We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How very, very sad”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Jephson's

Jephson's
Ranked #175 of 256 Restaurants in Leamington Spa
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Jephson's Venue - ideal for Leamington meetings, parties and weddings This Leamington meetings and events venue offers magnificent views over the gardens and the ornamental lake which have themselves have played host to historical events. Jephson's is a unique contemporary venue located within the idyllic Jephson Gardens on the banks of the River Leam With the beautiful Temperate House adjoining the venue there is plenty of space to host meetings or conference delegates, particularly on a warm day when the whole site opens up onto a wide terrace overlooking the gardens. The main area at Jephson's works perfectly for conferencing and with spaces in the Temperate House and also the Studio available for breakout spaces, the venue is very flexible. For an evening event guests can enjoy their pre-dinner reception drinks either on the terrace overlooking the gardens or in the Temperate House, before moving into the main area for their dinner. For more informal events guests can spread across the different areas and outside to make the most of the stunning surroundings. We also host summer parties including BBQ events and Christmas parties throughout December and we have some great packages available. The venue is also a licensed wedding venue and can be hired for both the ceremony and reception.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“How very, very sad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Over several years, I paid a good number of visits to the restaurant in this building, with family, and with friends. It was always very good; and all accompanied by the wonderful views across the river.

A few weeks ago, my wife, son and I visited Leamington Spa, and decided we must eat at the restaurant. My hear sank when I saw the advertising sign outside, and sank even further after ordering from the menu.

The food was very poor, and would have been expensive at a quarter of the price. For forty-five minutes, we were the only customers, although a couple wandered in as we left. I almost felt like advising them to consider very carefully whether they might not wish to eat somewhere else.

Not only were we bitterly disappointed - because the food was so poor, the service not at all good, and therefore expensive at any price whatever - but it left us saddened, also, because, unless some miracle occurs, this is the end of good food in Jephson gardens.

Whatever has happened here? I know that there are much worse things in this world, but this is a tragedy of sorts. Something good is now lost to us. Is this really what visitors to this park wish for?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    0
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shabby not chic”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

This once lovely restaurant, where you could enjoy an excellent Sunday lunch or coffee and cake overlooking the River Leam, has become a shabby "waffle bar". We wandered in on a Saturday afternoon, suspecting the worst (the menu outside looked rather limited) but hoping for the best. We sat down in an almost deserted restaurant - only 3 other tables were occupied - and waited for 5 minutes to be served (the waitress who had seen us walk in, subsequently vanished). The waitress failed to re-appear - so we left. The menu on our table seems only to consist of waffles (you can from a list choose 5/6 toppings) and drinks. Very disappointing....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD2007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bad service even worse coffee”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Popped in here for a coffee with my Husband on a walk in the park , never again!!! We sat outside and were ignored by the two waiting staff for 10 minutes so I went inside and asked if we could order two coffees. The waiter and waitress discussed it in front of me mentioning how busy they were as people kept walking in who hadn't booked!!!! They then said ok!!!! We were brought two instant tasting coffees , half of which was in the saucer!!! No smile or discussion , or apology!!! We were charged £4.60 for the worst coffee I have ever tasted and the worst service I have ever encountered!!! It is such a shame as it is such a beautiful setting but we will carry on walking next time we go to the park!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel6040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb evening function”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

I booked Jephson's Brasserie for a function (silver service meal for 71 people, 3 set courses for £27 a head), with band and disco to follow (which I booked). The meal was excellent, the staff were professional, courteous and very helpful, and the venue was very clean, tidy and well decorated which all contributed to create a great atmosphere at the function.
The Event Manager did a great job making sure everything was in order before the event. if you are planning a function in Leamington I recommend that you give it serious consideration!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, shame about the furniture”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

It was a mid-week lunchtime but even so the place was deserted - unjustly in our view. We decided what was putting people off was the old people's home table & chairs within a trendy, modern exterior. However the food was very tasty and a bargain - £14 for 3 courses. Location overlooking the river in the heart of the park is delightful and service was friendly. This place should be buzzing - if the management would just sort out the 'look' inside.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EnglandFinediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jephson's also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Bishops Tachbrook, Leamington Spa
 

Been to Jephson's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing