We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights during bank holiday. First impressions were great. Spotlessly clean. Kids were kept happy. They loved the duck race! Had a paddle in the river, played on the park, enjoyed the games room. Will definitely go back soon!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank willigoagain-doubtit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just returned following a couple of nights stay, what a fantastic site!! Wanted to stay longer real gem!! The website doesn't do this site justice. Very clean, loads of space and lovely people in a nice setting!! We will be back :-)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Louarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was a little dubious when I saw on the Riverside website about the key-card access for the toilet block - it made me wonder why this is necessary, but my first impressions were indeed wrong about this.

We stayed for 2 nights this past weekend, and my Father and Wife went up in the morning to check in and set up, with my Mother & I joining them later. Pitch was Corner 7 - handily located adjacent to the shower/toilet block, within quick reach of reception and in a quiet 'corner', not too far from the play-ground. Let's look at my review....

Our first impression of Riverside started as we turned right into the driveway of the park. This is an exceptionally long driveway to the park, meaning that there is little chance of our little one finding her way to a main road, it also makes things really quiet with no road noise to worry about. Down the drive takes you past the holiday cottages and through part of the static caravan park, and gives you a real feeling of a secure and friendly environment. On our approach to reception I'm handily told that my speed is a comfortable 8mph by their movable sign (10mph limit on site) - I like this, it's the first thing we saw as we approached reception and gave me an assurance that they care, about enforcing their speed limit. We were straight onto the pitch and comfortable within minutes (note, my wife & father had already set up and got things straight).

The pitch is well sized, a tarmac hard-standing, with gravel 'pit' for the awning, we had this and still had plenty of space available. Water, Grey Water, Electrics and even a TV hookup (come on! You're in the country go out and enjoy the scenery not the TV!) all available on the fully serviced pitches.

After dinner, we decided to take a look around - the reception has a shop within it which sells only a few basic requirements for foodstuffs (promoting the local township as the place to go for food), but quite a few things for Caravans, which is reassuring if you forget something or have a failure somewhere. It's well kept and the staff are exceptionally friendly! It's a warmth that can only be matched by some of the 5* Hotels that I've stayed in. We checked out the Information room - which is fantastic! There's leaflets galore with things to do within easy reach of the site, and even a Free Library on the far wall. We took a little walk up to the back of the park over the bridge to see what the rest of the place was like, and it was fantastic!

I then had the opportunity to visit the Toilet & Shower Block - this is exceptional in terms of quality, amenities and cleanliness. The toilets were spotless, not even a sign of a muddy footprint during the rainy period we stayed in, and the under floor heating is a welcome commodity when it's a bit fresh first thing in the morning. I did have the chance to try out the shower, which we're told is 5 minute on, 5 minute rest (so you have to wait 5 minutes before you can switch it back on). This is ample time to have a shower, and I'm not a small bloke, so there's a lot of me to wash! The rest of the block includes a Family Room (2x I think with one doubling up as a Disabled room) with a bath, toilet etc. A Utility room that can be used for washing dishes etc, Chemical Disposal Room (NB!!!! the sign for this makes it appear that it's the other side of the refuse bins, the sign is right next to the door! - took me ages to find it), and a partially covered section for bins.

On Saturday we took a walk over to High Bentham - it's a 10 minute walk to the town down a footpath meaning there's no heavy traffic to contend with - it's a bit tough with a general use push-chair as it's a bit of a dirt track, but it's manageable and pleasant. The views are also fantastic!

High Bentham, itself has a few shops, the usual Butchers, Bakers, Iron Mongers, couple of mini-markets. It's enough to feed you, and get the bits and pieces you may need - There's also a couple of Pubs in the town, we visited one during our stay.

Back to the park the walk was easier (downhill) - and we got back for a spot of light lunch.

After lunch, we took our little one to play on the park - this park is awesome! For a 'Camp Site', the equipment here is spectacular. There were 3 slides of varying heights, a helter-skelter, a climbing frame, witches hat, wooden bridge, zip line, swings - all very well maintained and working excellently (no squeaks!).

Considering Riverside is meant to be a 'Base' to go out and do other things (Bowland AONB), North Yorkshire Dales, or the Lake District, we didn't actually go anywhere, we stayed on site for most of the weekend. Even in the rain the place just felt comfortable and relaxing. And I would definitely stay here again - in fact, we've already booked for next weekend!

CCTV - a lot of people may be concerned that 'big brother is watching' with the CCTV on site - the cameras are exceptionally unobtrusive, you don't notice that they're there, but you get a feeling of a safe and secure environment.

My only criticism is with regards to the showers - they're split into a wet area, and a dry area - but some folk aren't sensible enough to figure out that you get dry in the wet area and dressed in the dry area - so I struggled to find a dry dry area by the end of the day on the Friday evening. This isn't directly the fault of park management and they do have a drying rake in the shower area, and fill the place with signs saying to leave things Clean & Tidy - it's the laziness of others I know, but I wonder if a duckboard type thing could resolve this issue.

All in all, I'm marking this place excellent, and I think it could rival some 5* Hotels in its attention to detail, warmth, politeness and efficiency of staff, and facilities.

We can't wait to get back there on Friday!

Room Tip: Having had a good look around, I can't see anywhere that's bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onedego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel M, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Caravan Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for leaving such a comprehensive review! As you mentioned, we do indeed like to promote the use of all the shops & services our little village has to offer & its great to hear you've been making the most of that! We appreciate your comments about the wet areas in the showers and will certainly look into our options to combat this little problem! We look forward to welcoming you back to Riverside!
Best wishes from all of the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from another 2 fantastic weeks at Riverside our 3rd year in a row. Nothing has changed which is a good thing because its hard to improve on perfection, the park itself is well maintained with very large pitches (which is also a bonus we had our caravan, full awning and 4x4 all in a row with space between) spotlessly clean toilets and showers and excellent facilities including the games room and kids play area. The staff are the friendliest I have ever met at a caravan and that is from top to bottom nothing is too much trouble for any of them. We invited our friends this year who have just recently purchased a caravan so this was their first outing and we have all booked for 15 nights next year so I suppose that shows how good the park was. Bentham is a great little village with a few pubs, the one at the cattle market is pleasant but if you want a good meal and a friendly welcome then the horse and farrier is the place to go, this was also the first year the indian restaurant has been open in Bentham it is truly worth a vist the food is excellent and not to forget the takeaway behind the restaurant which also has friendly staff and excellent takeaway food. The village also has a good number of shops including post office, butchers, bakers, hardware store, boutiques etc etc all which are good quality and friendly. So another year to wait but hey ho it gives us something to look forward too, once again a big thanks to all at Riverside for your fantastic work a pat on the back is deserved now and again and we all look forward to seeing you next year. Jason, Pauline and Sophie

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzyJazzMan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at Riverside and thoroughly enjoyed it!! So much so that we are just about to book for 8 nights in September. Beautiful park in a truly lovely setting. The only downside was the large speed bumps on the entrance to site, can fully understand why they are there but our car scrapped them several times .... Still going back though. Friendly and helpful staff and visitors, the best site we have been to in the North West!! Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JackWhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just what we needed for a relaxing time away, spotlessly clean facilities, friendly helpful staff nothing too much trouble.
The site is close to the village which has everything you would need again friendly staff which greet you with a smile. The Pubs are dog friendly which is a bonus for us.
There are good walks, Interesting sights to see around High Bentham.
There are some lovely little villages around the area.

We will definitely visit this site again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianflan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel M, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Caravan Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Ian,

Thank you for leaving such a kind review. We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! We are lucky to be in such a lovely part of the world with plenty of activities on our doorstep; you'll certainly not run out of places to explore!

Best wishes,
From all the team at Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here two weeks ago in our new motor home. Fantastic park , clean , safe , peaceful. Lovely stream running at the side with great walk around it. The best shower block ever. Janet was lovely on reception. Nice little town with great chippy and some nice pubs in vicinity. Can't say enough how good this place is and can't wait to return . No club house BONUS

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel M, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Caravan Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Brian,

We're really glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words. We agree, it is a bonus we don't have a clubhouse! With 4 pubs in High Bentham, plus The Clubhouse @ Bentham Golf Club and 2 pubs in Low Bentham we'd rather support their businesses and let you guys all get involved in local life!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best Wishes,
From all the Team at Riverside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
3.3 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
275 reviews
3.0 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
2.9 mi away
Holly Grange Guest House
Holly Grange Guest House
#3 of 22 in Ingleton
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
River Cottage
River Cottage
#1 of 1 in Burton-in-Lonsdale
80 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
122 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ingleton Hostel
Ingleton Hostel
#4 of 10 in Ingleton
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Caravan Park

Property: Riverside Caravan Park
Address: High Bentham, Lancaster LA2 7FJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverside Caravan Park 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Caravan Park - one of the Yorkshire Dales premier Touring and Holiday Home Caravan Sites.Close to Ingleton, Riverside Caravan Park makes an ideal base for exploring the Yorkshire Dales, Forest of Bowland, Lakes, Morecambe Bay and the Lancashire countryside.Nestled on the banks of the River Wenning in an unspoilt and delightful area, this beautifully maintained caravan park is within walking distance of the local market town of High Bentham. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing