We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will not be staying in this hotel again”
Review of Episode Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Episode Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My first impression of the room was that it looked very nice apart from the dirty carpet...but that is the only positive comment I can make. the bed was the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept in at a hotel and it creaked every time you moved. The windows which are old wooden frames (not double glazed) would not close properly so with the noise from the creaky bed and the busy road outside it was impossible to sleep. The radiator did not work and only gurgled when you switched it on. The breakfast service on our first morning was dreadful. The couple on the next table had waited 30 mins for cooked breakfast and gave up on the toast arriving. We had to ask for milk for the tea, sugar and teaspoons and ended up sharing these with the next table. We were seated in the bar due to lack of space in the restaurant. We waited 25 minutes for poached eggs which were well over cooked. Tables had not been wiped down after previous guests. The second morning the service was a little better but very greasy plates. We went out for the day on Saturday and when we returned my husbands jumper, which he had left folded on the chest of drawers, had been put on the radiator (yes, the one that did not work) and it was very wet. I asked why and was told by the receptionist that she would find out. i asked again when we checked out and was told that the people in the room above had left their shower on and it had leaked through our ceiling! The only reason I have given poor and not terrible was that the receptionist was very nice and friendly. needless to say I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoDurhamAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

The room we stayed in stank of emulsion paint, the bathroom was an accident waiting to happen, no hot water, no signal to the free wi-fi. Some of the staff seemed disinterested, which was reflected in the service during breakfast. The parking is dreadful, and nobody seemed to care that cars parked over the entrance making access with your baggage quite hazardous - I'm sure this contravenes fire regulations. If you are disabled forget it. I didn't have an evening meal so can't comment on the food, but the bar was quiet pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archieballous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed just one night on business, but would definately stay again when in Leamington Spa on business or leisure. Its ideally situated to walk into town, and all the staff were really helpful and welcoming. My only complaint would be only having 3 tv channels, which would be more of an issue if you wanted to relax a bit in the room. I was in room 28 with very comfortable double bed and great power shower in the ensuite. The bar and dining area are modern and inviting to spend time in. They served a good cooked breakfast in the morning, and there is a fair the selection of cereals etc. Overall I had a positive experience staying at the Episode, and is certainly a better choice than staying at some characterless chain hotel for a similar price

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This was a left over from Red Letter day experience gift, so I cant comment on value for money.It was for our first wedding anniversary. When I called the hotel that morning, just to ensure that we were booked in.......we were but not until March, they admitted they had made an error. Without any fuss, they accomodated us, and gave us an upgrade. (it was a good job they were not full, I think this review would be different). But top marks to Liz in how she handled the problem.
The hotel is well located, about 5 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants. It is a lovely old town house style building with a modern contemporary decor and furnishings, spoltlessly clean. We parked easily. The staff are very friendly always with a smile, and immaculately dressed. We had room 9, four poster bed, and a roll top bath, very nice. The breakfast was fine, we didnt eat there at night, but had a few drinks in the bar, once again very good service from the bar staff.
So why did I not rate this excellent? There are a few niggles, and I have stayed in some of the top hotels in the world, so I am rating this against similar standard hotels. Niggles: not enough towels, we had to ask twice; not enough pillows; very squeaky bed; loose toilet seat; no glasses in the room for water etc.(all these are also in someone elses review last November); TV that only had 3 channels, but hey, it was our weedding anniversary...tv banned!!
But generally this hotel is very good, the general service is great, I would definitley return, but ask the owners just to pay some attention to reviews and little niggles to make it a great hotel with perfect service.
date of stay:3rd February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maetloafkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Booked two nights with a Buyagift voucher received at Xmas. Had no trouble booking the room probably because of the time we went 27/28 Jan .However I think we were given a room not normally used ,on the top floor ,small dark with a bed jammed into the recess of the apex only accessible on one side , the front .Kids would probably love it. Cross between a tent and a caravan, and a very wobbly legged dressing table.
However I won’t let this sway my review .It is a well run friendly Hotel with great staff. A good bar area which is well used by passing locals .A small restaurant which is also popular we didn’t use it but it appeared very reasonable it was fully booked on the Saturday .Other than the room it was a very good stay you are made to feel welcome .The breakfast is fine however I prefer a poached egg but you can only get a fried egg on a weekend?? Poached egg chef must get the weekend off.
The Hotel is only 5mins from the main areas. Leamington has several bars and restaurants for all tastes we found the Café Rouge a French ish themed bistro very good and well priced just over £40 for two courses and a shared dessert with drinks. Also The Counting House part of the Angel Hotel also very good service and quality again very reasonable.
Warwick is only three miles and defiantly worth a visit the castle being the main attraction. Make sure you get a 2for1 voucher or some other cheap entry or you will end up paying £30 each like we did and don’t bother paying for the Merlin Tower it’s not worth it.

Room Tip: Dont have room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaunP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We hired the main bar & lounge area of the hotel for a birthday party, along with 20 of the rooms for our friends to stay overnight. This is a great venue for a party - a building with great character in a very good location, and the layout is perfect for drinks/food/chatting/dancing. The manager, party organiser, chef and staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the food was absolutely excellent. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed over New Year, check in was easy, allowed to leave luggage earlier than checking in.
Superior Room was good size although room has slanting ceiling due to being in loft area, which may be difficult for tall guests.
New Years Eve function, excellent food and party well organised.
Friendly staff, always willing to help. Room and Hotel very clean, good breakfast choice.
Bar Area was smart.
Would definitely consider for future stays in the area, well located for Leamington town centre.

Room Tip: Beware loft rooms for taller people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.2 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
412 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#13 of 16 in Leamington Spa
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Episode Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Episode Hotel

Address: 64 Upper Holly Walk, Leamington Spa CV32 4JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Episode Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drop your luggage and accept the warm welcome at this lovely town house hotel in the heart of Leamington Spa - the healthy mineral waters town on the river Leam that Queen Victoria made 'royal' after a visit in 1838. Impressive on the outside and gorgeous on the inside, this contemporary, chic stopover offers striking modern decor and stunning furnishings within a classic Regency period building. Visit the fabulous restaurant for modern British cooking described as a 'sprinkling of Continental style and technique'. And for those who take pleasure from an appetizer, a quick snack or after-dinner nightcap there's a champagne and cocktail terrace on which to relax and reminisce over the day's activities. This is also an intimate and professional wedding and business meeting venue, which can be exclusively hired... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Episode Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Episode Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing