We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldve been better”
Review of Episode Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Episode Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I was booked into the hotel for a 1 night stay on a business trip.
The company had organised a meal in leamington spa so I didnt use the hotel's restaurant, and this review will be based on the room alone.

Check in was relatively painless, though the lady on the desk could have been a bit more friendly. Also, the lobby smelt of smoke, probably from outside but still not pleasant.

My room was on the ground floor overlooking the carpark and only had heavy curtains so if you wanted a bit of privacy you had to sit in the dark as the light was by the door, not the middle of the room.
The room itself couldve been cleaner too. the floor had bits of fluff and a stick on it and the window was dusty. the mirror was also covered in finger prints. There was also a few hairs on the bathroom floor.

The room was equipped with the basics, a kettle and tv, though the tv woundnt receive digital tv, despite having the capability.

The bed was comfy but the pillows were very thin.

Overall, could have been better but I didnt have a choice of hotel as it was booked for me

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matbed186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

We chose Episode Hotel purely by the pictures on their website. It is a lovely hotel, refurbed to a high standard and very close to main avenue of shops. We booked a deluxe double room. On checking in the room we were allocated was on the top floor and appeared to be an attic room. It was bland and nothing like any of the photos on the website. We did query this with Reception and they explained that it was a deluxe room, however they immediately upgraded us and were very helpful and friendly. The second room was a lovely room which was more in keeping with what we were expecting. The facilities in the room were of a good standard. However, the walls are not very soundproof and we were woken a couple of times in the night. The food was great, although the dessert menu was over-priced in our opinion. We cannot fault the staff who were very helpful, friendly and welcoming. The carpark is quite small for the size of the hotel. We would recommend this hotel for a break and we would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I'll start with the good...fantastically central location. Very nice bar area. Oh, our bathroom was clean, too.

Now the bad...We booked a 2 night break at Episode using a Buy A Gift voucher. We'd spent time on their website which talked about a small number of rooms having not been refurbished. While we did guess that they'd put us in one of the unrefurbished rooms because we'd booked using the "reduced price voucher", we had no idea quite how ropey it was actually going to be (especially when compared to all the pictures of the refurbished rooms).

There was a huge bed in the middle of the room, but very little else. It felt cold and damp like a store room. The window blind fitted so badly that when the sun came up the next morning the entire room was bathed in light.

There was little to no sound proofing on the walls and we could hear absolutely everything and everybody who walked past our room (including the drunken people from the party the hotel was hosting during our stay who came up at 4am...).

The bed was something out of the 1950's with very little spring in the mattress. The pillows weren't much better, either. And they only let us have 1 pillow each.

My husband and I woke up at 5.30am on the Sunday morning of our stay and couldn't get back to sleep so got up, checked out and drove the 75 miles home to bed at 6.30am, much to our annoyance. On checkout, the night porter asked if we'd like to be contacted about our time, which we of course said "yes", but to this day, we've still not had a call.

Our rating of 1 star is clearly reflective of the terrible room and bed and I'd like to hope all the rooms aren't like this.

Not to be repeated.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bec30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

we stayed here night before going to friends christening, checkin was painless and got our keys (lock keys not electronic) we had to "upgrade" to deluxe room so that we could fit a zip bed in to accommodate our little son. Our room had a 4 poster bed and very modern feature wall. Few things didnt like, bath was very slippy with no bath mat our son slipped alot in that, the door didnt have a security latch or inside lock which just makes you feel little safer though thats a personal thing.

Breakfast was lovely (not as previous reviewer described) with a small table of cornflakes, yoghurt fruit etc and you order you cooked breakfast. Staff at the hotel where very friendly to us and would stay here again if the occasion arose again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo-monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Was worried about the reviews, but was a perfect stay. We just needed a room overnight in Leam that was decent value. Clean, pleasant and will use when we return to the area. Ours was a non-refurbished room, but even this was great.

Perhaps if we were paying over £100 a night our view may have been very different. But at the right price, the ideal choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I had my 40th birthday party there and although i have never stayed at episode myself i did have friends staying there when i booked the hotel as a venue for my 40th and they personally received an outstanding level of service! I cant believe there are so many poor reviews and may i add that during my days of working in 'corporate land' i would accept nothing but the highest standard sometimes staying at the waldorf in london and many other 5 stars and receiving gastronomic food from the likes of the roux brothers, gordon ramsey etc so i do feel suitably able to judge and comment. Attention to detail was of the highest order at Episode, the food was amazing and staff were 100percent so much so that i actually took them all a bouquet of flowers the next day.......my 40th became like organising a wedding, they rolled out the red carpet, they even sourced a dj for me at the eleventh hour when mine had to cancel. I had a photographer set up in the front function room to the left capturing everyones fantastic outfit creations of the 70s and 80s! I received and continue to receive to this very day compliments towards the hotel and warm happy memory recounts about it, i am just about to book the episode again for 4 july this year and i had a soiree there the year before my 40th and have never ever been dissapointed, i spent the most fantastic fun day at ascot ladies day there yesterday and again sampled scrumptious food (superb roast beef by the way!) listened to a super band followed by a lovely supper and guess what, the return of the band and danced the night away! In my estimation Episode have certainly got it right and I wouldnt hesitate to book rooms again for friends and family, long may you continue Episode.......

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainey000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed at Episode Hotel, a privately owned and run, small to medium sized hotel in Leamington Spa for a major family gathering. In a town where it is a nightmare to park, they have their own nice, and free, car park...a major consideration! The owner was on hand, and all the very well trained staff could not have been more helpful in getting all the decor and arrangements ready for the party...The place looked sensational for our arrival! Our bedrooms were all delightful...all very modern with a twist...red and black in a four poster room...or a more traditional room with lovely , high ceilings and fine quality linens on the beds. There is an excellent bar, with pretty little patio for warm evenings, and a pleasant dining room...where one can have a SUPERB, hot English breakfast , served by wait staff...no groping around the buffet table here, thank you very much. And a great pot of steaming hot, freshly made coffee! I would recommend this delightful hotel to anyone wanting a more personal style of service, and a smaller than those international standard hotels, which leave me cold, uninspired and usually unnoticed!

Room Tip: There is an excellent , way above average, handicap access room with 2 bathrooms...one is specifical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
2.3 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
780 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
0.6 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Episode Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Episode Hotel

Address: 64 Upper Holly Walk, Leamington Spa CV32 4JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: £66 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Episode Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drop your luggage and accept the warm welcome at this lovely town house hotel in the heart of Leamington Spa - the healthy mineral waters town on the river Leam that Queen Victoria made 'royal' after a visit in 1838. Impressive on the outside and gorgeous on the inside, this contemporary, chic stopover offers striking modern decor and stunning furnishings within a classic Regency period building. Visit the fabulous restaurant for modern British cooking described as a 'sprinkling of Continental style and technique'. And for those who take pleasure from an appetizer, a quick snack or after-dinner nightcap there's a champagne and cocktail terrace on which to relax and reminisce over the day's activities. This is also an intimate and professional wedding and business meeting venue, which can be exclusively hired... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Episode Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Episode Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing