We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend”
Review of Thomas James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thomas James Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed 2 nights here and after reading some of the reviews was a bit worried what we let ourselves in for. But we had a fantastic weekend our room was clean plenty room heating was great shower was brill also wide screen tv in room. we didn't go for beakfast as it was a continental so went out for fry up 2 mins from hotel so cant comment on breakfast. there is a lively bar downstairs you can hear some noise on Saturday nights but did not disdurb our sleep at all. we found it was a great place for a few drinks before heading out. Only thing I will say is someone with dissabillities will struggle up to the room as there is no lift. So if you are looking for a clean affordable hotel this is the place.

Room Tip: ask for room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aldo50Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    35
    22
    61
See reviews for
9
43
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ornex, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Having read the reviews, I was prepared for a bit of noise. In fact, I was put in a room on the top floor at the back of the building and, while I could hear the noise, it did not disturb me. The room was clean, warm and well equipped. I had a problem with the lights which the staff fixed immediately. However, I would not recommend a room at the top of the house for older persons or younger ones with heavy luggage. There is no lift and the stairs are steep, narrow and numerous. There was direct access from the bar to the hotel rooms which I found a bit disconcerting.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing stairs, then choose a room at the top of the house where the noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmajo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Reasonably priced £50 B&B for two of us. No dedicated car park, however we found an overnight car park nearby for £3 or £4. Room was a good size with small but not tiny en-suite. Tea/coffee/biscuits as normal. Hairdryer and plenty of mirrors. Access would be a problem if you have Mobility issues as all rooms are upstairs, above a bar, TJs with same owner. Staff friendly. Breakfast is self service with good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after been booked this hotel by our client as we are currently on a roadshow. We were absolutely DREADING coming here after reading tge reviews...however, we were impressed when arriving.

The rooms are modern and must be recently decorated. Warm, clean, tea and coffee etc. Everything you need for a night away. The staff were also helpful. We had breakfast which was continental, downstairs in a nice small restaurant. Although continental we believe it was still good value.

The only downside was the noise and unfortunately it was very loud! I had earplugs so managed to sleep ok, although my room was backfacing and I think I had the noisy smoking area on my side :(. It also was bass pumping dance music...which I hate haha....which didnt help. My colleagues were not so lucky as they didnt have earplugs and slept quite badly.

In summary, its a nice cheap hotel with everything you need. For a night out it is perfect however if not you will mostly likely have a disrupted sleep....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blissackerman1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Room was OK, but a few annoying bits missing, lights not working properly, no TV remote, shower door difficult. A bit noisy but not too bad on the top floor. Comfortable bed and well laid out room. Good location.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryWiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I needed a last minute cheap hotel for an evening out and this one was very cheap at £35 for the night. I was aware of it's reputation having stayed in the room above the bar/club and been kept awake until the early hours, so I requested a room on the top floor. The room was clean and tidy and didnt appear to suffer from the noise of the bar. Unfortunately a very drunk guest arriving back at 5am without his key decided to knock the hotel down until he gained access. I also spent the night smelling cigarette smoke and on my leaving the hotel saw a glass on a windowsill at the "closed" reception full of cigarette ends. It wasnt a 5 star stay but then for £35 I guess I got what I paid for. I would recommend you dont book this hotel unless you have a pack of earplugs in your luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the top unless you are profoundly deaf or incredibly drunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leamington Spa hotels

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I did research this place before booking it, so I was aware of its bad reputation concerning the sound from the pub downstairs, however as I was booking accommodation at the last minute, it was pretty much my only option at the time.

On the plus side, it's easy to get to (just a few minute's walk from the station) and the guy at the front desk was friendly enough, although it's notable that he made no mention whatsoever of the fact that I should expect any noise (I stayed there on a Friday night). The room was spartan but what I'd expect for the price range.

My room was on the first floor, directly above the pub downstairs (room 10 I think it was). After returning to the hotel from an evening out around 11PM, I was, sure enough, greeted by noise through the floor - and let's just be clear here: this isn't just pub noise like clattering and chatter, the place downstairs becomes a CLUB with a cacophony of ghastly thumping dance music which rattled the room until after 2am. Of course, the reception area was closed (honestly, I've never ever stayed in any other hotel that closes its reception in the evening - I guess it's to prevent people from complaining). This is obviously absolutely unacceptable for a hotel as it's impossible to sleep in such conditions.

Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bokaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.8 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#13 of 16 in Leamington Spa
564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 16 in Leamington Spa
701 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwi...
#10 of 16 in Leamington Spa
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#6 of 16 in Leamington Spa
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas James Hotel

Property: Thomas James Hotel
Address: 45-47 Bath Street, Leamington Spa CV31 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thomas James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thomas James Hotel: all rooms en-suite, LCD TV, internet access, telephone, room service available on request, close to train station, Stratford-upon-Avon, Birmingham, NEC, NAC, Warwick, Kenilworth, Coventry Airport. Conference facilities available, free room hire for parties, TJ's Bar & Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Thomas James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas James Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing