We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally a great place to stay!”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
416 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Generally a great place to stay!”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a week whilst traveling on business to Warwick. Having never been to the UK at all before this trip, I enjoyed the location of this hotel, as it allowed me to explore the quaint town of Leamington Spa on foot. A great selection of restaurants, shops, natural scenery (River Leam), and a cinema are all within a short walk. Yet, the hotel provides a small but ample car park, making it convenient to get to work, as well as to/from London.

The hotel itself included a delicious breakfast every morning, with enough variety that I did not tire of it. I had dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening, which was ok but a bit disappointing. The room was a comfortable size to this American, which I assume means it was quite large by European standards. The wireless internet offered in the lobby was spotty, but the staff were very willing to let me use a wire to connect, important to me since I had work to do in the evenings.

My only complaint was service-related: my luggage did not arrive in the UK with me, and I needed the hotel to receive it for me since it was set to arrive whilst I was at work. The hotel did not cooperate the first time, meaning my luggage was delayed yet another day. Besides that, though, my stay was quite lovely.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jays165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    170
    55
    9
    6
See reviews for
70
110
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We used TripAdvisor to select our hotels in Leamington where we were visiting for the great shopping. We were nearly put off by one negative review of The Angel, but I am glad we were not, because it was an excellent choice. The hotel is right on one of the main shopping streets and represents great 3* value. A tidy hotel with fun and obliging staff, our two rooms were both well decorated and clean, with flatscreen TVs and good tea/coffee facilities. The bar was comfortable and the breakfast was great. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - and all for £79 b&b per couple. We parked the car in the secure car park at no charge and were delighted we made this choice of accomodation - no hesitation in recommending it to others and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We had our eveing wedding reception here and cannot fault the staff - they were brilliant (even helping providing some pins to fix my dress when it got trodden on). We had about 20 rooms in the hotel between the party and everyone was very complimentary and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arimazes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

My partner & I stayed at The Angel Hotel whilst visiting family in the area. We had never stayed at this hotel before but thought we would give it a try & we're so glad we did! The staff were wonderful & the food was excellent. We stayed in a room on the second floor, which was very spacious & had obviously been refurbished recently. We regularly come to Leamington Spa & we will definitely be staying at this hotel for our future visits.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misssssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Could not fault the breakfast.................we had an evening meal with family , special celebration. All meals sent back as they were not cooked , when they came back there was no difference. Restaurant short staffed, a couple walked out as they had waited to long to be served. We left our meals as we could not eat them, no one took our complaint seriously.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beteerubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Lovely rooms (we staying in an 'exclusive' one), clean and well appointed with a nice size bed, bathroom and flat screen TV (although didn't switch it on!). Our only gripe is that it was noisy. On a Saturday night, it's worth packing ear-plugs due to the street noise outside from the pubs and the creaking of the the old floorboards when they're tip-toed on upstairs!

If you need a hotel in the centre of Leamington you can't do better (just remember your ear-plugs)!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfishnchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We booked for the night as my husband has used the conference facilities and my daughter and her boss recommended the restaurant. Everything lived up to the recommendations. Our room was large and well-appointed, although I wouldn't have fancied making my way across the somewhat sloping floor (it is a very old building!) after too many glsses of wine! The food in the restaurant was delicious. Having the breakfast cooked to order is brilliant. I have had too many disappointing breakfasts in chain hotels where everything is 'kept warm' and this was such a refreshing change. will definitely book again when we need to be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soobut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
2.3 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 16 in Leamington Spa
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#4 of 16 in Leamington Spa
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#6 of 16 in Leamington Spa
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Property: Angel Hotel
Address: 143 Regent Street, Leamington Spa CV32 4NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leamington Spa
#3 Family Hotel in Leamington Spa
#4 Business Hotel in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a privately owned 48 bedroomed 3 star hotel in the town centre of Royal Leamington Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing