We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Ashton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ashton
Ranked #1 of 13 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Unfortunately tripadvisor ratings only go up to five.
My new Fiancee and I stayed in The Ashton for 2 luxurious nights in June. Everything about the stay was perfect. Upon arrival the house is gorgeous and immaculately presented, with every little detail thought of. A glass of wine and freshly baked cake later (which was presented daily, free of charge) we were ready to head to our room.
Each of the rooms at The Ashton are different and I'm just sorry I couldn't see them all. We chose 'The Nice Bath Room' and we weren't disappointed. The bathroom itself more closely resembled a spa with a huge bath, scented candles, underfloor heating and fantastic shower.
The host, James, needs to be mentioned as he makes the whole place tick. He's extremely welcoming and nothing seems to be too much trouble. On top of this he makes a fantastic breakfast.
Breakfast is somewhat of a big thing at The Ashton. The first day I sat down I couldn't believe the range of things on offer: cereal, fruit, yoghurt, meats and cheeses along with home baked bread. Needless to say I tried a bit of everything. Then James popped out with some blueberry pancakes. Then it was on to our actual breakfast, a whopping great full English in my case. Needless to say there was no need for lunch.
It's hard to explain in a review just how good this B&B is... You'll just have to try it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stokel008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perhaps I shouldn't write another review but I just cannot resist mentioning it again-we have been back recently to another quite perfect stopover-in fact I will always try to stay here on the way to Scotland or the North. Like everyone has said it is the combination of brilliant decor and supreme service-with such attention to detail.The tranquility soothes tired nerves-the beds are so comfortable and the breakfast unbeatable [anywhere !!]. Thanks again James, we will be back.

Room Tip: doubt it makes much difference-but we did like the ground floor double this time VERY much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard-Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is my second review of The Ashton - the first was in 2011 - and I'm delighted to report that it's as good as ever. James is the best kind of B&B host - friendly, welcoming but unobtrusive. The breakfasts are superlative - best breakfast buffet ever. Crumpets! Muffins (real English ones, not cakey American ones)! Fresh fruit salad! Full English cooked to order! There are geese, hens, Bailey (a very vocal and friendly dog, wags at one ends and barks hello loudly at the other) and Elvis (an even more vocal Burmese). Lancaster is damp and only moderately interesting but the surrounding countryside is glorious. And it's worth a visit for The Ashton alone.

Room Tip: The Attic Room is very comfortable but - being exactly what it says it is - up rather a lot of stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldhanwellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

From entering the drive to crossing the threshold, the feeling of serenity and relaxation was only surpassed by the warmth of welcome effortlessly extended to us by James. The house has been lovingly and thoughtfully restored to become an elegant perfect sanctuary.
We stayed only two nights, but wished we could have stayed longer. Our room which overlooked the beautiful front gardens was perfect.
If you are reading this, then don't hesitate, book now you are in for a treat.
K Newton, Dumfries.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank newtonkmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Ashton for my sisters wedding, the guest house is set in lovely surroundings and is beautifully decorated, all of the rooms are different and have special little touches, unfortunately we weren't able to make the most of it due to being busy with the wedding, but when we got in after the wedding James had closed our blinds and put the lamps on in our room and he left a bottle of champagne for my sister and husband. Breakfast was gorgeous the next morning and there was lots to choose from, from fresh fruit to a eggs Benedict. I would love to come back and stay again, it is the extra details that make The Ashton special.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank LucyHind82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you've reached this point the last thing you need is another gushing review
The Ashton is the benchmark and in the short time we spent with James it was clear that he
is a perfectionist
Don't hesitate book a room and experience how it should be done.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpetdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

From arrival to departure our stay was the definition of 5 star.

We arrived a little early on Saturday but were still met with a smile and promptly brought coffee and cake for whilst we waited for our room to be ready. The hotel was absolutely immaculate stylishly finished with every detail brilliantly done. The room was jaw droppingly amazing from the sumptuous bed to the double showers, complimentary toiletries and even a small fridge filled with mouth watering drinks. James ordered us a taxi as we were headed out into Lancaster for the evening. In the morning the breakfast was absolutely delicious so much choice and the full english was cooked to perfection.

From start to finish James was there to help out with anything that we needed, such an amazing host and such an amazing Guesthouse. I feel bad for just leaving a 5 star review as our stay was beyond amazing. If your visiting Lancaster and want somewhere that's a little different from your normal hotels give it a try. We're going to book again for our anniversery :)

Thank you James for making our weekend the Best that it could be, it's been absolutely amazing!!!

Room Tip: Go for a grand room it's a little more expensive but well worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenmenben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
2.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,391 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
535 reviews
4.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
682 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#3 of 13 in Lancaster
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashton

Address: Wyresdale Rd., Lancaster LA1 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: £133 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ashton 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ashton, a special place to stay. Guest Accommodation of the Year 2009/2010 Lancashire Tourism Awards.5 Star Rooms & Award Winning Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Ashton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashton Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing