We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Indian cuisine experience”
Review of Kismet - CLOSED

Kismet
Price range: US$9 - US$72
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is a gem in Leamington Spa. All the locals will visit this Indian restaurant over all others and I am surprised that they are not on here.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Indian cuisine experience”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I've tried a lot of different Indian food. But this restaurant is the best I've ever had. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The food is really good. They cook according to your spice tolerance, so you don't have to worry about the food is too spicy for you.

Helpful?
2 Thank Qnayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    41
    10
    19
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vile Management: Questionable Ethics”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It's astonishing that this place gets good reviews - this was far from our experience. The food was dreadful - cold and questionable. I ate a few mouthfuls and then gave up to enjoy the company of excellent friends. We were a happy group of warm conversations and celebrations. It took a lot of crap to spoil the evening and inspire the writing of this review. It took: awful food, rude and abusive staff, and an outrageous bill. I am convinced that this place is built on dodgy ethics - from the dodgy food to the dodgy way of treating people. This place should be closed down. Don't support it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank EddieGrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The ego, threats and third-rate food”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This restaurant is so bad, it deserves a web-site of its own. The owner flaunted his ridiculous and boastful claims in advance of us ordering - beware the massive ego of this man and his claims about feeding the celebs. He spoke in tongues at a rate of knots, setting us up to order according to his expert recommendations. The food started okay, but by the main course was pretty poor in every respect. That is forgivable in a down-at-heel place, as this seemed to be. After all, we were there not for high quality cuisine, but for a relaxing meal with a few friends. That ambition hit the dirt when we got the bill. It was clearly inflated, and I'm not talking about your usual few quid. This was way above any realistic interpretation of events. A conversation became a dispute. The dispute became aggressive and the staff seemed to turn into those characters in the film Dusk til Dawn. A very young English waiter - on minimum wage of £6 per hour – the owner was quite frank about that for no apparent reason -, was casually referred to as 'the Caucasian' by the manager (that term was used pejoratively), and a customer was told he would have the glasses he was wearing punched into his face. Very nice, coming from the owner and a barman! I won't go on. All I can say is, this 'restaurant' would be more suitably placed in one of those back-streets in some out-of-the-way underdeveloped urban dead-end than in a normal environment. Avoid this place - it sucks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Tocando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A horrible experience”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The guy who runs the place must think people are stupid. He gave us this long spiel about how we should give ourselves over to him so that we can experience a multi-layered feast but then serves up a dull mishmash of second-rate dishes. Then he inflates the bill and goes apeshit when we question this. Avoid this place!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank orFoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scam”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Beware when the owner of Kismet gives you his spiel about having special layered starters, from which they will then deduce the types of main dishes that you’ll enjoy (which meats, how mild/spicy etc.). We went along with this, as it seemed to make the meal a fun experience – and to be fair the starters were quite tasty. However, the main meal was then completely unrelated to the starters as they brought out an array of luke-warm, mostly bland dishes to be shared between everybody (i.e. taste was not taken into account). None of them were anything special, a few bordered on microwaved ready-meal standard. We moved around to seat all the vegetarian people together on one table as requested, so it would be easier to keep their food separate, but some of the ‘vegetarian’ curries contained bits of meat anyway. Also, keep in mind that if there are baskets of papadoms with a selection of dips on the table when you arrive, these are not complementary, and each one may cost you a LOT more than the menu price of 50p.

Problems got more serious when it came to paying for the meal.

It had been suggested to us that we go for the Platinum Set Meal, but we declined this as we didn’t fancy paying £24.95 per head, opting for the Gold Set menu instead (£16.95). A few people in our party mentioned fish dishes but they changed their minds when we were informed fish was Platinum only; however, the manager later brought us a fish curry to try and said it was on the house. When the bill arrived, the total was around £560. There were seventeen of us and we’d had drinks but this still sounded way, way too steep based on what we’d ordered so a member of the party went upstairs to check whether a mistake had been made. The owner and other staff were reluctant to go through the bill item-by-item in a calm manner, or to even concede that there may have been a mistake, and were quick to get aggressive towards our friend – eventually swearing at him, threatening they would “knock the glasses off your face” and also that they’d take him outside into the alley and knock him out. They acted like we were refusing to pay at all, which we weren’t, merely disputing the bill. Part-way through this discussion a waiter hurriedly came downstairs and collected up the wine bottles (including some that were still half-full); the restaurant then claimed they couldn’t prove how much wine we’d drank because the bottles were in the bin.

From the looks of other reviews on here, Kismet is a pleasant dining experience only if you have no queries or complaints - otherwise things quickly turn sour. Not recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank nopoeticdevice86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kismet also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Bishops Tachbrook, Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing