We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for Lancaster University”
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham,England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for Lancaster University”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Excellent location within walking distance to the university. We stayed there over University induction weekend at excellent rates. The staff were v efficient, helpful and v friendly while the room could not be faulted in anyway (room 25 was v quiet). Will definitely go back again in the next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phantom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks for the great review.

Glad you found our hotel not only handy, but very friendly too. It's nice to be welcomed in a warm manner when visiting a new place. Lancaster is one of the friendliest cities I've ever known, and the local people so genuine and helpful. It's a pleasure to work with so many of them.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    374
    116
    28
    22
See reviews for
325
488
48
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for one night after taking our daughter to uni, and plan to make it our first choice on all our visits, spotlessly clean and spacious room, Hugh comfy bed, lovely reception area with a log fire, partner enjoyed the pool, sauna and hot tub,and the breakfast was amazing, great choice and good quality ingredients, polite competent staff, looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharlee4195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks so much for the great review.

Glad you managed to stay with us on what is always one of the busiest weeks of the year.

We're really handy for the University, and I'm sure your daughter is going to love Lancaster.

As you are family of a Lancaster University student, if you have not done so already, please ensure you sign up for our "Unite" scheme which entitles you to discounts and special offers exclusive to the university.

I hope we can welcome you back soon, and as a little tip, when you daughter graduates, do remember to book very early indeed. Alas, we only have 99 bedrooms, and I'm sure you can imagine, there's a very high demand in the area that week.

Thanks again for the review.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed here to visit my brother who studies in Lancaester university. Great location for this propose. 10-15mins bus ride to the city center. Beautiful and cozy reception area, nice bar at the ground floor, clean rooms, welcoming staffs.. Everything was great. I will recommend my parents to stay next time they visit Lancaster, and i myself would love to stay here again at my next visit :)

Room Tip: If you are coming to visit Lancaster university, here is the place you should stay. 2mins walk to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minyoung91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for the great review.

I was delighted to learn you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities so much.

Hopefully we can welcome you and your parents back to Lancaster again soon.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I would definately recommend this hotel. The rooms were large and beds extremely comfortable. The bar was great and we had food served in there which was delicious. Used the hotel pool which was great for a quick morning swim and afterwards a really nice breakfast.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the ground floor and I can only judge these. I have no complaints whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19TheWanderer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you kindly for the great review following your recent stay.

Delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit, and also appreciated our great beds. We're very proud of them.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

I've been staying at this lovely hotel which is like a home from home for 18 months but due to a serious car accident have not been able to stay since June. I emailed the hotel to say I'm looking forward to returning as had an accident and they were amazing offering me a ground floor room and any assistance I may need. I arrived to the usual lovely warm welcome and Sarah on reception was amazing and kindly took my cases to my room. When I got to my room the staff left me a welcome back card and a basket of fruit and some beers....it was such a lovely gesture.
This hotel is well managed, well maintained and the thing that makes this hotel stand out is the staff - A1 staff providing an exceptional level of customer care.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuardianSpecial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you again for another brilliant review. I'm very flattered.

And again, you hit the nail on the head with your observation. It's the team and the little touches that sets any good hotel apart, and I'm proud that my team consistently deliver on this level.

We were so sorry to learn of your recent accident, but happy that you're recovery is going well, and even happier that you had recovered enough that we had the pleasure of welcoming you back after missing you for a few months.

It's always such a pleasure to welcome you to "The House". Your custom and company has been sorely missed.

On behalf of everyone here, we wish you a very speedy recovery.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for a couple of nights with wife and baby in a family room (121). Room decor was dated (early 90's style) but was clean and comfortable although windows draughty. The main problem was there is no lift to the first floor (according to porter). This meant having to wheel pram etc up and down the staircase in reception. Not family friendly at all. Restaurant, bar, food and leisure amenities all extremely good. Would maybe stay again but not in a family room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrianexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for the review.

I am sorry that the room allocated to you was not ideal. I will of course address this with my team to ensure families with cots/prams etc are not allocated this particular room if we can help it.

Glad though that you did enjoy the rest of the facilities.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A very friendly and welcoming hotel in Lancaster - service throughout our stay was excellent. It is well located and facilities are good. There was a wedding there during our stay and the wedding party were staying over night but was all complementary and we were all treated excellently. We thought the restaurant was a "jewel" and were really impressed with the excellent food and the chef.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

Delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay, especially your experience in our Foodworks Restaurant.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
1,007 reviews
2.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
495 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,347 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
3.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Property: Lancaster House
Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing