We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DEARLY DEPARTED” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 26 - CLOSED

Bistro 26
Price range: US$20 - US$82
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Mark Cavanagh aims at Bistro26 to make his guests feel welcome and experience great seasonal food. The kitchen specialises in modern British cuisine using locally sourced produce wherever possible along with homemade desserts, ice creams and breads. The menus are supplemented by daily changing seasonal specials including Bowland fillet, Scotforth lamb, Morecambe Bay shrimps and Trough of Bowland game. Bistro26 is situated in the heart of the historic city of Lancaster and can be discovered close to the Sun Inn, along the Sun Street.If it is a quiet romantic table for two, a business dinner or a celebration meal, Bistro26 will be delighted to welcome you.
Bolton-Le-Sands, Lancs, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“DEARLY DEPARTED”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I just want to echo a few other GENUINE Trip advisors' contributions regarding this gem of a restaurant and how very very sad it is that it has closed (OK - so it kinda defeats the whole raison d'etre of TA but the true TA Community also share their views on the bigger picture at times and the rumoured reason why Bistro 26 has closed - namely poor Reviews on TA - needs addressing!). I am fortunate to have travelled pretty extensively and eaten in some amazing places. I also happen to live near Lancaster and often had moaned about the lack of a decent restaurant in the town..until I visited Bistro 26. No trendy themes. No background music. No pretensions. Just really REALLY good food. It was small, intimate - the whole restaurant almost felt like being on the Chef's table...and THAT, my Friends, was the delight of it. They were passionate about local produce. They were passionate about food. Period. It was not stupidly priced. It WAS a pure delight to eat there and when I discovered yesterday that it had closed - and that some poor TA Reviews had apparently contributed to this - it saddened my Foodie heart greatly. We're seeing a few of the better eateries close in Lancaster of late (what the heck is Quite Simply Food's closure about??!) but of all of them, the loss of Bistro 26 is the hardest to (slight pun intended!) swallow. I hope Mark reinvents this splendid restaurant elsewhere near-by and quickly. I almost feel guilty that we didnt eat there as frequently as we should have. But let's hope that its closure is for proper reasons and not because of poor reviews on a trusted site such as Trip Advisor.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DomMellonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    18
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant in Lancaster (Farewell)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was a fantastic restaurant with really good food and atmosphere. We have eaten here on many occassions, including 'Off the Board' on a Tuesday, special 'Theme' on Sunday's and of course on Saturday evenings.

Mark is an excellent host, once the food is served he chats to all his guests, not bad for a one man band. Service is always good, they are there when you need them, thay are not there if you don't need them!

All the food courses were really tasty, good value and a friendly service to boot! Always a decent wine to choose from too.

It's such a shame this English Bistro has gone, sadly replaced by a Pizza menu :( and we shall miss this place, we certainly won't be visiting to eat Pizza, we go to the little Italian around the corner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank camplike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Farewell to the BEST restaurant in Lancaster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

If Trip Advisor is listening, can you PLEASE tell us why bistro 26 ranked so low despite having one of the best (and deserved) record of reviews on your site?
It makes a mockery of the whole thing when the rankings seem to be so distorted. I'm an avid contributor and eating out is one of my passions. Bistro 26 never recovered from the sudden and unjustified plummet in the rankings and, as such, a talented chef has lost his livelihood and everything he ever worked for. The question has been raised before but Trip Advisor seems to be deaf and unresponsive despite wielding such power.
I have lost faith in Trip Advisor as a reliable gauge to quality dining but continue to give fair and honest appraisals in the hope that discerning diners will be able to benefit.
It’s a great shame. Please take note.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank CarlJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“finally - a good restaurant in lancaster!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Went there last week for only the second time in 18 months for a mini-works night out. It may look a bit out-of-the way up a side street, but oh, my gosh - the food was really good.

The entrance to the restaurant leves a bit to be desired, but once in and sat down ( near a window which was a lovely touch ) and first bottle of ( excellent ) house wine later we were all tucking into great starters. So nice to have a decent range of specials and menu items that you can swap accordingly.

The service was good, if a little unhurried as the place was pretty full, but waitress was pleasant and the owner ( Mark? ) came out to answer a question on the mains as we didn't want the usual well done ' Rare' steak that most british chefs seem only capable of.

wine list ( as one who enjoys a decent bottle and knows the difference ) was good, well priced and covered most common choices - the Merlot we wanted was out of stock but they transferred me to a stunning Cabernet/Merlot from the same producer that tasted like a really top Pomerol at a fraction of the cost.

mains were good, with decent portion sizes - the puddings looked good but most of us went for cheese and another bottle of the stunning red

overall, this was a great restaurant - buzzing a little but not over noisy or cramped, wine and food choices were excellent and well executed, friendly, well priced and comfortable.

Having eaten at a few places in lancaster over the past couple of years this stood out for me, not only because it IS so good, but also because it was consistent with my previous visit and the visits of my guests.

only drawback was the entrance and finding some place to park - other than that a good night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Thank you for everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Mark - it was wonderful. Every meal we've ever had has been amazing. All nine of us who dined tonight enjoyed our tantalising starters; the mains were superb - all off the board and the desserts were delicious! Thanks to the staff for their friendly, accommodating service! We have always appreciated the lovely, relaxed welcome from the staff; the recommendations from you as the chef and the good value for the top-quality dishes you have served over the years. The choice on the menus has always been diverse; you have been (quite rightly) incredibly proud of sourcing local produce and your amazing cooking has never disappointed. You have helped our family create many wonderful memories for which we will always be grateful! Thank you to you - Mark, and each and every one of your staff. Bistro 26 has always been 5 stars in our eyes!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 26 also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Slyne, Lancaster
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing