We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient and cheery”
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient and cheery”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Enjoyed just a one night stay here. VERY convenient for the Uni. Rooms were large and quite adequate. Reception and lounge and bar very comfortable and breakfast was good too. Whilst the spa area is not luxurious by any means its fine for a quick swim, a hot tub session outside and a good sauna. Steam room was not working. All staff that we encountered were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: A room to the front of the hotel or side may prevent the noise of students returning from a night ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for the postive review.

I was glad to learn that, overall you enjoyed your visit.

I am sorry that the steam room was not operational during your stay. On very rare occasions, equipment can break down, but I can assure you that we always endevour to have it up an running as soon as we can.

I do hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    377
    115
    28
    22
See reviews for
327
492
48
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Par, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Called in as a stopover back from Scotland, had booked online a couple of weeks prior. Got off to an excellent start when we booked in, had been upgraded to a mini suite. The room was superb with a separate lounge area and full of extra bits and pieces. We ate in the Sandemans bar which had a fairly extensive menu, and the food was of a very good standard and good sized portions. At one point the bar got very busy when a large group of people arrived ordering drinks and food. A person who I believe was the duty manager promptly went behind te bar to help out the two staff that were there and everyone was rapidly served. All of the staff we had dealings with were extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your brief stop-over stay with us.

I was delighted to learn that we made your stay comfortable, and thank you for your praise about the team. The hotel is all about its people, and I'm proud to say we have a great bunch of colleagues here always willing to go the extra mile and ensure our customer service ethic remains strong at all times.

When you're next passing, it would be wonderful to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights for a conference, and it was a pleasant experience.
Very easy to find, close to the motorway and well signposted. Ample parking available.
The outside of the hotel and the entrance reception were very aesthetically pleasing. There's a lovely real fire and sofas in the reception so it felt very homely! The bar and restaurant areas are very modern looking, but the conference facilities and rooms look a little dated (although they were clean). There were also lovely views over the hills.
The food in the restaurant was fantastic and there was a great variety. The food on the set menus during the evenings events was a little disappointing.
Unfortunately I did use the gym or spa facilities so can't comment on these.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dashlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review following your recent conference with us.

I was glad to learn that, overall you enjoyed your visit.

I note your helpful comments about the evening food, and I am sorry that it failed to meet your expectations, although I am glad you found your experiences in the restaurant overall to your liking.

I hope we can welcome you and your colleagues back again soon.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were a group of 6 who were in Lancaster for a wedding, so decided to visit a spa/Leisure Club before the big day. I had booked a massage for all 6 people, however on arrival there was an issue, only one therapist was working, so we would not all be able to have our treatment. Apparently they couldn't find my phone number to contact me prior and let me know. Secondly the member of staff on the Leisure Club Reception was VERY rude. She was unhelpful, condescending and very hostile. When asked if we would be fetched for our massage, or if they wanted us to retun to the reception area to wait, her reply was 'i don't know', when we asked how long until the next treatment was going to be, he reply was 'i don't know'. Generally unhelpful. Finally, we were paying £15 each for full use of the facilities, the inside Jacuzzi whilst a very pleasant temperature was next to the pool which was full of children having a fun couple of hours. We tried to retreat outside to the outside Jacuzzi for some quiet time, however the temperature of the outside Jacuzzi was not warm enough to sit in for any prolonged length of time. Finally the steam room was out of order. So despite paying the full amount, we did not get the luxury of using the full range of facilities. The therapist who gave us our treatments was very polite and helpful. However that was not enough to make up for the terrible attitude of the lady on reception.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent experience in the Sandpiper Leisure club here at Lancaster House.

I was sorry to learn that your experience was less than satisfactory.

Although I do not personally oversee operations for the leisure club, I have liaised with the General Manager of the Sandpiper Club and shared your comments, and she too wishes to extend her apologies. I know that following your feedback, she acted swiftly and launched an investigation to ascertain how and why the usual high standard was not adhered to on this occasion.

I can assure you that your recent regrettable experience was not typical of the high quality service the club usually maintains, and also that steps have been put into place following your visit to prevent any future repetition.

Once again, on behlf of the the Sandpiper Club and Lancaster House, we'd like to apologise for the shortfalls on your visit, and I hope we can get the opportunity to prove to you in the future that we can get it right.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here whilst visiting friends. First we found that the best rate was on the hotel's own website rather than some 'low cost' websites.
Second, there was a problem with our room when we got to it, the staff without hesitation switched us to a (nicer) room and could not have been better at dealing with the issue.
There is a pool, which we wanted to use, but it was full of small children, which was the only disappointment, but hardly the hotel's fault! Good breakfast, overall very good value for money in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godalmingsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for the kind words following your recent stay.

I was glad to learn that, overall you enjoyed your visit.

I would like to take the opportunity to point out that the pool does have a twice weekly "splash time" that last for one hour which does make it busier than usual. I'm sure if you came to the club at any other time, you would find it a lot more quieter.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a great stay, many thanks. ALL the staff were excellent and the food was lovely.

We met for a girls weekend, away from the kids and it was perfect. Lots of room to relax in the lounge area. Gym, pool and spa were great. A thoroughly friendly and welcoming environment. The room was a bit tired, but everything else was so good, it didn't matter.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review following your recent girls weekend away.

I was glad to learn you had a great time overall and I will of course pass on your kind praise about the team.

I do hope we can welcome you all back again very soon.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were a family of three who stayed 2 nights in Lancaster House. We arrived at 9.40 on Friday evening, hungry! We had a very tasty meal in the bar and were made to feel very welcome even though they took last orders at 10.00. In the morning, there was a super selection of hot and cold food. I really enjoyed the selection of fruit. Our room was spacious, warm, clean and very comfortable. The single bed was a proper bed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If I was going to Lancaster again, I would definitely stay in Lancaster House. I would highly recommend it. It is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Decner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words following your recent 2-night family break with us.

It sounds like you had a great time, and enjoyed a hearty breakfast each morning. There's a reason it's called the most important meal of the day and we always like to ensure our guests get the best start to the day.

I do hope we can welcome your family back to Lancaster House soon.

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
1,022 reviews
2.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
501 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,378 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Property: Lancaster House
Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing