We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but overpriced”
Review of Episode Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Episode Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but overpriced”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Good location and easy to get to but has too many faults for the price you pay.

Faults are minor but they add up. Firstly, parking is difficult with few spaces. Checking in takes too long. The breakfast service can be slow especially if you're sat in th bar area because of lack of room, they can completely forget you are there. The bed was in need of a new mattress as there was a major dip in the middle.

On the plus side the bar area is a suburb conservatory type room and has a great atmosphere during the evening. The outside drinks area is also very good. The bar staff were also sociable which always helps.

The breakfast was plentiful when it arrived and there was more than enough choice, be it hot or cold.

The bathroom was a good size and the shower was very powerful which is good.

Wouldn't rush back if paying myself.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardKingPJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    219
    141
    89
    80
See reviews for
79
351
17
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed at the Episode Hotel for a weekend with my partner. Overall the hotel was very good, and is ideally located for Leamington and the surrounding area. What lets it down is the attention to detail, little things that individually don't make much, but when they start adding up it annoys you. For example, the car park, it has about 20 spaces, but they are all really tight spaces, and most of them seem to be taken up by people using the pub/resturant, but guests are expected to park on the street. Secondly, the fixed shower head was at approx 4 foot 6, so was great if you are a child, but at 6 feet 4, i only managed to wash from the nipple line down, unless i knelt in the shower, which kind of defeats the object of the shower. Also, there was no shower curtain at the back of the shower, subsequently if you had the shower on more than a trickle all the water went out the back of the shower and flooded the bathroom floor. Thirdly, the breakfast, although good was an 'experience'. On the first morning we were asked if we wanted toast before out breakfast arrived, which we said yes, no toast appeared, then the breakfasts appeared, but no toast, so i mentioned it and was promised it would be here in no time. After finishing my breakfast, but not my toast i asked another waitress where the toast was, and she went out an was back in 5 mins with it, but it still took 45 mins for the toast to arrive. And finally, there was no blackout curtains on the window, so as soon as it was light (5:45) we were wide awake as the bed was pushed up against the window.
Not big issues, and could easily be resolved, but frustrating none the less. On the up side, the staff were helpful, the rooms were clean and tidy, and the loaction for access to Leamington town and the surrounding area was superb.

Room Tip: Don't go for room 16, no blackout blind so you are awake as soon as the sun is up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewphillips72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This was my first time at Episode, in Leamington Spa, actually, but a number of my colleagues have stayed at Episode in the past. Some have horror stories. However, half the hotel has recently been renovated, and if they are renovating the rest now, they may win over more guests.

I was in Room 4, the renovated room pictured in the professional photo on the Trip Advisor page (velvet flower wallpaper, black leather deco pillows). The room was spacious and bright - a corner room.

However, the older aspects of the hotel still showed through. The rooms don't have deadbolts or chains on the door, just a normal door lock that you might have on a bathroom or bedroom inside your home, so security leaves something to be desired. And unless they upgrade their boiler, try not to shower at rush hour - I ended up with a cold shower half-way through.

Breakfast is included - and it is a full English breakfast - and there is a big park nearby for morning walks/jogs. After 2 nights at the Episode, I would say that they seem to be making good strides towards becoming a better hotel. In the meantime, it is still a decent option if the price and location are right for you.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a spacious, renovated, corner room. It is in the Superior room category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammts28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The room was dirty with broken wardrobe door, when arriving to our room we were greeted with next door's plates from room service which were still there the following morning. On top the room was bitter cold and reception staff uninterested and unhelpful.

All in all an overrated / overpriced hotel for the amenities and service received.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentina_boomshacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leamington Spa hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Worst breakfast I've had for a long while. Service okay but food simply awful. Waited 25 minutes for a cold full english. Hard fried egg, cold plates, disgusting bacon, soggy fried bread, undercooked sausage which i had to ask for as it wasn't on the plate. Wish I'd never bothered! I can't understand how you can get it so wrong. I almost wanted to march in to the kitchen to help out. We weren't the only ones complaining either. Oh and the worst crime - they didn't have any baked beans! The review below by holiday hunter must be the owner of the hotel because to say these guys know what they are doing is an exageration beyond comprehension. Its not a very difficult meal to get wrong but they managed it spectacularly!

Bedrooms clean but all the lamps had been unplugged for some reason?! Bed quite soft (cheap mattress). No spare pillows in cupboard. No Soap in bathroom.

They have a spa - why would you have that open on a saturday afternoon when couples often go away at this time? Madness.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had booked and paid for a two night break at the Episode hotel, but left after 1 night. The hotel itself is nice and in general, good value for money,
We were allocated room 31, which is nicely deocorated, the issues was that, when you turn the TV on and all you get is a very grainy picture on 2 of the 5 channels that were available with the other 3 not that great either, after speaking to the hotel management, they checked the connection and said that the picture issue was the same in other rooms, now normally watching TV is not what you would do on a weekend away but the weather was terrible so there was nowhere to visit outside the hotel, and the spa centre was fully booked..
That night found the biggest problem, the bed mattress was to say the least knackered, at one end you had springs digging in you back, and the other end the matteress dipped as if it had all the stuffing removed. terrible nights sleep, following morning after breakfast, we spoke with reception and they were arranging for additional covers to be placed on bed to ease the issue with the springs, but aftergoing out for a short dirve in the wind and rain we decided to call it a day and return home.
The staff were very friendly and polite, and apologised for the issues we had, but really they do need to ensure that the basics are up to an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexOnlyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

After booking this several months in advance using a KGB deal and upgrading to a superior room for an additional £10 per night we were really looking forward to our stay.

When we arrived the small car park was virtually full without only a couple of very tight spots left (due to cars overlapping spaces), we managed to squeeze in to one but the car park wasn't big enough for the hotel so we were lucky to get a space.

We then went in to the reception which was unmanned when we arrived. We rang the bell for attention but still waited another 5 minutes before anyone actually arrived. During our wait we read a few guestbook entries and were concerned by several comments about too much noise, the signs weren't good but we hoped for the best.

Check-in was smooth and we were directed to room 33 which was on the ground floor overlooking the car park. Around our room there was only one other guest room and a conference room and as it were were staying a weekend we thought great - it should be fairly quiet (oh we couldn't have been more wrong!).

Going in to our 'superior' room we were immediately disappointed as although the room was nicely furnished (apart from the carpet which looked dated), it was very small with just a standard double bed (with an old mattress that had clearly never been turned as it was very soft in some places and hard in others) and a foot or two space around it. The bathroom was also very small but clean so we put up with it.

Disappointingly the TV was also a very small flatscreen (but not widescreen) mounted on the wall but it still used a terrestrial TV signal and not a very good one at that as the reception was terrible.

So, overall the room was clean and looked nice but hardly a superior room and severely lacking when it came to luxuries such as digital TV or even a good reception!

Still, you only sleep there so we thought it would be fine.

However, we soon found out that the noise from the bar could easily be heard from our room, there were also toilets just near our room so regular noise from people using them. The noise from the bar meant we had to turn the TV quite loud but by 10:30pm the bar must have closed and it was relatively quiet. We werent impressed by the noise but as it stopped at 10:30pm we figured we could live with it and so, as we do not like complaining, we just got on with our stay.

However, two other things amounted to spoil our sleep. Firstly the window in the room was single-glazed and there was an awful draft coming through it all night which especially effected my partner as she was nearest the window. Secondly the hotel has lights shining on the walls outside to liven it up but one of these was right over our window and so our room was far from dark.

I also suspect there was a smoking area somewhere outside near our room as the smell of cigarette smoke drifted in to our room every now and again via the bathroom vent. The pipes were also noisy and the shower randomly spat out water every now and again to disturb our sleep!

Still, as I say, we are both quite shy and hate complaining so we just figured we could put up with it.

However, the next night things got even worse as a hen party had booked out the conference room next door to our room. We were not warned of this otherwise we would have asked to have moved rooms even after the first night.

I do not understand the logic of putting us in a room right next to a conference room that has been hired for a hen party - it must have been obvious the noise would be unacceptably loud. As we know several of the hen party stayed at the hotel why were they not put in our room to allow us a room further from the conference room? After all we booked far enough in advance for it to be planned effectively.

We ended up with the TV on very loud to try and drown out their music and laughter but it was not enough and by 11pm we had had enough and rang reception to complain. They apologized and said we should have been warned and agreed to not charge us the 'superior room' upgrade fee but said there were no rooms to move us to so basically we just had to put up with it.

The noise did stop shortly after because the reception had told the hen party they had had 2 complaints (so obviously we were not the only ones!) and to keep the music down - hardly nice for the hen party either who were just trying to have a good time.

Overall I would say this hotel has great potential to be excellent but they are failing to provide a good nights sleep for their customers - surely the priority of any hotel.

The hotel is far too small to offer a venue with loud music and I feel if they want to establish a strong business they need to decide whether they are a hotel or an entertainment venue as they cannot do both.

The only good thing about the hotel is the location and the breakfast staff were quite good even if the food for the breakfast was clearly cheap and not in keeping with the high quality projected by the hotels restaurant.

Stick to using Premier Inn or Travelodge - both offer much better rooms and service for a lot less in price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the conference room and bar (and not directly above them either). Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityTiger1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
2.3 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
0.6 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#13 of 16 in Leamington Spa
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Episode Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Episode Hotel

Property: Episode Hotel
Address: 64 Upper Holly Walk, Leamington Spa CV32 4JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Episode Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drop your luggage and accept the warm welcome at this lovely town house hotel in the heart of Leamington Spa - the healthy mineral waters town on the river Leam that Queen Victoria made 'royal' after a visit in 1838. Impressive on the outside and gorgeous on the inside, this contemporary, chic stopover offers striking modern decor and stunning furnishings within a classic Regency period building. Visit the fabulous restaurant for modern British cooking described as a 'sprinkling of Continental style and technique'. And for those who take pleasure from an appetizer, a quick snack or after-dinner nightcap there's a champagne and cocktail terrace on which to relax and reminisce over the day's activities. This is also an intimate and professional wedding and business meeting venue, which can be exclusively hired... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Episode Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Episode Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing