We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wanted to stay here forever.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ashton
Ranked #1 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wanted to stay here forever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is like no other B&B. It's beautiful everywhere you look. Your needs are met before you know you have them, Breakfast is gourmet. When I return to Lancaster, I will make sure I can stay here. We started with wine and scones and ended with eggs florentine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbearrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElvisBailey, Owner at The Ashton, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
I love this review......."beautiful everywhere you look" & "needs met before you even know you have them."

It's what I aim for & I'm really pleased you loved your stay here.

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
194
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We travel quite a bit and like to stay in independent Guest Houses and B and B's, this is certainly one of the very best. Everything is to a very high standard from the welcome with a glass of wine to the tasteful room decor, the lovely huge bathroom with a beautiful dressing table, to the great choice at breakfast. We have stayed here twice , both times arriving after a long drive from the North of Scotland and both times have decided to sample that night's cooking from James. This time it was a chicken chowder with a platter of cheese and fish- so tasty and such high quality! We stayed in the attic room both times which is large and luxurious and as others have said the house is so lovely that I am sure every room has something to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElvisBailey, Owner at The Ashton, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Carol,

Lovely to have you stay again. Glad you liked the chicken chowder, it's one of my favourites at the moment. Just to let TA readers know we are a B&B not a hotel. The difference being that we don't have a restaurant. However if you did want to eat in & you're happy to eat what I'm making for my family, just let me know the day before & I'll have something for you. What it is depends on the weather, what's in season & how much time I have on the day. If for any reason I can't cook then I can always put together a platter of local fish, meats & cheeses for you.

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed at The Ashton in January. This was my first trip to Lancaster and I was there for a conference. It snowed in London and all the way to Lancaster (I took the train) and then suddenly I was at The Ashton in bright sunshine. Set in beautiful English country, the Ashton is a charming B and B which perfectly combines a quaint, old English exterior with a modern and comfortable interior. My room was comfortable with a pretty view of the garden. James was a good host - very helpful yet unobtrusive. Breakfast was a treat - delicious and leisurely. The Ashton is a little way from the centre of town but taxis are easily available and James helped get me one each time. I hope I get to go back to The Ashton.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandya162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElvisBailey, Owner at The Ashton, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Mandya,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review & point out that actually the weather up North is actually sometimes better!

As you say we are a little out of town. Part way between Lancaster University & Lancaster City Centre. Taxi's are plentiful & quick. Town's just under a mile and £4 by taxi. The University is 2.5 miles & £6. On a nice day you can walk into Lancaster & it's a lovely stroll through the Park getting the beautiful view over the City, Castle & countryside.

Do hope to see you on your next visit.

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

From a friendly welcome at the door to the beautiful décor and amazing room, well you don't get any better than this. A refreshing pimms on arrival to the little things that make such a difference, beautiful furniture in the rooms, candles and oils in the bathroom, now doubt great water pressure for the enormous bath which all makes this place great to relax and unwind especially after 4 hours of driving. I decided to stay in for dinner and James prepared and great evening meal which all felt like I'd visited a friend for dinner. Breakfast was how it should be, great home cooked food, lovely muesli, great coffee, fresh fruit and the lovely French toast. You have a truly wonderful place which I can't wait to revisit. Thank you James and Elvis for the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElvisBailey, Owner at The Ashton, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Jason,

Thanks for my glowing review. Glad we ticked all the boxes.

Driving across the country & working away from home can be so stressful. So I think the business traveller deserves a little bit of luxury. I used to be away from home all the time & when that stopped I put together all the things I'd wished I'd find into The Ashton. Comfy beds, great bathroom, home cooked food & a relaxed but attentive service. Most business travellers don't book B&B's but after staying here they don't go back to the chains.

Be lovely to have you stay again.

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Perfection. And that very simply sums up our experience of the Ashton Hotel after 3 visits over the past two years.
This is a beautifully upgraded stone house in a wonderful garden setting that is located next to the excellent Williamson Park where the Ashton Memorial is and 20 min walk or 5 min drive from the centre of Lancaster. You are greeted by the hospitable owner, James, and offered tea with either scones with cream and jam or cake as you relax in the wonderful drawing room. This is just the taster for the wonderful rooms, which are stylish, immaculate, tastefully furnished and extremely comfortable. You can then unpack and unwind in your room with either more tea/coffee or help yourself to a glass of port that is available there, free, if the fancy takes you. The rooms are all really quiet and the bathrooms are exemplary with first class shower facilities and beautiful Ren toiletries. One room we stayed in even had a period claw-foot bath. James is also a brilliant cook and you can request an evening meal if you are happy to have what he is cooking that evening. We have done this on each occasion and really enjoyed the wonderful food and wine in an excellent dining room, while being able simply to go back to your room afterwards is an added bonus. Your treat has not finished there though, for after a good night’s sleep you are then treated to what is simply the best breakfast that I have ever eaten anywhere. A large Welsh dresser groans under the weight of every imaginable cereal, home-made mueslis and granolas, fresh fruit, quality fruit juices, home baked bread, cold meats and cheeses. Totally awesome. However, you can also choose to have a cooked breakfast with an imaginative variety of possibilities on offer in addition to the traditional Lancashire one. It is the one place in which I have stayed in where it is a genuine pleasure to pay the bill and the experience either lives up to or exceeds expectations based upon memories of your last visit. A place to be treasured and an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElvisBailey, Owner at The Ashton, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Wow, what a brilliant review. There's really not much I can add except, thanks & it's always been a delight to have you both stay.

Look forward to the next time.

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippysmate
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This place is my type of place !! I am very difficult to please and will always find fault, but I can not find any faults with Ashton House, it is wonderful.
From the moment we arrived until we checked out, James was a great host, together with his cat Elvis, dog Bailey and geese !! fantastic, James is truly a great guy, who works hard with a natural flare to keep his guests happy,
Breakfast is a great experience room is divine

It is easy to see why Ashton House has so many awards very well deserved, I just wish other hotel and B&B owners would all have the same standards and approach as James.

Room Tip: Stay for more than one night, otherwise you will wish you had !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brierdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We only stayed one night but wished we had booked a longer stay. James is an outstanding host who takes great pride in everything he does, from the high spec of the rooms to the outstanding breakfast served. His attention to detail is fabulous and he is willing to to do do anything to ensure guests have a fabulous experience. We would certainly recommend this hotel to all of our friends and will most certainly go back for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berniebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Mill at Conder Green
The Mill at Conder Green
#2 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashton

Property: The Ashton
Address: Wyresdale Rd., Lancaster LA1 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashton 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ashton, a special place to stay. Guest Accommodation of the Year 2009/2010 Lancashire Tourism Awards.5 Star Rooms & Award Winning Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ashton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashton Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing