We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely suprise !”
Review of Falstaff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falstaff Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed 9 August 2014

we stayed here for just 1 night in August and were very pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel is for the price.The rooms were clean, the beds wonderful,and everything we could possibly need was provided.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnabos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Donna, Thank you for your recent review. Your kind comments are appreciated by the team here at the Hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Room was not cleaned to a satisfactory level. The shower curtain was mouldy. The bath panel was broken. There was coffee split up the wall which was not cleaned. There was noise heard when in the room. We will not rush to stay here again and we have stayed at a few Best Western Hotels in the past and have never experienced this poor standard before so we were disappointed and actually cut our trip short to return home.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Nicola, Please accept my sincere apologies for the items highlighted in your recent review. Can I please ask that you contact me directly so that we can dicuss your experience in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our stay was for 1 night as we were attending a concert at Warwick Castle so close enough for a bus ride to our destination. First impressions from outside it looked drab and in need of a redec. Entrance was quite impressive, lots of marble and crystal but behind the sense it's very dated. The bedroom was clean and functional, beds comfy but walls thin, could hear occupants quite conversation next door which was alarming. Value for money but a lick of paint would transform it. Staff polite but most struggled to understand our requests as english was not their first language. Breakfast was tradition full english and very tasty. Parking to front and rear of hotel off road which was a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishrose664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for forwardiing your feedback. Your constructive comments have been noted and will be acted upon. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

When we arrived at the Falstaff we were disappointed with the appearance of the outside. Inside was very nice until you came to the corridors to rooms. Very tired and in need of decorating. However we had a really lovely room, which was spacious , quiet and very clean. We had a very comfortable night there. Reception staff were helpful, but a little more welcoming would have been nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank molliesouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I was very pleased to hear that you found your room both spacious and comfortable. Your constructive comments are appreciated and will be circulated around the departments highlighted. Improvements to the public area corridors and hotel exterior are planned. I do hope that they did not detract too much from your overall experience. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just returned from one night at the Falstaff after attending a graduation ceremony. We were very disappointed by the shabby appearance of the exterior of the hotel on arrival (think the other entrance was probably more attractive). The interior was fairly smart and fresh by comparison to the outside but the reception we received at check-in was far from warm and friendly. Having waited some time to be checked-in ( as telephone was answered) we were given the keys to our two rooms and fairly vague directions of how to find them. Luckily the signage was clear. Our children's room was dark and tiny and the heat overwhelming and we had been given a double even though a twin had been booked. Reception were able to quickly provide an alternative twin room when we requested. Our room was even hotter with only a tiny window opening and because of the outside temperature yesterday the heat was oppressive. To be fair, we did find a fan inside the wardrobe and this cooled us down so that we were able to have a good night's sleep. The room itself was tired and the decor gloomy. By contrast the bathroom was clean, bright and modern. Towels and bedding were clean, comfortable and fresh but the broken bath plug, light pull, cobwebs on the over-bed light and room corner were inexcusable. Similarly the lack of a valance on the stained divan bed base was bizarre as I would have thought it was something they would have wanted to hide! Breakfast staff were very friendly, attentive and obliging and breakfast was more than adequate and the dining room smart by comparison to other areas of the hotel - in particular the corridors. Checking out was again not a good experience as a new member of staff was being trained- luckily I wasn't asked if we had enjoyed our stay! The member of staff, however, was efficient in providing a Google map and directions to an address in Leamington , when asked. We have stayed in Best Western hotels on many occasions and these have been extremely good experiences though to be fair they have been four star rated but yesterday was a really disappointing one, whatever the rating. On another note, our double room was advertised as having been priced at £195 a night, reduced to £85- I would dispute strongly that any rooms at the Falstaff could be priced at £195 per night!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Lindsay. Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. Please initially accept my sincere apologies for the difficulties experienced. Your review has been circulated and improvements will be made to the areas identified. My apologies once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just back from 3 nights there. On arrival, hotel appeared clean but a bit shabby around the edges, water cooler in reception was empty. Corridors were clean but again shabby. My check in card was poorly printed with the wrong rate on - basically card had been cut up with a pair of blunt scissors, not very professional.

Room was clean and a good size. Bed comfy though had a bit of a smell in the room. Carpet threadbare and on inspection of the devan, held together on a wing and a prayer. Bed was made daily and towels changed but no other attention to the room. Large peice of cotton on the side of the shower still there when I left; toilet not cleaned - so no cleaning. Large gap under the door. Staff kept leaving window open to air the room which was OK but noisy as my view was of a wall and one of the doors to the Kitchen. I spent some time in the room as working late; on the last night, could hear the kitchen staff chatting about their car insurance and swearing a lot - not very professional.

Breakfast was poor (Monday morning) - scrambled eggs were cooked some time previously, so dry and tasteless, sausages were cold and undercooked. Croissants were a few days old so hard and toast was do it yourself with a toaster on the side but only white bread. Coffee was poured but you had to keep asking for a top up. Yogarts were nice and warm, in fact hotter than the sausages! I decided not to eat in there in the evenings so went to the pub. The other days, the cooked breakfast was kept in ban marie type affairs but did not look apitising; tins did not fit propery so tin of sausages was swinimng around like an ocean liner. Tinned toms were very 70's rather than freshly grilled real toms. Yogarts warm each day and croissants/danish gone over/stale.

The bar was OK; though had to keep looking for staff to serve you. They had a TV on and a radio in the corner so this was drouning out the TV. Not a comfortable place to sit.

Decour is dated and odd - looks like they have been to the recycling shabby shop and fitted the hotel out.

I feel for the staff - who all seemed to be working hard but with not the right tools or equipment to do the job. Thats apart from the kitchen staff who just swore a lot and moaned about the f***ing suppliers who keep sending the wrong tea!

It is a shame as this could be a really nice hotel and could make a healthy profit if they invested in the quality aspect.

I did ask to speak to the manager who was "at the other hotel" generally not good, would not recommend this place. Will not use Best Western again.

Room Tip: learn from me - the other hotels in the town were full, this wasen't say no more!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Falstaff seems to have got itself together again, it has had a few "iffy" years but now seems to be well back on track. A group of about 40 of us had a 3 course set menu in the restaurant last week and were well fed and well looked after. An excellent home made mushroom soup, followed by roast beef, Yorkshire pudding and all the trimmings wrapped up with a strawberry moose and coffee all for £17.50 a head.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed there but Best Western is usually to a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AM-Talash, General Manager at Falstaff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Kris. Many thanks for your kind comments. Your feedback has been passed to the teams in the kitchen and restaurant, both of which would like to convey their apprerciation also. We look forward to seeing you again in the future when you will be able to enjoy another meal in our restaurant. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
0.9 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#7 of 16 in Leamington Spa
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstaff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstaff Hotel

Address: 16-20 Warwick New Road, Leamington Spa CV32 5JQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: £68 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falstaff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Royal Leamington Spa! BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel is near the fashionable town of Royal Leamington Spa, with its Georgian and Victorian architecture, tree-lined avenues, squares and glorious gardens. The perfect place to while away a peaceful afternoon! Created in the early 1920s from three Victorian mansions, the hotel has lost none of its character over the years. In fact, its more appealing than ever, with parkland, riverside walks and other beautiful towns and cities to enjoy before returning to the friendly, welcoming atmosphere at the hotel. Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon are both within easy reach, with something for everyone to enjoy from shopping to Shakespeare! Welcome to Leamington Spa.You name it, we're near it! From clay pigeon shooting and paint balling at the local activity centre to art galleries and National Trust properties, there's plenty to see and do when you stay at this wonderful Warwickshire hotel! Landmarks and getting around: 3 miles from Warwick & Warwick Castle, 1 mile from Royal Pump Rooms, Jephson Gardens, 10 miles from Gaydon Motor Museum & Activity Centre, 7 miles from Charlecote Park (National Trust), 1 mile from The Assembly, Leamington Spa. BEST WESTERN Falstaff Hotel at a glance: well located and well-equipped, our hotel is well worth a visit! 63 hotel rooms, 2 bars, free WiFi, 1 restaurant, 7 meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falstaff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa Best Western
Falstaff Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing