We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good communal areas, some rooms a bit tired”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angel Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good communal areas, some rooms a bit tired”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Our second stay at this hotel and, as before, the front desk staff were very kind and considerate. The communal areas and restaurant (The Counting House) are very nicely decorated and comfortable. Some of the rooms are a bit small and tired and I would thoroughly recommend going for the larger double if you could afford it. My only complaint is that we were staying there at the same time of a large cycling party, probably about 50, so at breakfast we were a bit neglected and had to wait a long time. I would also take your own hairdryer ;-). Overall, good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a larger double, the standard ones are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spml13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    174
    55
    9
    7
See reviews for
72
113
23
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

9 of us stayed here on a weekend break for our gang of friends. All the staff were very helpful, providing us with a map of the town and telling us where to get buses and places to visit. Restaurant staff reserved us a round table to sit all 9 of us for Breakfast and Dinner. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Rooms were comfortable ,but couldn't get central heating to adjust or turn off.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed at the Angel Hotel for 3 days while attending a nearby training course . No parking when I arrived but the receptionist gave her parking space up to accommodate my vehicle . The first night was quite noisy as the Sizzling Sausage pub opposite was going strong til after midnight .The landing outside my room groaned and creaked whenever anyone walked past and I was woken before 6 by the binmen . Avoid Room 4 ! I requested a room change at reception the next morning and got a room overlooking the car park which was ideal . The hotel is a typical English 3-4 star but had a certain charm .Service was excellent throughout and after the initial night I slept really well . Particular thanks to the girls on reception .There are a number of excellent restaurants nearby the pick of which was La Coppola . I would certainly stay here again .

Room Tip: Dont have Room 4 ask for one overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McPoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I was part of a large party staying at the Angel for a weekend event in nearby Stratford. Upon arrival the reception staff couldnt have been more helpful and even provided us with a map, so that we could find our way around Leamington. The hotel is situated at the end of one of the main roads in Leamington Town Centre, so everything within the town centre is easily walkable from the hotel. What impressed me most about the Angel, was that although its a fairly large hotel it felt family run. The bar and dining area didnt have that "corporate " feel that you get from some big hotels. The hotel has not lost any of its Victorian character downstairs, although it has been tastefully modernised. The staff were extremely friendly without being patronising. I didnt eat at the hotel other than to have breakfast, which was fantastic. My only tiny moan would be that the bedroom I was in was quite small, although nice. However we did get a discount for booking in as a large party, so theres no real complaint there. I would definately go back to not only the hotel, but also the Leamington Spa, which is lovely place - although the night life is a bit dull !. .

Room Tip: avoid rooms at the side of the hotel, as there is a "dulux " centre that opens up to trade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COYBL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I've stayed here many times over a number of years on business. The Angel is very comfortable, well located, and the staff are friendly and welcoming. The food is lovely too! I like the fact that the bar is open to the public because there's usually someone to have a conversation with.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandCarol2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Our room was on the ground floor and was on the road front. We did not find the noise from the road an issue. The beds were comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. The decor was a little tired but the room was clean and tidy. The toiletries provided were very good and a lot better than similar products I have come across in other hotels. The breakfast was superb - there was lots of choice. The breakfast room was comfortable and nicely furnished. The staff were pleasant and helpful and we used the wi-fi in the lobby area. We had a carpark right outside where our room was located. It is located very close to the town area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewlzcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed at The Angel as part of a group of wedding guests attending a wedding nearby. We found The Angel to be comfortable (like an old coaching inn) and well situated for Leamington's shops, restaurants and the lovely Jephson Gardens.

We had a fish and chip supper on the Friday night that we all enjoyed and found the light and airy, air-conditioned breakfast room to be very pleasant for a full English in the mornings with plenty of choice on the menu. Our 'executive' room 21 on the first floor was spacious, comfortable, clean with complimentary bottles of still and sparkling water and a big bowl of fruit on the table. My only niggles would be the poorly painted-over crack down the wall and some attention needed behind the bath taps - other than that we had no complaints and slept well enough. The rest of our family were in single rooms on the top floor with skylight windows.

Contrary to a review below we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We were also lucky that we managed to park in the hotel car park behind (approached through an arch at the front). We would stay again if we should ever return to Leamington Spa, but would check out the new Premier Inn under construction in the town centre and see how it compares price-wise.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room over the car park/courtyard rather than streetside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowbridgelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.2 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#7 of 16 in Leamington Spa
720 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#1 of 16 in Leamington Spa
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Property: Angel Hotel
Address: 143 Regent Street, Leamington Spa CV32 4NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Leamington Spa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leamington Spa
#4 Business Hotel in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a privately owned 48 bedroomed 3 star hotel in the town centre of Royal Leamington Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing