We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

The hotel is situated next to the University, Our first visit to this hotel and not the last! The Suites are spacious and luxurious, definatily worth the extra money. House keeping was daily, complimentary tea/coffee & water, replenished daily. we did not eat in the hotel apart from at breakfast, a good selection of the usual fruit, cereals was always on offer and of course a hearty cooked breakfast selection to choose from, excellent!
Definately recommend The Plough country pub in the village of Galgate, a good 30min walk from the hotel or a 5 min drive, the portions are huge and half the price of what you would pay in the hotel, you wont go hungry!
The leisure facilities were all great, definately recommend the outdoor hot tub!
One minor grumble, the hotel seems to host a few weddings throughout the year, our first night being one of them, our suite was directly above the area, where people gathered to have a smoke and loud chat till the early hours, even with double glazing it felt like they were inside the room. Maybe worth asking for a quiet room or one at the back of the hotel if your a light sleeper like me.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank paulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 19 February 2009
Thank you so much for the fantastic review and I'm delighted that, on the whole you enjoyed your first stay with us. Your comments will, of course, be passed on to all the team here at Lancaster House,

I was concerned though that your sleep was interrupted; we will of course take further steps to ensure our future guests are not inconvenienced by any noise from the outside. Please make sure you contact me personally the next time you are planning a visit to Lancaster on lhmanager@elhmail.co.uk and I will ensure that you have a peaceful nights sleep. Thank you once again for the feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon. Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    358
    109
    27
    22
See reviews for
306
468
46
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

THE LEE GROUP 31.12.08

Wanted to be spoilt on new years eve, and we certainly were.
Arrived late as accident on M6 valuable time gone.
BUT from the moment we walked into hotel we could not have asked for anything better. Rooms, staff, food and entertainment could not be faulted.

WE WOULD LIKE TO SAY A BIG "THANK YOU" FOR MAKING IT A PERFECT OCCASION FOR US. YOU WERE EXCELLENT.

  • Liked — The wonderful staff, the lovely food....... oh yes, the open log fire in reception
  • Disliked — there was nothing to dislike
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetobespoilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 6 January 2009
Thank you so much for the fantastic review and I'm delighted that you had a great New Year stay - your comments will, of course, be passed on to all the team here at Lancaster House, Please make sure you contact me the next time you are planning a visit to Lancaster at lhmanager@elhmail.co.uk and hopefully we'll see you agani next year!

Best regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

We were a party of eight visiting the area for the Golf festival. As there were four ladies in the party, but none golfers we were looking for a hotel that offered them leisure and beauty facilities while the men played golf. The Hotel came up with the goods and it worked out very well.

The hotel is a typical 4* in everyway except the prices of food and drinks which were way over the top (small house wine £4.50). We ate in the restaurant the first night and the final bill was ridiculously high for two courses and three bottles of wine £300.

The price was bad enough, but the portions were so small I had sea bass which came with a little lettuce and a couple of sliced cherry tomatoes. There was no veg whatsoever. We all left the restuarant hungry.

We then found a little pub about two miles down the road called the Plough. This was great . So my advice would be to stay at the hotel but eat at the Plough

I was also dissappoinetd with the limited amount of television channels available. Most 4* hotels now have sattelite TV.

The plus signs are the rate to stay was good, and the leisure facilities were very good.. My wife was delighted wife her facial and the staff were top class.

  • Liked — Leisure facilities
  • Disliked — Over priced food and drink
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

Booked Lancaster House for a weekend break as it was my girlfriends birthday. The main reason for booking was the leisure facilities, which were quite good (pool, hot tub etc).

Girlfriend had a massage which was expensive and not particularly good, as well as being shorter than the advertised time.

The room (standard double) was reasonably clean, but dated and tired looking. The 'king size bed' was actually two singles pushed together - not very romantic!

The bathroom was not particularly clean, there were hairs on the floor and in the bath - not what you like to see!

We were also advised that breakfast was served until 10.30 every day, which we found out was actually 9.30 on weekdays. Arriving at 10, a helpful member of staff found us some left-overs and some coffee - not great but I suppose we could have had nothing.

Overall, good staff but a poor hotel - we won't be going back.

  • Liked — Pool and spa
  • Disliked — Tired, dated rooms that weren't very clean
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

I had a great stay at Lancaster House Hotel. I went for one night on a hen night and the hotel were really accommodating to a large group of us. The rooms were lovely and really comfortable.

We had a delicious meal in the restaurant, most of us had fish and chips and they were lovely. We were all able to pre-book our food before our meal, as there was a large group of us which was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant and the night staff who welcomed us when we got back to the hotel after our night out. They were even kind enough to give us some crisps and biscuits! It was a really nice touch.

The breakfast was lovely and there was lots of choice. The reception staff were also great and really friendly. I would really recommend this hotel, as I live in Lancaster I think that it is definitely one of the nicest in the area.

  • Liked — The food and the staff!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahHutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Bath, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

I was a frequent resident at Lancaster House in the mid 1990s, as I was studying a module-based business degree at the University (literally just next door) and most of us stayed and studied here. It was formerly part of the Best Western chain, but has unfortunately severed links (so no points this time!).

I returned recently for a one-night stopover en-route to a business meeting in Cumbria, staying the next night at another old haunt (The Grange Hotel, Grange-Over-Sands).

Lancaster House has been extended, but the standard rooms seem to have changed little since my last visit. Accommodation is perfectly acceptable: clean, with comfortable beds, good bathrooms and a reasonable desk for those needing to work/study. Bathrooms are fine, with large and well-lit mirrors and a good shower-over-bath. Storage is ample. Prices seem not to have escalated significantly, being quite affordable (given the facilities on offer).

Something that has changed radically is the view from most rooms. Where there was once just fields, now there are student accommodation blocks. Those new to the hotel would not notice the difference, but driving up from the closest M6 junction (just to the south), you pass what seems to be almost a mini-village. It's new and impressive, and actually doesn't encroach on the hotel, but it was quite a surprise to see how things have developed over the past few years. This is actually part of a major development programme across the campus, which continues to excel in both the facilities and courses on offer.

As ever, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful, offering to book dinner or advise on the leisure facilities. There is ample parking, overlooked by cameras.

The bar area has been extended and, as ever, provides a pleasant and relaxing environment, as does the lounge area (where you can take coffee after dinner). It's nice to see the Grandfather clock (which I suspect is probably local, as many were made in this area) still ticking away in the lounge, something that has been part of the hotel for many years.

The restaurant is now completely different, having been apparently refurbished quite recently. The atmosphere is more 'trendy cafe', with dark wooden floors/tables and modern lighting. The menu is good and the food pleasant, but I found it quite expensive. Dinner cost around £30, with a glass of wine and coffee, which I thought was a little pricey for what's on offer. There are lots of good places to eat in Lancaster, but the city is a good 10 min drive away.

The leisure facilities have also been extended, with a well-equipped gym supplementing the existing large pool and spa. This is certainly a place to stay if you like/need to exercise, swim or just relax, as it's free to use for residents.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel to those staying for business or pleasure. It is helpfully very close to the M6 (less than 10 min drive from the closest junction), and so an excellent stopover hotel from those travelling through the area. One thing to note is that there is no motorway noise, as the University sits between the hotel and the motorway.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, good pool/gym, friendly staff, good value
  • Disliked — Restaurant a little pricey
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mal_bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham Hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

The rooms were well furnished but for the money I had expected air conditioning.

Excellent pool and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
2.7 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Property: Lancaster House
Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing