We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant 23

Restaurant 23
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$58
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant 23 has been a fixture in Royal Leamington Spa since opening in 2006, moving to our current Grade II-listed home in 2012. Throughout this time we have forged an impressive culinary reputation, showcasing the finest local and seasonal produce with precise, modern cooking. We hold 2 AA Rosettes and regularly feature in The Good Food Guide. In addition to the main restaurant and its two private rooms which seat up to 60 - Morgan's Bar offers afternoon teas, refined bar food and cocktails with seating for 30.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Splendid meal. Choice of food and service were exceptionally good. Very good value for money. Shall definitely be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    116
    53
    26
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Possibly the best restaurant in Leamington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Restaurant 23 serves well-cooked and imaginative food, and service is great. It has a formal atmosphere, but highly recommended for a good meal offering value-for-money. It's not cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had the express lunch for 12 people. Nothing express about it! We were there for over 2 hours in beautiful surroundings with attentive but discrete staff looking after us. They were as attentive to the 4 year old as they were to the grandparents and teenagers.
Amuse Boucher, palate cleansers, petit fours came as delicious additions to the most gorgeous food.
A real treat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Santina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a lovely venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Got taken here for my birthday. Was a truly memorable night. The upstairs bar does and excellent selection of cocktails (my mojito was one of the best I've ever drunk). Downstairs in the main restaurant the serves up some wonderful food - the quality and portion sizes were spot on. About the only criticism I could level is that the petit fours were possibly a little bit rich! Not the cheapest restaurant - but certainly good value for money. Would highly recommend a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal - best meal ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a wonderful surprise. We booked in for Sunday lunch expecting it to cost £40 to £50 per head as mentioned on tripadvisor. Sunday lunch was actually £26 for 3 courses. We ordered and were immediately brought an extra taster starter (beetroot jelly, goats cheese moose with popcorn topping - delicious). We were then brought 3 types of warm, homemade bread - again delicious. The ravioli crab starter was unlike anything I had had before and was totally devoid of any sugar filled commercial flavourings. All our main courses were wonderful and the 'in-between taster / cleanser' brought before pudding was fascinating: ginger beer sorbet, baked pineapple and a cube of yoghurt coated in ginger breadcrumbs. My pudding was one of the tastiest I have ever had: baked rhubarb, very soft meringue with lemon (as in lemon meringue pie without the pastry) and a tangy ice cream. The homemade cake, jelly and sweet / fudge brought before coffee were wonderful and again totally unexpected. I have paid as much for a 3 course meal (without any extras - a mint with coffee if you're lucky) where most of it has come from the local frozen food supplier. The value of this meal was unbelievable. The waiters and waitress were very friendly and efficient giving a warm welcoming feel to the place. I am sad we live too far away to go regularly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant 23 also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to Restaurant 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing