We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - great value!”
Review of The Jug and Jester - CLOSED

The Jug and Jester
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: The Jug and Jester is a JD Wetherspoon freehouse opened in November 2010. Some of the pub occupies Leamington's first theatre, first opened in 1813. In recent times the building has been a pub, first as the Spirit Vaults, then as the Chair and Rocket (locally the Monkey house!) and finally as the Jug and Jester in 1996. We have a lovely, secluded beer garden to the rear for the sunny days (when they appear!) and open fires to keep you warm in the winter. We come recommended in the Good Beer Guide for our ales and we have a regular changing selection both from the local area and beyond.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food - great value!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Not yet had a bad meal at this pub, or any Wetherspoons pub for that matter. Service varies depending on how busy the place is, but generally the meal arrives within 10-20 minutes. Plates are usually hot, the food is presented well and with many meals offering a free drink, you really can't get better value for money! This is not a posh pub but there is usually a good atmosphere with a mix of students, familes and older people al enjoying the cheap food and drink! This is fast becoming our local, as our village pub charges far too much for drinks, well below average food and poor service!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddyrichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JugLeamSpa, Manager at The Jug and Jester, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am glad you are happy with your experiences of our pub, we look forward to seeing you again and hopefully trying some of the food we offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    67
    30
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
Level Contributor
484 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Just dessert”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We called into the Jug & Jester on a Thursday evening about 6pm for a bite to eat - in fact desserts only to satisfy our sweet tooth !

It was busy but we managed to find a table. There are 2 bar areas and I went to the one nearest to where we were sat. The member of staff who was behind the bar walked off - leaving me waiting for about 5 minutes before someone else helped with the order.

The food took less than 5 minutes to be served and was "as expected".

There was nothing outstanding about our visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JugLeamSpa, Manager at The Jug and Jester, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for your feedback, we are always looking to offer high levels of service and comments like this from customers help us find ways to do so. I am glad we are able to meet your expectations but in the future I hope we can exceed them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love the beers, poor food”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a nice big pub, with nice selection of beers.
the food instead was less ok, the angus steak I asked medium-rare was completely overcooked and dry. terrible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Axe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JugLeamSpa, Manager at The Jug and Jester, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, our wide range of beers is something we are proud of. Our food is also an area on which we look to deliver high standards and I apologise that we did not reach your expectations on this visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

family of four, we all ate and had drinks for £20. Staff were pleasent and working hard. lovely location in leamington spa!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RASS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JugLeamSpa, Manager at The Jug and Jester, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad you enjoyed our experience with us and look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“had to clean own table”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

my husband and i and 2 friends went here a little while ago, the place is dark and quite miserable, we had to remove glasses before we could sit down at the table, the staff are snappy, ignorant and not at all overly pleasant, i dont know what wetherspoons are playing at lately, all their pubs seem to be going from bad to worst week by week they need to pull themselves together, i have phoned wetherspoons head office in the past and feel that anyone not happy should do the same or wetherspoons will be ignorant to how their pubs are being run

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jug and Jester also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing