We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crows Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #6 of 13 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I had 3 great days in Lancaster. The Crows Nest was cosy and convenient for public transport. We visited the castle and cathedral in Lancaster. We took a bus to the Ashton Memorial in lovely Williamson Park, walked along the river and wore ourselves out.
We took a bus from Lancaster to Heysham and walked from there to Morecambe's Happy Mount Park. We were sorry that we didn't book a couple of extra nights.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here on our way through Lancaster, and it's unlikely we will return. Although clean and recently redecorated, the room was cramped and stuffy, and the main street location is so busy that it wasn't possible to sleep with the windows open. The bed was uncomfortable, the room over-furnished, and we had to wake up the chef to get our car out of the tiny back-yard car park. Despite advertising an early check-out facility, we were told that there was no possibility of even a buffet breakfast and pointed in the direction of a (closed) cafe over the road. There are no staff on duty overnight so it's a good job we didn't need anything!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smferguson678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

In the hotel's favour: seemed reasonably clean, reasonably comfortable bed, good TV. However, it all seemed a bit dingy and, in general, I had the impression that the owners didn't really care. There was an old tissue in one of the drawers, the shower gel dispenser was empty, and neither of the bedside lights worked. I wasn't impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veritate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We were travelling back from Leicestershire to Edinburgh and wanted to stop somewhere half way. Booked this place at a few days notice and were v impressed.

We arrived 15mins before the restaurant located beneath the hotel closed, but after we were quickly checked in, we were able to park our car a few metres away , dumped our bags in our room and then went down for dinner. Had good food, but service not great but probably because it was late in the day.

Room great, spacious, clean, nice firm bed but it was very hot. We turned off the heated towel rain in the bathroom but still quite stuffy. Nevertheless slept well and great shower.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My daughter and I booked in here late evening when my father in law was rushed into hospital. The manager on duty could not have been more helpful. He had our rooms open waiting for us and helped us to park in the limited space available. The room was clean and comfortable and very good value.

Family in a neighbouring room, were disturbed by a party in another room, but on calling reception this was quickly dealt with.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaHn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

I thought motel was a hotel with somewhere to park your motor? It is impossible here. Restricted - more like none. I drove round for ages trying to find somewhere. Then I had to carry heavy files up a hill.

I had a meal downstairs. I was sat there for 10mins when a stag-night group rolled in (!). Surely they could have found me somewhere else, they must have known?

I disliked the place both upstairs and down.

The room was spacious. But lacks any sort of taste.

I

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazylegscrane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

If you want a clean friendly base central to the town The Crows Nest is fine.
You can walk to the castle, the Priory, the river and all around the town and reach them all in minutes.
Every member of staff was polite and helpful without exception.
Joe made sure I could park out back (yes it's restricted but he ensured I was catered for).
He took our bag and showed us our room on arrival.
The room was perfectly acceptable and clean.
We didn't eat there as we had arrangements with firends but we had two breakfasts which were great.
Noise? What noise?
It's on the main road but we heard nothing of the traffic.
If you can't sleep take up a bottle of house wine @ £6.95 and enjoy a glass whilst you type up your Hotel Inspector reports.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 6 in Lancaster
1,088 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Station House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crows Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crows Hotel Lancaster

Address: 10 Kings Street, Lancaster LA1 1JN, England (Formerly Crows Nest Motel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range: £58 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crows Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crows Hotel, "an excellent base for exploring Lancaster and the beautiful nearby countryside." The perfect stay - Crows Hotel is everything a city centre hotel should be. Clean, cosy and quiet, our recently refurbished rooms provide everything you need for a perfect night's sleep in the heart of the city, the Crows Hotel is affordable and unbeatable. We have 9 comfortable rooms all of good size, all rooms are modern, airy and light with contemporary finishing touches that give you everything you expect and more. The rooms on the top floor are offset by original open beams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Crows Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing