We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch boutique hotel with quality restaurant on site”
Review of Episode Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Episode Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed at the Episode in September 2011 and several times since .
Top notch boutique hotel with talented chefs. No need to wander into town in the cold . Make sure you book
Hotel staff very polite and very well
organised, can't do enough for you .
- will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayhunter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is our second stay here, following getting Buy a gift vouchers, and we found it reasonable.

On both occasions we had the same room, which i understand was an executive room, which had a four poster bed and a rolled top bath, the bed was very comfortable, but extremely squeaky. The shower in the bahroom flooded, and despite having reported it, was never fixed.
Other reviewers have mentioned about the noise of other guests, and yes, the walls in the hotel do seem very thin :o)

On our second morning, despite being reasonably early my choice of breakfast was not available. Breakfast service was lacking in customer friendly staff. We felt like we was being rushed out of the dining room. The location of the hotel was excellent, only minutes walk from the town centre, where if you wanted a nice reasonable evening meal, you could try the weatherspoons where you could pick up a very nice steak meal, and the drinks were extremely cheap there too.

Other reviewers have complained about lack of car parking. We have stayed here twice and it has never been an issue.

The bar in the hotel is more than adequate, with a good range of drinks, but a bit on the pricey side. You can get a really nice cup of coffee ( with a chunk of brownie ) though,

Although there were a few minor issues with the hotel during our stay, we really like leamington spa, and we have every intention of staying here again.

We would like to give Sandra, The General Manager, a big thankyou for making our stay and enjoyable one, and following up on our issues, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Room Tip: When staying at this hotel, we would advise you to pay the extra, and have the executive room, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazza_030711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Episode Hotel for the weekend 20th to 22nd April. Very noisy and found it hard to sleep. Having booked quite a few months in advance we couldnt believe that we were above the conference room. We wondered if this had anything to do with it being a KGB Deal? Wont be returning.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 607Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Episode Hotel for two nights from Easter Sunday. We booked through Secret Escapes so had a good deal of 2 nights for £99. We paid an additional £20 upgrade which enabled us to have the executive room 9, which was absolutely lovely with four poster bed and freestanding Roll top Bath, plus a seperate shower basin in the bathroom. We really enjoyed our stay here the staff were friendly, the bar was great and fun and showed sky sports which we loved!! A great base for getting out and about and only a five minute walk into town. Free parking too! We had one meal in the restaurant which was good and breakfast was good too!
Really couldn't fault it and would definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rydale66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We decided to go for the Episode as we had eaten there some years ago, but wished we had gone back to Mallory Court or the Granville at Barford.

We arrived, and had to wait nearly 5 minutes to attract someone's attention, and were then shown to a table set for 3 people, despite the reservation being for 4 covers. Chipped glasses were sent back, and the table laid for all of us- we thought that the lunch could only get better.
andThe starters were adequate- Spring leek and wild garlic soup, and a smoked salmon starter- but such tiny portions. No more than a taste!

The Roast lamb and roast pork were both tasty, but not enough vegetables and 2 roast potatoes didn't seem a lot.

Despite having made a booking for Sunday lunch nearly 4 weeks previously, we were assured that the 2 vegetarians in our party would 'have something cooked especially by the Chef' according to Marcus. This wasn't the case, as there was a beetroot risotto already made. Apparently it was pretty dire.

The lemon tart looked nice enough, and was apparenty tasty, for a £2 supplement, 3 of us decided to opt for the cheese board. Our waitress didn't know what all the cheeses were, only that they 'smelled a lot'.

When we left, the receptionist didn't even acknowledge our departure, a quick ''Bye' is enough to make you feel valued.

All in all, my verdict is that a fairly special occasion was very let down by a poor imitation of customer service. Such a shame, as we have had drinks in the bar on several occasions, and always had a good time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank STUART D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Four of us went to the restaurant at the Episode Hotel for Easter Sunday lunch. On arrival we walked into the restaurant and waited for someone to greet us and take us to our table but we were left waiting even though the serving staff at the bar had looked over to us on a couple of occasions. Someone finally came over and we mentioned we had booked a table for 4 by the window. However it looked like they didn't have our booking as we were shown to a table with just 3 place settings which they didn't notice until we mentioned, along with a chipped glass on the table. Disappointing choice on the menu - understand it was a small menu but 3 meat (pork, lamb and beef) dishes and a risotto was a let down, shame there wasn't a choice of a fish main course. We all went for 3 courses which was a good job as the portions were quite small if you just went for the salmon and risotto (even for me). If you have a heartier appetite go for the meat option - much better portion size. Two of us had the salmon which although very tasty with some creme fraiche - could have come with some sort of salad at least as it looked lost on the plate. Risotto was a little disappointing unfortunately - normally one of my favourite dishes. When asked about the selection of cheeses - the waitress couldn't tell us but just said that she smelt them earlier and didn't know what they were, however a least she came back and tried to tell us what they were. They also need to sort out their service as we would get 2 different waitresses asking us the same thing within 5 minutes although better than being forgotten about. I wouldn't go back which is a shame as the restaurant itself is nice but perhaps lacking in a little atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here based on a deal of two nights for £99.  We asked for an executive twin and were given room 7 which was a decent size.  The bathroom was compact and clean with nice  white towels, but the hot water in the basin was far too hot and the shower wavered between hot and cold.  Beds were comfy with clean white linens.  Expect all the three star basics - hair dryer, toiletry miniatures, tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities, bottled water, biscuits.  Maybe it's the age of the building, but we could hear the guests next door very clearly.  However, it's far away enough from the bar/restaurant area not to be disturbed by the music.  Free wifi is handy but the signal fades in and out quite a bit.  Breakfast is a decent selection, but the fruit salad is uninspired consisting mainly of apple.  Breakfast staff could be a bit more attentive; we had to ask for toast and there was no coffee/tea top up unless you asked for it.  Location is good being less than ten minutes' walk from the centre of town.  There is parking for guests but it could get busy if you're unlucky.  It was good value for what we paid but I'm not sure I would pay full price. 

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Mipanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.2 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
411 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
461 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#13 of 16 in Leamington Spa
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Episode Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Episode Hotel

Address: 64 Upper Holly Walk, Leamington Spa CV32 4JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Episode Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drop your luggage and accept the warm welcome at this lovely town house hotel in the heart of Leamington Spa - the healthy mineral waters town on the river Leam that Queen Victoria made 'royal' after a visit in 1838. Impressive on the outside and gorgeous on the inside, this contemporary, chic stopover offers striking modern decor and stunning furnishings within a classic Regency period building. Visit the fabulous restaurant for modern British cooking described as a 'sprinkling of Continental style and technique'. And for those who take pleasure from an appetizer, a quick snack or after-dinner nightcap there's a champagne and cocktail terrace on which to relax and reminisce over the day's activities. This is also an intimate and professional wedding and business meeting venue, which can be exclusively hired... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Episode Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Episode Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing