We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Ashton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ashton
Ranked #1 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Stayed in the Ashton on our way back to London from Edinburgh. Was greeted with a cup of tea in the downstairs library, and enjoyed our large room with walk in double shower. In the evening we walked into town via the Wiliamson park and James recommended the 1725 bar for pre dinner drink and Bistro 26 for a meal which were both excellent choices. Visit finished off with a superb cooked to order Lancaster breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice. A lovely way to finish off our one week holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
195
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We had a lovely one night stay at the Ashton, I have stayed in 5 star hotels before but none of them compare to this.. The attention to detail is second to none... The rooms are immaculately furnished and decorated, The breakfast was delicious, The service from james and staff was friendly and efficient, i was that impressed with the REN bathroom products i will be stocking up on the shampoo.. We were met on arrival, our room was upgraded, and we were offered refreshments, and all in all made to feel very special.. would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvfoodcumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongHaulLover, Owner at The Ashton, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
So pleased you enjoyed stay and thank you for letting everyone know about it.
I love our REN shampoo too, it took a long time to decide which range would be gracing our bathrooms and they proved perfect. Stylish and exclusive and passionate about what they do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Me & my husband stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary. We weren’t specifically looking to stay in Lancaster, just wanted to find a special hotel, so searched for boutique hotels and found The Ashton. A little further to travel than we had planned (for a 2 night stay) – but very glad we did choose here!

James is a fabulous host and has clearly put a lot of effort into making every stay perfect. What sets the Ashton apart is the attention to detail in everything, don't want to give everything away but my favourites were the beautiful smell in every room, the fresh flowers dotted around and the edible treats awaiting in the room.
Room: We stayed on the first floor in the room with a twin shower – fantastic! The room was very spacious and came with everything we needed; TV, DVD player, tea & coffee tray, hairdryer, robes, books and a HUGE bed.
Location: 5 minutes drive from the centre of Lancaster, but far enough away to feel you are in the middle of nowhere. It was a warm night and we had all the windows open and while you could here some traffic it didn’t wake us up.
Breakfast: AMAZING! So much choice and all really beautiful food – couldn’t go without a mention (stay here and you will understand!)

Really can’t recommend the Ashton enough – what ever your stay is for, there can’t be a better place and definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna.v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The whole experience was fantastic. James is a marvelous host; freely available, recommending the best places to eat, providing the best food himself and making you feel "part of the family" from the second you arrive to the second you leave. This is probably the best small hotel and the best hospitality we have ever had.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warrinpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polmont, Falkirk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My husband and I decided on a last minute stay at the Ashton on our way further south - what a good decision. We received a warm welcome and had an extremely comfortable stay. The room had lots of lovely touches and I enjoyed looking through the various travel and design books. Breakfast was excellent, enormous choice and freshly prepared with quality ingredients. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I can only echo what everyone else has said. The attention to detail here is absolutely superb, the welcome and hospitality I received were wonderful, and breakfast was absolutely fantastic. Special mention for the shower which was beautifully powerful and very easy to use.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veritate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

My wife and I ended our week long Scottish trip with a one night stop over at the Ashton. One word describes our stay from start to end - "wonderful". Being a well travelled and learned couple, we can quite easily stay that James and his family could not have done more for my wife and I. Upon arrivel we were greeted with a cup of tea and Cake. Taking in the sun and enjoying the peace and quiet, delightful surroundings and oppulent accommodation.

A must for any serious traveller. We shall most definitely be visiting again.

Thank you James.

Chris and Michelle.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
1.2 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Mill at Conder Green
The Mill at Conder Green
#3 of 24 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashton

Property: The Ashton
Address: Wyresdale Rd., Lancaster LA1 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashton 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ashton, a special place to stay. Guest Accommodation of the Year 2009/2010 Lancashire Tourism Awards.5 Star Rooms & Award Winning Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ashton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashton Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing