We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice country hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice country hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a "Classic Double Room" on the first floor with a view of the university campus. As expected, the space was a bit limited, but the room size was satisfactory. The mattress in the bed was pretty comfortable and guaranteed a good nights sleep. The hotel provides free wireless internet access, but the signal was frequently absent, because the room was obviously too far away from the reception where the router was situated.

There is no elevator in the hotel and it is quite difficult to carry your suitcases up the stairs. If you have a problem with this, you should ask for a room on the ground floor.

The breakfast is very good and offers everything a guest could wish for.

The restaurant ("The Foodworks") located in the hotel complex is highly recommended and the bar has a nice atmosphere and a good range of food and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny19039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

I was glad to learn that, overall you enjoyed your stay.

I note your comments about the wi-fi, and I am pleased to report that we have extended our coverage further with investment into more, high powerful routers, so that the signal should be much stronger for our future guests.

I do hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    358
    109
    27
    22
See reviews for
306
467
46
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel (the design reminds me of Charles Rennie Mackintosh), close to Lancaster University (we were visiting our daughter there). Comfortable bedroom with TV (plenty of channels) tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press, iron and ironing board. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. It represented better value for money than many of the international chains.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestatynNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us.

It was gratifying to learn that you enjoyed your visit, and I hope you found our location convenient for visiting your daughter at the nearby University.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regads

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I recently attended my partners regimental social evening event, held Saturday night before Remembrance Sunday. Their veteran regiment had struggled to find a nice venue that could offer a private room, without feeling isolated, and at a reasonable (good) price for their small but committed group. The Lancaster House imprressed! Even though they obviosuly had a conference group in too, plus residents, we had a lovely evening. The Hotpot supper was fab! compliments to the chef please, the meat just fell apart. They had laid the room out with thought and we had our own very attentive waiter, who looked after us all evening. It made for a lovely, friendly atmosphere and we really enjoyed the evening. Drinks are expensive, but hotel prices. It did not spoil the evening. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helvellyn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Many thanks indeed for your kind review following your recent Regimental Social Evening with us.

I was delighted to learn that the evening was a success and you found the quality of the food and service to your satisfaction.

I will of course share your praise with the team here who always enjoy reading the feedback we receive.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again very soon.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently spent two nights here for bed and breakfast and enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable room which was warm and spacious. Also really clean. The breakfast was good with a varied selection and plenty of it. Staff were helpful and friendly. The only problem we had that there was a dog in the next room which did bark a bit . Otherwise a nice stay.

Room Tip: We had room 8 on the ground floor which suited us well. It was warm and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay with us.

I was glad to learn that, overall you enjoyed your visit. I'm sorry that one of our four-legged guests was a little louder than we would ideally like. I'm sure on another future visit you will be able to enjoy a more peaceful stay.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Booked this hotel through Superbreaks whilst trying to organise a catch up with friends. Booked 4 rooms and received great service from arrival to departure. This is a modern hotel with plenty of Lancashire character. Great facilities and enjoyed sitting in the outdoor hot tub on a beautiful November morning. We had a lovely lunch in Sandemans lounge and bar area followed by dinner in the restaurant. Rooms were clean and adequate. Pool and spa facilities good and nice touch of television in changing area. Staff all very chatty and Full of Lancashire hospitality. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scozziemythbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with your friends.

I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit and appreciated the legendary Lancashire hospitality. We're very proud it and I know the vast majority of our guests appreciate it too

I do hope we can welcome you all back again soon

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed twice before in the luxury suite but recently stayed in the classic room. Unfortunately classic to this hotel is sub standard, tatty and dirty.

No hotel should have two standards particularly where one is so poor. This is a two star hotel.

The management are rude and will state that it is a classic room. Attitude like this should not be tolerated.

Due to the incredibly poor standards we moved rooms and had the room rate reduced to that of a two star hotel.

Do not stay in this hotel but if you do then do not pay the price they quote.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mrhutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your account of your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would just like to clarify that following the discussion that you had with myself, I am saddened that you have chosen to write this particular review. On your previous stays you had specifically booked and paid for a Luxury Studio Suite, whereas on this occasion you had booked one of our "Classic Rooms", which are priced considerably less. You believed that the room allocated to you should have been the same as your previous stays i.e. a Luxury Suite, but you had in fact booked a different room type on this occasion. Our official website clearly states the differences between the two afore-mentioned room types, and the confirmation you received will also have clearly outlined that you had booked a Classic Room.

I stated in our discussion that had I got a Luxury Studio Suite to offer you, as a valued previous guest I would have gladly moved you into one. But as this was one of the busiest weekends of the year, and I simply did not have one to offer you.

Our Classic rooms, of which make up 80% of our bedroom types are well received by the vast majority of our guests and I am sorry that they didn't meet your expectations.

I am also sorry that you didn't make reference in this review to the gestures of goodwill, including the complementary dinner we gave you as one of our valued previous guests. A full refund was also offered should you have cancelled your plans.

May I also add that when rare situations such as this occur, I believe I am always courteous and considerate to all of our guests, without exception. Qualities which I am also saddened that you didn't extend to me or my Duty Manger on the same evening.

Once again, I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations

Regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I decided to book a last minute night away and after checking out Tripadvisor, chose this hotel......and we were not disappointed. We had a lovely warm welcome at reception, where we booked a table for dinner in the restaurant (fantastic menu & wine list and very reasonably priced too). Our room (room 8) was lovely and warm (v cold outside) and overlooked a courtyard/gardens, very quiet at night. We hit the gym (bring your gym and swimming things, well worth a visit) for an hour so we could indulge in the fabulous food and wine. The service we received was excellent and would thoroughly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holicrazy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for the great review following your recent stay.

I am always delighted to learn when TA users will book a hotel based upon its reviews.

I am also glad you got to enjoy the full hotel experience, and especially enjoyed dinner.

Good tip for the TA community about remembering to bring your costume! So many people unfortunately forget, but it's always a good excuse to come back in the future.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
2.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Property: Lancaster House
Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Booking.com so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing