We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Affair” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicy Affair - CLOSED

Spicy Affair
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average Affair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

After a lot of superb and excellent reviews shared by my co-workers & friends about this Indian food joint, I finally decided to give it a try on slightly late hours (21:45) on a Friday evening with 3 friends.

The place reminded me of average Indian kitchen style restaurant we have in India. Still, ignoring my perception , we asked for starters and beer, which turned out as Kingfisher and no other option was available. The main course quantity was less than what other balti restaurants serves in Midlands. We ordered 3 main dishes for 4 persons. Not sufficient.

The food was at par with other restaurants.. nothing great, not bad as well.

Maybe I went to Spicy Affair with great expectation and thus feels a bit let down. Otherwise ok food. Nothing great. Just average for me.

You decide

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NavalKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    3
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Superb clean, tasty flavours - good service and excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I had a meal in this restaurant last week - the 5th time we had been there. The menu has great with some interesting South Indian options. Clean tasty flavours - all perfectly spiced and cooked wonderfully. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“While in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Came to Leamington Spa for a Gig and was looking for a meal with a Friend before the event and this was near by, we had popodoms and 3 pickles al very nice then the mixed starters with a fresh side salad, and for main i chose the Nillgiri Lamb( i don't think i have spell this correctly) with a tandoori roti which i thoroughly enjoyed, if i was in town again would eat here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johng6kbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Popped in while passing by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Dropped in while passing through Leamington. Had mixed starters, all were good. Followed by a Chicken Balti. There seem to be more recipes for Balti's than there are Indian's and this was no exception, however a nice curry was provided which I enjoyed. The Pershwari naan was particularily nice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“food was very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

it was 9 of us, he gave us 15% discount, very happy, bill was reasonable, clean, food very good,

only bad thing was I think the waiter was new, lacks experience, but would not stop me going there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sexyav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spicy Affair also viewed

Bishops Tachbrook, Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing