Tip: Room 6, very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here on 22-24 Feb - lovely location and character but dirty curtains, dreadful service (bar 1 great employee) no housekeeping - no replenishment of towels, toiletries, tea/coffee. Ordered breakfast in room for 2nd day - order not collected, breakfast not delivered until 2 phone calls made as they were "busy"

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 532SDreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Booked this hotel on line, found the place nice and easy, plenty of Car parking space front and rear of the building.
A nice young Friendly Lady on the reception desk took my details and gave directions to my room. I was in a nice double room facing the rear car park, not much of a view, but nice and quiet:)
I had a little walk into Leamingotn Spa, 10-20 minutes, depending on how fast you walk, not too many hills.
Went back to the hotel, had a relaxing bath and a good night sleep.
Overall a nice Hotel, good for work or a relaxing weekend or mid-week break.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor behind the reception area, facing the rear car park. Nice and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt T, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Kevin, Thank you for your review. It was good to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing break at the hotel. Leamington Spa is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the surrounding area and vibrant town centre. I have passed your kind comments to the team here, all of which appreciated reading your review. Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

On the whole, the hotel was great for what we actually paid for it, you genuinely do get what you pay for! The room and bathroom were clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine, a buffet style with plenty of choice and perfectly edible. You could tell some of the items had been out a while though which is one of the reasons I wouldn't give the hotel 5 stars! The shower in our room was disappointing, I couldn't have washed my hair with it but this wasn't too much of an issue as the bath was good. The room was a little smaller than I expected from the photos but perfect for the time we were spending there. The bed was very comfy but you could hear literally everything from the rooms around ours which wasn't ideal. Within good walking distance to the centre of Leamington Spa and we walked to Warwick castle from the hotel which took just over 30 mins. Overall, a great stay for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt T, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I will be passing your feedback to the relevant departments where they will be addressed and improvements made where possible. Your comments regarding breakfast are also appreciated. Continued replenishment of items should be taking place. I am sorry that this was not the case in this instance. We do also operate a waiter/waitress served breakfast service, but due the the number of guests expected for breakfast it was not possible on this occasion. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
0.9 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#7 of 16 in Leamington Spa
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstaff Hotel

Address: 16-20 Warwick New Road, Leamington Spa CV32 5JQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: £68 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falstaff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Royal Leamington Spa! BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel is near the fashionable town of Royal Leamington Spa, with its Georgian and Victorian architecture, tree-lined avenues, squares and glorious gardens. The perfect place to while away a peaceful afternoon! Created in the early 1920s from three Victorian mansions, the hotel has lost none of its character over the years. In fact, its more appealing than ever, with parkland, riverside walks and other beautiful towns and cities to enjoy before returning to the friendly, welcoming atmosphere at the hotel. Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon are both within easy reach, with something for everyone to enjoy from shopping to Shakespeare! Welcome to Leamington Spa.You name it, we're near it! From clay pigeon shooting and paint balling at the local activity centre to art galleries and National Trust properties, there's plenty to see and do when you stay at this wonderful Warwickshire hotel! Landmarks and getting around: 3 miles from Warwick & Warwick Castle, 1 mile from Royal Pump Rooms, Jephson Gardens, 10 miles from Gaydon Motor Museum & Activity Centre, 7 miles from Charlecote Park (National Trust), 1 mile from The Assembly, Leamington Spa. BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel at a glance: well located and well-equipped, our hotel is well worth a visit! 63 hotel rooms, 2 bars, free WiFi, 1 restaurant, 7 meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa Best Western
Falstaff Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing