We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What has happened to this once great restaurant”
Review of Marco's - CLOSED

Marco's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Marco's, a modern Italian restaurant in the heart of Lancaster. Enjoy the very best in freshly prepared cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What has happened to this once great restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very poor service,below average food.The first time I have been to a restaurant and had to get up to get my own drinks from the bar.No one asked if we need anything,if we would like drink or if the food was ok.When do you go to Italian and not get offered black pepper and Parmesan???

What has happened here it used to be so good?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    42
    30
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The decor of the restaurant is quaint and traditional. Upon arrival we had to linger a bit before being seated. Following this we had an awkward wait before our order was taken. The food was reasonably good for what we paid. There was a good selection of wine, catering for all price ranges (although one of the glasses wasn't fully clean...) and the desserts were definitely the highlight. However, we were again forced to wait quite a while before having to ask for the bill.
Decent food but let down by the staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wouldn't visit again”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very slow service - that includes taking our order.
Once the food started to arrive we were served and out in 40 mins - not what we wanted.
Couldn't find vegetables in my vegetarian main course except for one piece of carrot and an abundance of tomatoes.
Really sorry to say we will not visit again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Italian in England”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is the second time we have visited Marco's, the first time inspired us to go to Rome. This time round we felt that the food was just as tasty as the food we had in Italy. In fact the tomato garlic bread was possibly even better! The profiteroles were by far the best I have ever tasted.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyledwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Moody Staff”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have been to Marcos many times and I cannot fault the food, though it does pass through quickly. However I stopped going when after being assured by the manager we could use a happy hour/ taste card deal for the three of us to dine when we came to pay the bill the waitress on the till would not calculate the bill correctly and began to be extremely rude. after which I stopped going as it was a weekly occurrence with my colleagues only to be convinced to return two months later for the exact same thing to happen again, Lancaster may not be a big city but Marcos is definitely not the best or the only Italian restaurant so in future we will be taking our business elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco's also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing