We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far above local average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ashton
Ranked #1 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Far above local average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

James was an excellent host. On our first night, we just wanted a light supper and he produced a really good, simple but first rate meal. On the morning we left, a friend suddenly arrived to see us and James, without any fuss, produced coffee and looked after us.

We would certainly use the Ashton on any return trip to Lancaster.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BAGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
194
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

This is a stunning boutique hotel/B&B. Beautiful house grounds and decor, every comfort catered for, amazing breakfast. In a class of its own. On arrival we were greeted with tea and carrot and pineapple cake still warm from the oven. If you stay anywhere else in Lancaster you will be missing out.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenLKirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

James is such a nice bloke and has completely gone the extra mile in creating this gem of a place. I don't think I've ever stayed in a guest house / B&B where the owner has such attention to detail. This was my second stay and I was made to feel like a returning friend. Pot of tea on arrival; glass of wine whilst waiting to be picked up in the evening; lovely room with all sorts of little treats; fantastic shower; comfy bed etc etc. And to cap it all probably the best breakfast ever. Really. Thank you James - I can't think of another similar establishment which is as good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhizzingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

James has obviously put an amazing amount of care and attention into creating a delightfully cosy B&B on the outskirts of Lancaster. The geese greeted us on arrival along with James, who couldn't do enough for us. His home cooked food and attention to detail is remarkable. We stayed in the attic room for four nights and enjoyed every one of them. James was always on hand to give advice on where to go and what to do. The M6 is not so far away, rumbling in the distant countryside. We didn't notice it as our windows were closed but it might be a little noisier in the summer. The walk into the city is about 25 minutes, all down hill on the way there. A taxi will cost you about £5 to get back. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Attic room is large with studio windows. Very cosy if a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

As occasional visitors to Lancaster we've been missing out by staying previously at other city hotels. From the moment the door opens to you at the Ashton you are in relaxed comfort with James immediately welcoming in a very measured way, attentive to one's needs but never obtrusive. From the offering of refreshments on arrival (and on re-arrival after your day out) to the concern for whatever help might be needed in settling in or planning an itinerary, James judges things just right. His breakfasts are superb, and his baking (my wife assured me) is sublime. The books around the Ashton tell you that design is important here, and everything about the place balances design with comfort. Our room was delightful, a pleasure to return to after an evening in the city. Twin power showers were a nice touch in our upgraded room. A taxi into the city centre is little more than a fiver, and when the taxi drivers sing its praises, and tell you that they've never heard a bad word about the Ashton, it's real endorsement of the Trip Advisor reviews.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubileepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Difficult to add anything more to what has already been said. I travel with work a lot and stay in what are classed as 4/5 star establishments. The Ashton just sums up what is wrong with these places. One reviewer hit the nail on the head by saying the Ashton has already thought of things you would want/need so you don't have to. The attention to detail is fantastic, the décor, the little things (Port in the room, proper coffee, proper milk..........I could go on). James is the perfect host, attentive without being obtrusive. Top tips, don't eat before arrival, don't just book one night, you will want to stay another night. Finally, the Ashton has a personality which is the polar opposite of other places I've stayed in. James deserves all the accolades for the Ashton. Perfection with Personality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesAshton, Owner at The Ashton, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Peter,

Love your top tips! Absolutely always stay 2 nights at least to make the most of Lancaster & your time here. Plus we do a special rate for 2 night weekend stays with our 'More Than a 1 Night Stand Offer.'

So please you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again.

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

the ashton was a wonderful place to wake up in and retreat to during my stay in lancaster. i know a lot of people who just want "a place to crash", but I like to be spoiled by a relaxing atmosphere that fits my budget. james is a great caretaker and host of this b&b. i arrived in the morning from my long flight and he was very accommodating - offering tea and delicious cake as well as cleaning up the next available room so i could rest. my room was in clean great shape and spaciously comfortable. i had a couple of lovely dinners at the ashton with my colleague, who was also a guest. she was very pleased with her stay. i highly recommend staying at the ashton. i plan to be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the-mama-diary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesAshton, Owner at The Ashton, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Mama-Dairy,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.

I love the American term 'caretaker' for a B&B owner much more butch than 'landlady.'

Hope to see you on your next visit.

James
Landlady at The Ashton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Mill at Conder Green
The Mill at Conder Green
#2 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashton

Property: The Ashton
Address: Wyresdale Rd., Lancaster LA1 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashton 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ashton, a special place to stay. Guest Accommodation of the Year 2009/2010 Lancashire Tourism Awards.5 Star Rooms & Award Winning Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ashton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashton Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing