We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't split one room and call it two rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Park Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Certificate of Excellence
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“don't split one room and call it two rooms”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

my kids used to watch a program called art attack where empty toilet rolls and tissue paper with pva glue were used to make interesting toys to be dried and painted later, the owners of this hotel clearly used the same method when building the walls of the room which i have just endured.
unfortunately the guests on the other side of the 'wall', which offered as much sound proofing as cling film had brought their pet moth whose farts were clearly audible all night as were their own sighs, snores, coughs and every single word of their conversations,
restful this was not

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank doublebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    73
    38
    9
    8
See reviews for
34
78
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The owners label this as a Guest House and that is the perfect description. Whilst it has many hotel qualities this is what you would expect from a good B&B. The small frontage of this 150 year old house hides a warren of rooms located over 3 floors that are quiet and peaceful, if you are at the rear as we were.The welcome is friendly, helpful and warm the rooms are comfortable and spacious enough and the prices good for what you get. Good local advice is given if you ask for it and the whole feeling is of relaxed efficiency.
A good breakfast is included and the service is again lovely. OK this is not a 5 star hotel but it offers all the facilities you would expect form this style of accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this small family run hotel, immaculately clean, you could eat your dinner off the bathroom floor, THAT clean! Lovely lady was super helpful and nothing was too much trouble. quite traditionally decorated and big (not wide screen lol) tv, however that said, very nice and clean, good bed and very clean bathroom, all that you need. Breakfast was very good, great coffee and well cokked breakfast, all in all a real hidden gem. Was put off by the previous reviews on here, but in all honesty....don't read them as I was VERY pleasantly suprise, I would thoroughly recommend this place, and will return if am in the area again. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: I would book rooms at the rear of hotel as on main road, however double glazing so shouldnt be an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahBreezeRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were on our way to Leamington and had a call from the owner to say our room was flooded and they could not accommodate us, seems they had overbooked and the flood excuse was the easy way out. He said I have found you alternative accommodation,really he meant he had done an internet search to find somewhere with a room as when we rang the second hotel the owner knew nothing at all about it. We had to be at Leamington Assembly at 2.30 for a meeting as we were promoting The Stylistics there that night and this fool made us half an hour late. He apologised but wasn't really bothered and he also cost me another £ 60 as the alternative digs were a lot dearer and nowhere near as close to the venue as we expected to be, not pleased.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fester59Wednesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A group of friends and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in total in October. I found the hotel to be very old fashioned and aged. The room was average. When we had originally booked we had told staff thatwe would not be back in the hotel untl late/ early hours of the morning. They seemed to be fine about it at the time but on the Saturday morning we were given a warning and told we hads come in too late and it was unacceptable. We had dirty looks given to us and there was cheeky comments made by staff on many occasions. We checked out on Sunday morning and arrived home Sunday evening. The next day I became very itchy and noticed small red spots/bites appearing al over my body. I spoke to all of my friends who also stayed at the hotel and it seemed 5 out of the 11 of us had the same. I was itchy the full week afterwards.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justawan, Owner at Victoria Park Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi,

With regards to your itchiness, we have our bedlinen changed on check out and weekly for longer term guests. Our mattresses are inspected and turned regularly.
Maybe midges could probably have been the cause of your bites.

We do not have an issue with what time our guests return, that is why they are supplied a front door key on check in. We do however, have issues on very loud and drunken guests coming in very late waking up and disturbing other guests. So maybe in future, you could consider the other guests who are sleeping at 4am.

thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Was going to give this 3 but the staff were lovely and the breakfast one of the best we've had in a hotel in Britain. The bacon wasn't greasy (unusual) and the poached eggs were soft. Service superb. The room (no 7) was fine, although a bit small and not special - bathroom very nice though. It was a bit noisy, for various reasons. The doors all have Yale locks, which means they have to be slammed to shut them, which is very annoying at night and in the morning. There is a main road outside, so there is the noise of traffic. Also, our room looked out on the kitchens of an old people's home next door, where the windows were left open and there was banging around and loud voices from 6 am on a Sunday morning. Worth the money but noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night when visiting Warwick University. We were a family of four and were given a fairly comfortable if nondescript room. The host was quite friendly and very helpful. Breakfast could have been a little better. Overall, a pleasant stay if a bed is all that is required.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nardiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leamington Spa Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#6 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#1 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 16 in Leamington Spa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Park Lodge

Property: Victoria Park Lodge
Address: 12 Adelaide Road, Leamington Spa CV31 3PW, England (Formerly Victoria Park Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Park Lodge (formerly Victoria Park Hotel) is a family run establishment, with 30 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. We are in an excellent location just 5 minutes walk from the town centre, with free car parking and free Wi-Fi. We also have three lovely serviced apartments off-site but in great locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Victoria Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Park
Victoria Park Lodge Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing