We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is a little tired and in need of modernisation. It's within easy walking distance of the town itself and the room, though basic and quite small, was clean and quiet. There was ample parking while we were there too so all in all we were expecting to enjoy our stay - until we encountered the staff. Without exception they were surly, miserable and completely hopeless. No welcome greeting, no information about the layout, where the breakfast room was or the bar, or anything else for that matter. It felt as though we were troubling them by turning up. At breakfast we were placed at someone else's table - he'd gone for a refill of orange juice - and then moved to a vacant table that had not been set, so we had to ask for everything, (tea, coffee, salt, cutlery, butter etc.) and although the quality of the food was good, some of it was cold. But not as cold as the attitude of the staff. The couple on the next table had obviously suffered the same treatment and we had a chuckle about it, but it really was appalling. I should point out that we were not in any way demanding, in fact apart from the missing breakfast table items we asked for nothing at all throughout our stay, so there was no reason at all for the staff behaviour. Needless to say we would not dream of returning to this hotel - or any Best Western hotel for that matter.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms, book into another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheJCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    128
    121
    129
    104
See reviews for
61
207
29
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I booked a twin room at The Falstaff so that a friend and I could go to an event at The Assembly, and all we needed was a place to stay overnight. It didn't need to be swish, but it did need to be comfy and clean - and it turned out to be exactly what we wanted. The room (42) was a reasonable size - a proper twin rather than a converted double, with space all the way round and in between. A chair each side and another at the dressing table next to the plentiful supply of tea/coffee making facilities - with biccies. Flat screen TV, decent storage space if you are staying a while, the beds were firm but comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well maintained.
The view from the window was just another room opposite, but this hardly rates as an eyesore and I've stayed in more expensive places with worse. The reception area and lobby has a deliberate faux period look to it, thestaff were helpful, although there seem few on duty when we arrived, but the bar prices were pretty good, breakfast (according to friends who got up earlier than we did) was fine, and the hotel also has free parking. It is a twenty minute walk from Leamington Spa centre which for most people is easy - unless you are lazy or overweight in which case you need to exercise more. I would say this was fair value for the money, especially on a Saturday, late April in a really nice town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was disappointed with this Hotel, I was booked through a Hotel booking service as I was visiting a training Establishment nearby, and at £80+ per night I was expecting something way above average, what I got was some thing way below. This hotel could do with the outdated interior gutted and refurbished through out to bring it up to an exceptionable standard.I stayed in Room 4 comfortable and clean but so hot even with the windows being left permanently open, the shower left a lot to be desired, the Temp control with the water supply rings were almost fused together it took me 20mins and using considerable force to get the water temperature at an acceptable level
On the plus side the staff were triendly and the food good, but I wont use it again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leamington Spa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in a few Best Westerns but thus one was so outdated and so noisy ie function on Satdy nite the kitchen noise Sundy morning. I thought when you carried a reward card you were treated a bit better but not here, rooms are rubbish view of a wall (lovely wall) Premier Inn next time in that area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glennlevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

It's not a bad little place, but I found it had something in common with all of the BW hotels I've stayed in.......extreme lack of investment in decor. It just looks dated.

Staff all very helpful.

Rooms clean, nice telly, but cramped at the end of the bed, there is barely enough room to sit at the chair.

Don't think there is any WI-FI either, which is poor in this day and age.

Breakfast is mediocre, normal self service buffet, but very limited options. The powdered egg is horrible.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our club has visited the Falstaff Hotel for a number of years now to celebrate our Annual Reunion and year after year the members have voted unanimously to return. The General Manager and his staff are exceptionally helpful. The accommodation and food are good value for money. An area is allocated for our sole use throughout the weekend
which allows us to be independent of any other activities that may be taking place. We cannot recommend this hotel more highly

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leamington Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leamington Spa Town Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 18 in Leamington Spa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwi...
#10 of 18 in Leamington Spa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#6 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
6.0 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#12 of 13 in Warwick
3.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstaff Hotel

Property: Falstaff Hotel
Address: 16-20 Warwick New Road, Leamington Spa CV32 5JQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Falstaff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Royal Leamington Spa! BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel is near the fashionable town of Royal Leamington Spa, with its Georgian and Victorian architecture, tree-lined avenues, squares and glorious gardens. The perfect place to while away a peaceful afternoon! Created in the early 1920s from three Victorian mansions, the hotel has lost none of its character over the years. In fact, its more appealing than ever, with parkland, riverside walks and other beautiful towns and cities to enjoy before returning to the friendly, welcoming atmosphere at the hotel. Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon are both within easy reach, with something for everyone to enjoy from shopping to Shakespeare! Welcome to Leamington Spa.You name it, we're near it! From clay pigeon shooting and paint balling at the local activity centre to art galleries and National Trust properties, there's plenty to see and do when you stay at this wonderful Warwickshire hotel! Landmarks and getting around: 3 miles from Warwick & Warwick Castle, 1 mile from Royal Pump Rooms, Jephson Gardens, 10 miles from Gaydon Motor Museum & Activity Centre, 7 miles from Charlecote Park (National Trust), 1 mile from The Assembly, Leamington Spa. BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel at a glance: well located and well-equipped, our hotel is well worth a visit! 63 hotel rooms, 2 bars, free WiFi, 1 restaurant, 7 meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa Best Western
Falstaff Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing