We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pawpaw

Pawpaw
Ranked #176 of 255 Restaurants in Leamington Spa
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Fast food
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We ordered from here, no mention on the web or by the phone that there was. 3.50 delivery charge on a£25 order. Order arrived at 1 hr 10. Chips were cold. No rice. Phoned up more rice was offered immediately chased after 35 minutes by which time all food was cold. Promised a call back from manager which never arrived. So basically 30 quid for a small bag of cold food. Don't bother

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hexieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    7
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food good but service poor.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Pawpaw Warwick is worth the extra drive as the food is the same as the Leamington branch without the surly attitude from the woman who takes the orders.

Helpful?
Thank ChrisCV33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well, better than other Chinese round here.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Ordered family meal deal on a Sunday night. Plenty of food delivered (though the driver scampered off before we could tip him). Crispy seaweed alarmingly sugar-covered. Chicken with vegetables just cornflour-gloopy - exactly why we ordered from Paw Paw to hopefully avoid this, as they emphasise freshness. Rest of food was alright if unexceptional. Very good delivery service on this busy night.

There's a real opportunity for a good Chinese restaurant in this affluent town: come on, someone!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsupialman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Chinese ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I have a pawpaw once a week and I'm never disappointed.

Always fresh & tasty.

My favourite is salt & pepper chips and sweet & sour Cantonese chicken.

If you want freshly cooked food with friendly efficient service then pawpaw is the place for you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doxie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

In the past I have raved about Paw Paw and recommended it widely. We drive 5 miles to use it but the quality of food has decreased with each visit of late.

With us both finishing work late tonight, I diverted on the journey home to pick up a half crispy duck. I phoned the order through half an hour before arriving and still had to wait 15 minutes once there.

When I got home and we opened the box we found a small, dry shrivelled up leg. Had to drive back and ask for a refund as it was too late to wait for another meal to be prepared. I only got a cursory apology when I was on my way out and no recognition or acknowledgement of the inconvenience caused. SO disappointed!!

Helpful?
1 Thank PocketsPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pawpaw also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to Pawpaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing