We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wedding party at the Episode”
Review of Episode Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Episode Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Kettleshulme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wedding party at the Episode”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My son and I stayed here for a friend's wedding. The hotel has no sense of identity and is rather tired and dilapidated, certainly the room we were staying in was.

The food was small in portion and over-priced.

But what travellers need to be aware of is the strange added on extras. I queried these and found that we had been charged for a number of things we had not had. These were then deleted from the bill. One of our group had a £150.00 tab added to his bill, when he had been paying cash all night.

The staff were good and helpful, on the plus side.

Can't really add any more - not a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    222
    142
    89
    80
See reviews for
80
355
17
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were very disappointed with our two night stay over the Easter weekend. We had upgraded our room so was surprised to be given a room that I can only describe as being in the attic. The bed was wedged between two walls and you would have had to climb in from the end. The furniture was dirty and the room was very small - I think this was room 16. I spoke to the staff and they said that this room isn't everyone's cup of tea and we was offered room 2 instead. This room looked much better until you was in it.
The room had cobwebs, the white chairs were stained, we only had one bath towel, the shower gel was empty, the floor tills in the shower had no grout so the water went underneath and bubbled up when you walked on them, the bed had a dip in it and over all the room needed a bit of TLC.
The food wasn't any better. We was really looking forward to the full english breakfast on the first day this came out almost as soon as we ordered but was cold. When I told the waitress she just said she would tell the chef. The plates were chipped and the white milk jugs was brown inside. On the second morning we ordered the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs the food took a while to come out so we was hopeful that it would be hot - the plate was hot today but again it was cold and we couldn't eat the egg.

It is a real shame as this could be a lovely Hotel if they just paid attention to a few of the basics. The location is also lovely.

Room Tip: Avoid room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leamington Spa hotels

Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A Sunday treat from my girlfriend. Quite a pleasant location but a little outside the town centre. Good service and efficient service. I didn't see the rooms so my score of 5 isn't a true reflection
Well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCFISHER13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend recently, we had a great time, the hotel is lovely, staff are very friendly and the food was amazing... Defiantly recommend eating here! The location is great only a short walk into the main town with all the shops/bars/restaurants. The only downside was there was a party there on the Saturday night and the music was very loud as our room was above the function room, although it all finished by midnight so not too bad as we were up having drinks anyway.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nicciwilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had a two night stay. The room was newly refurbished - was clean and comfortable. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner but the breakfasts were excellent with a good choice from the menu. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel is within easy reach of the town and also some lovely river/canal walks. Do use the Beauty salon as the Elemis treatments are first class and the staff are very good. The only criticism I have is that the outside of the hotel looks a little unkempt and the entrance porch would benefit from a good clean as the mosaic floor is very nice but very dirty! I would, however, certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishroseEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had Sunday Lunch at The Epiode hotel for a family birthday today, service was excellent as was the food! Starters came quickly as did the main, piping hot with lovely fresh vegetables. We had the Beef and Pork, meat was well cooked and plentiful! Starters were Prawn cocktail and a rocket bacon, black pudding and egg salad! Didn't have room for the pudding.
Would recommend as a lovely setting for Lunch and great value!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had been given a two night stay in a hotel as a gift and chose this hotel because it was near to a number of NT places as well as Gaydon Motor Museum. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. It was good to see a hotel with lots of original features and some stunning modern chandeliers. The staff were helpful and the hotel is very near to shops and restaurants.We had the surf and turf meal on our second night which was good. My only complaint at breakfast would be that the teapots were not good pourers and the tea needed to be hotter

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BandNManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
2.3 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#1 of 16 in Leamington Spa
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
0.9 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#13 of 16 in Leamington Spa
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Episode Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Episode Hotel

Property: Episode Hotel
Address: 64 Upper Holly Walk, Leamington Spa CV32 4JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Episode Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drop your luggage and accept the warm welcome at this lovely town house hotel in the heart of Leamington Spa - the healthy mineral waters town on the river Leam that Queen Victoria made 'royal' after a visit in 1838. Impressive on the outside and gorgeous on the inside, this contemporary, chic stopover offers striking modern decor and stunning furnishings within a classic Regency period building. Visit the fabulous restaurant for modern British cooking described as a 'sprinkling of Continental style and technique'. And for those who take pleasure from an appetizer, a quick snack or after-dinner nightcap there's a champagne and cocktail terrace on which to relax and reminisce over the day's activities. This is also an intimate and professional wedding and business meeting venue, which can be exclusively hired... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Episode Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Episode Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing