We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unusual hotel”
Review of Woodland Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodland Grange
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 June 2012

we used a groupon deal at this hotel. Spent the day in Leamington Spa and arrived to a nice welcoming receptionist at 5.30pm. Evening meal was late- only 8.45pm and later times to choose from. Earlier times had already been booked. Bit disappointed there, dont like eating late.
Our room was an upgraded one(paid an extra £20) in 1st floor room 132.It was very nice and roomy, Loads of wardrobe space with plenty of hangers.
Only one side table with a lamp on. Didnt worry us too much! Bathroom modern, very clean with lots of shampoo's and shower gels/bath gel. The shower was easy to use and powerful, situated over the bath.
We had a coupleof hours to kill before dinner, we made our way downstairs to the games room and had 3 games of Pool. Lots of tea/coffee machines allover the hotel- never had this before in any hotels we have stayed in. Free too- !! As were the games of pool.
The evening meal in this hotel was 1st class-bottle of water on the table. Great service too.
We both had a glass of white wine each- rather pricey at £11.50 for the 2 glasses. But most enjoyable.
Comfertable bed, clean bedding. Breakfast again spot on. 1st time we have ever had a smoothy with brekky. Check out was straightforward and we left cluching a complimentary 'Sunday Times' newspaper.We continued our journey to the NEC for a day at Gardeners World/Good Food show.
Would certainly stay at this 'unusual' hotel again- infact they have an offer in August which i am tempted to book for the great price of £69 inclusive of the 3 course meal and breakfast. A bargain!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lillypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

What a wonderful review, thank you. We are looking to increase the entertainment on site to include something 'interactive' possibly an X-Box, so we hope you do return in August to take advantage. Our menu will also have been updated, so plenty of NEW things to see and do.

The £69 deal is open to voucher holders only, so grab it whilst you can as we are filling up fast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed at the hotel early in June as part of a group-on deal with my husband. Had read reviews before I went (majority good) so felt hopeful it would be fine. Prepared for it being a bit 'conferency' in character, but this turned out to be a positive in that standards were very high. Very impressed with the meal. I'm on a gluten-free diet and the menu clearly labels dishes that are gluten-free. Food quality and presentation excellent-compliments to the chef! Only disappointment was that was that the waiting staff for the evening meal looked so miserable (except one of the male waiters) Not one of the waitresses smiled throughout the whole meal! (my husband and I were determined to see a smile and watched them with other customers- but no, smiles were off the menu!) - such a shame! It doesn't cost anything to smile! So important for front of house staff to smile, even if they are tired/don't feel like it. Only other minor points-bathroom a bit old and tired (compared to very high standards elsewhere) but clean and adequate. No bedside table on my husband's side of bed (noted that someone commented on this a while ago on trip advisor and manager had said he/she would look into it?). I think reason is because most rooms are single occupancy because of conferences etc so it's not worth putting 2 in every room. That's fine, but if you know that the room is booked for a couple, could you not put an extra one in for their stay without the customer having to ask? As I say, very minor points, but worth making so the hotel can be even better! All in all, great value for money, very impressed and will definitely be returning! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review Rachel J, and for affording us a high rating. I’m pleased that the majority of your stay was a pleasant experience, and have passed on your comments to our Restaurant manager who will discuss these with her team and ensure that improvements are made in this area.
On the point regarding two bedside tables, you are absolutely correct, but this is something we are looking to address for the long term. Our existing procedures should ensure that double occupancy bookings include the second unit, however, with a limited stock we do sometimes run into the issue that you experienced.
We hope to have a solution very soon, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Myself and wife together with another couple stayed for 2 nights, the hotel is in an excellent location close to Warwick, Stratford and Leamington Spa and is positioned in pleasant countryside. The staff provided excellent service aand the food was to a high standard. The hotel however is designed for conferences and corporate events and if you wanted to be away from a "work" environment then this may not be the place for you.
The hotel facilities are also designed with business in mind with "breakout" areas rather than a cozy hotel lounge, however on the positive side there was free coffee / biscuits and Wi- Fi available. The cost was very reasonable particularly if you came on an offer such as Groupon and therefore value for money.
Our room was of ample space and generally clean although the bathroom was a bit tired with mould in some areas around the bath, not excessive although I wouldn't expect any to be visible.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay and being retired it was somwhat comforting to see other people rushing around from meeting to meeting, therefore from a hotels perspective it was more Work than Home !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulrev10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for your comments, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you have the opportunity to return over a weekend, where our clients are less business focussed. There are some excellent attractions locally, and of course with the Olympics just around the corner there will be even more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Woodland Grange as a girly break using a Groupon voucher. If we're honest we were more interested in visiting the town, shopping and soaking up some history. When we checked in we were very pleasantly surprised.

It is undoubtedly a conference hotel but dont let that put you off. The staff - from Kathy on reception through to the restaurant and bar staff - were brilliant. The room was pleasant enough - not anything exceptional but neither was there anything to complain about. The bed was comfy, the tv was great, everything was clean and there were plenty of towels and toiletries.

The highlight however was definately the food. I had a prawn and crayfish salad, followed by rump steak and then creme brulee. All of it was delicious and the steak itself was perfectly cooked and most certainly one of the best steaks I've had. Breakfast was also excellent. The buffet has grenola, fruits (not just the tinned ones), cereal, pastries, toast, and the full english. The bacon wasnt the cheap nasty type you sometimes get and was well cooked, tasty and a decent thickness.

Oh and another pleasant surprise - the drinks in the bar weren't horrendously expensive. Just over £7 for two brandy and lemonades.

Definately worth a visit

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you very much for your positive comments, I'll make sure Kathy and the kitchen team see your feedback, and hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

just stayed this week after taking up a groupon offer and we have thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff (all of them) were wonderful, the food in the restaurant and the service was excellent.
also very much appreciated being able to have tea/coffee and biscuits complimentary in the lounge. we will definately be back

Room Tip: we chose to upgrade and was pleased with the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

We're all very glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel with a friend as a groupon offer. This made it excellent value at £69 for dinner bed and breakfast. The food far exceeded my expectations although the original room we were offered was dark and the bathroom was tired and grubby. we were very glad we asked for an upgrade to a room in the new part of the building although there was a £20 charge it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferntra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for your very positive and constructive comments. We hope the newly refurbished restaurant added to your dining experience. We are in the process of upgrading all of our original rooms, to meet the specification of the newer wing, and are glad that you took advantage of the upgrade opportunity. We hope to see you again, especially with our new summer menu coming soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

On the basis of the good reviews about this hotel and their Groupon voucher deals, I bought a voucher and telephoned the hotel as soon as I received it to book an overnight stay. Firstly I was put through to a voicemail where I left my details but 2 hours later had still received no callback. When I called again, there was very limited availability due to their conference commitments. they didn't seem in the least bit concerned that I was a potential customer and a very disappointed one. As this deal was set to run for 4 days and I must have been on of the first enquiries there are going to be a lot of disappointed voucher holders. Groupon are refunding me so that's no problem, and I do understand that there is often limited availability if you book late with a voucher deal, but surely not when you book immediately? Would have liked to have had the opportunity to rate the venue but sadly won't be able to on this occasion

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry that the dates you wished to take advantage of were unavailable. The response to our offer has been very good indeed, and as a result we are now full on the weekend of the 3rd and 4th of August 2012.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss alternative dates with you in the hope that you will visit and experience our facilities first hand. If agreeable, please contact me on 01926 336621.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leamington Spa
3.8 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
817 reviews
1.6 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#7 of 16 in Leamington Spa
769 reviews
1.6 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
1.8 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Grange

Address: Old Milverton Lane, Leamington Spa CV32 6RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Leamington Spa
#2 Business Hotel in Leamington Spa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leamington Spa
Price Range: £104 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodland Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodland Grange is a stunning residential conference venue in Warwickshire. It has the best of all worlds – a building full of character, state-of-the-art facilities, 16 acres of beautiful grounds - and a convenient location at the heart of the motorway network (the M40, M42, M6 and M69 are all within a 20 minute drive). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Woodland Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodland Grange Hotel Leamington Spa
Woodland Grange Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing