We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking - Don't stay here!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Thomas James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thomas James Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shocking - Don't stay here!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

My partner and I booked this hotel as we thought it would be central and nice to have a lazy weekend for a treat, the hotel site doesn't tell you that the hotel is located above a student bar which plays loud music until 2am!! On arrival to the hotel which is really difficult to find as the doorway is off the main road, it was locked, we had to ask some local people how we got into reception, we were advised through the student bar, when we found our way into reception, that door was locked also and nobody was there to check us in, in the end we found a barmaid to check us in!! The room was right above the bar, room 11, so noisy the music vibrated through the room, the bed was small and the TV remote didn't work. The keys they gave us didn't fit the outside door so if we had of gone out and come back late we might not of been able to gain access back into the hotel as the only way in was through the bar downstairs. At 2.30am a gang of students who were staying at the hotel were shouting and banging doors for an hour through out the hotel. At 9am we checked out, we decided to give breakfast a miss as they served it downstairs in the bar where they were cleaning up from the night before, at check out two Police officers were talking to the receptionist about a fight that had taken place in the hotel door way and were checking CCTV footage, that kind of finished off the weekend for us, there is not any parking and to be honest not worth the £60 we paid to stay here, it was terrible!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    34
    22
    58
See reviews for
8
43
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
henley
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

I think that sums it up. It's OK. Not brilliant, but not bad either. It was clean but I was almost put off by a previous reviewer who said the bedding was smelly. I'm really fussy about that kind of thing but it was fine.

There was no tea and coffee, milk etc. which was just an oversight by management. I'm sure I could've got some if I asked.

There's no real reception area, being based above TJ's bar but you can use the bar which is maybe not that appropriate if you have kids.

The breakfast was fine and you had to pay extra for cooked which I think is a bit of a cheek as I paid £50 for my small single room.

The location isn't pretty but it's good and central. Fine for business but not so nice for leisure as there is nowhere you can sit out on a nice day other than a smokey smoking area next to the bar.

There didn't seem to be anyone in charge so more of a presence would've been good. And may be I would've had an upgrade to a bigger room as the place was empty

Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rodgehenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

I cannot believe they can charge £60 for this cubby hole! (room 15) A tiny cramped cold room...the radiator had broken, the shower curtain was mouldy, there was stuff on the ceiling (goodness knows what) the tv controls didn't work. It was tricky to find as it is only a door way on a main road. The noise & light in our room was unbearable, so much so that we packed our bags and left at 1am! I'm so disappointed!

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SARobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leamington Spa hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

We were almost put off booking this hotel due to a disclaimer on it's website that notes; "The hotel is located in the town centre, therefore external noise is possible on Friday and Saturday evenings. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause." .... We were glad we ignored this and booked anyway - Noise just wasn't an issue! We were placed in a double room at the front of the hotel and didn't hear anything all night (and it was a Saturday!).

The room was clean and comfortable with a small en-suite shower room (again nice and clean). The bed was OK and the room had a flat screen TV and coffee / tea making equipment.

For the price this is a good value hotel – if you want the Ritz look elsewhere, if you want a place to stay in central Leamington that is clean and comfortable then look no further.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewSmith1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

The hotel was pleasant enough, was only staying in LS for one night & it was fine as we were going out in the town for dinner and drinks, which was close by only 5/10 min walk.
It wasn't noisy at all as our bedroom faced the back, not the main street. The bar downstairs was good to have a drink in before heading out for dinner, although others may not be so happy with there being a bar below the hotel due to the music, noise from customers etc
Another thing, there are some steep stairs to get up to the rooms so this may be a consideration for some. Overall, it's nothing posh but was a good stay & worth it money-wise.

  • Liked — Close proximity to the centre of town
  • Disliked — Rooms were rather small & basic
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EtoileDuMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2007

A reasonable hotel two minutes from the station and five minutes from the town. On the plus side, the guy who checked us in was lovely, even printing out a map for us to help us find our way to the friend we were visiting. The room was clean, as were the sheets and towels. There was a decent tv, the lights all worked and the shower was pretty good. On the negative side, our room was at the very top of the building up three flights of very steep stairs. We had to prop the window open for ventilation which unfortunately meant we were subjected to the noise of the local drunks, boy racers and Virgin trains passing at window level diagonally across the junction. Breakfast was very disappointing. There was a notice informing us the the kitchens were out of use due to flooding, but the "buffet" consisted of a few boxes of cereal, two sliced loaves, luke warm milk, oj and coffee. A croissant or a piece of fruit wouldn't have gone amiss! Oh well! On the whole a clean and tidy place to shower and sleep which is all you expect these days for £65 I suppose.

  • Liked — The nice bloke who checked us in
  • Disliked — Too noisy, too many stairs!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MummyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2007

clean rooms
flat screen tv's
on main road but hay easy for walking no taxi's required for main town as its 5 min away.

thanks again to the staff

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — weekend can be busy
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hello123454321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Leamington Spa Town Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#8 of 18 in Leamington Spa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#15 of 18 in Leamington Spa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#6 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#3 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas James Hotel

Property: Thomas James Hotel
Address: 45-47 Bath Street, Leamington Spa CV31 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thomas James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thomas James Hotel: all rooms en-suite, LCD TV, internet access, telephone, room service available on request, close to train station, Stratford-upon-Avon, Birmingham, NEC, NAC, Warwick, Kenilworth, Coventry Airport. Conference facilities available, free room hire for parties, TJ's Bar & Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thomas James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas James Hotel Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing