We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slooooooooow!”
Review of The Basement Restaurant - CLOSED

The Basement Restaurant
Price range: US$15 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Freshly prepared local ingredients enjoyed in a comfortable, relaxed and friendly atmosphere.Leamington's only Jazz / Blues flavoured restaurant.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“slooooooooow!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Had my work Christmas dinner here last night. Despite having pre-booked everyone's selection we still waited over an hour for starters. In total we (22 of us) were there for 3 1/2 hours and hardly anyone had a dessert. Apparently another couple of parties had all arrived at the same time. I don't think this is a satisfactory excuse. Its not like it would have been a surprise and if you're a restaurant that can't cope with multiple groups, don't accept the bookings.

The food was rather mixed. Good chowder starter for me (although small) whilst others in the group were decidedly unimpressed with their salads and other starters. The sizes of the main courses were extremely varied.

The Staff was very friendly and polite, but this serves little purpose if there's no food!

I would not recommend eating here. There are plenty of other excellent restaurants in Leamington.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EN7EDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean0, Owner at The Basement Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello
first of all, I would like to apologise to you.
We encountered some problems on the occasion of your visit.
We got things very badly wrong right from the beginning of the evening.

However, there are no excuses and it is not acceptable.

We do understand that when people come to the Basement, no matter the size of the party, we must try to ensure that they are given the services they deserve and expect.

I know that you did not receive this.

sincere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“quirky little restaurant worth a visit :)”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

lovely night out as a group ,nice atmosphere ,food was lovely and very reasonably priced as a set menu only criticism was the portion size was a bit on the small size. good service friendly staff and would definitely eat there again .stairs down to the restaurant were a little steep also ,not sure if there is a disabled access at all so would advise customers to check first before booking if disabled access is needed .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mummynandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean0, Owner at The Basement Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello
Thank you for visiting the Basement.
Yes - we are a "quirky little restaurant " and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us.
I'm sorry to read that you thought the portion sizes were on the small side - we quite often are told they are too big !
Disabled access is something we have given a lot of thought to, but because of the nature and size of the building, it is proving to be quite a challenge. I hope we can find a solution to it.
It would be lovely to have you back at the Basement in 2014.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Great Service”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Just had our works Christmas meal here. The food was lovely and hot and really good. We were looked after very well by the staff. Would definitely recommend this place and will hopefully be back again soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean0, Owner at The Basement Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello
Thank you for choosing the Basement Restaurant.
I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you in 2014.
many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Need to go again”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Went to the Basement for the first time with a large party from all over the place only to find a really large party already there from Leamington. Alarm bells rang as we looked at a table of 20 against our 8.......

However it really was fine. The most important thing was that there was no real delay in our food and what was ordered came promptly. The food was quite good and for our party was reasonable in quality and price.

We loved the ambience although with a party of 20 the noise at times was a bit loud. So it's time for another visit with just two of us. Probaly during the week....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r2uzenblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean0, Owner at The Basement Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for visiting our restaurant and taking the time to write about us.
We understand that sometimes it can be a bit daunting when there is a large party in the restaurant - but hopefully we have created the right atmosphere to encourage people to relax enough that it doesn't really become an issue.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Basement - possibly for a quieter evening !
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value great service”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I visited this restaurant for a friends birthday first week in October. We were a large group of approx. 18 but were all accommodated by friendly staff and not rushed to begin dining. The staff were courteous and friendly despite tending to another birthday party in the restaurant who arrived after us. As we had pre-ordered the food came out promptly. I have dined at the basement a few years before and they did not disappoint. The belly pork melted in the mouth and my friends dauphinoise was to die for!
I would definitely consider booking again when the live music is on with my husband and look forward to returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJmum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean0, Owner at The Basement Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us.
I`m so pleased that you enjoyed both our food and the restaurant itself and we would like to welcome you back again - especially on one of our live music nights, which are always great fun.
many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Basement Restaurant also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Bishops Tachbrook, Leamington Spa
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing