We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic country retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mill at Conder Green
Ranked #2 of 24 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idyllic country retreat”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Set in a glorious rural location off the beaten track yet only minutes from the M6, The Mill at Conder Green is the perfect place to get away from it all. There's ample parking and scenic walks along the Lancaster canal right on the doorstep. Our twin room was spacious, spotlessly clean and deliciously warm on a freezing January night. Plenty of red hot water and excellent bathroom facilities. All the staff were courteous, friendly and attentive without being obtrusive and we were made to feel very welcome. We enjoyed a top notch meal in the restaurant, locally sourced quality ingredients, perfectly cooked, beautifully presented and served piping hot. Accessibility is not an issue as there is lots of room to manouvre if you're a wheelchair user,plus a disabled toilet and a modern lift. Breakfast was delicious!
An overnight stay is definitely not long enough and we are looking forward to our next visit, which will hopefully be in the not too distant future. My only slight criticism, (and it's no big deal) is that there was not much information about meal times etc in the room. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you don't request a canal view the view is of the car park, but the countryside beyond is sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliebpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    144
    41
    17
    10
See reviews for
114
281
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

after a lovely stay in summer decided to visit again between christmas and the new year for a couple of days to celebrate my birthday.as well as my wife and I we took along my mum and dad and brother and sister inlaw.no one could fault the hospitality recieved excellent,

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith1300gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, Lancs
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a wonderful New Year Break at The Mill. The staff were excellent and highly professional - to the point that everyone was made to feel that they were not just paying guests but actual friends of 'the family'.

As others have said the quality of accommodation and restaurant cannot be faulted. The rooms were spacious and spotless, the en suite bathroom was excellent. Our room would have had a fabulous view down the canal towards Glasson Dock and beyond to the lakeland fells - but unfortunately the inclement weather meant that we were lucky to be able to see more than a couple of miles most of the time!

I know I've marked the sleep quality as 'average', but that was only due to the fact that our stay coincided with near gale force winds and a heavy overnight hailstorm. All of the guests who stayed on the top floor were woken by the force of the hailstones battering on the 'velux' windows in the roof!

Would we stay there again and recommend it to others? -- Most definitely!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shieldslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Apologies to the staff at the Mill, I am very tardy in my review (my husband and I stayed in November)...but it will be worth the wait... Fabulous, extraordinarily friendly, very comfortable, clean, delicious, fun, interesting, historic, informative and very good for the soul (perhaps not the waistline...food yummy...although the canal walks etc did off-set the puddings a little!). We had a great time (two night stay). The bus-ride to Lancaster town was easy to do, thanks for the advice as we didn't have to brave Lancaster City traffic/parking and were free to wander/imbibe! The views from our room were spectacular. The local donkey has a lot to say for himself (EE AW) and watching the farmer bomb maniacally about at warp speed in his tractor was hilarious on those verical hills. EPIC. We love you. Oh yes... the title of this review? Let me explain. Duncan is a whizz at Pop-A-Matic Frustration. Grr, he beat me!! (Where are all MY sixes?). Ha ha ha. x x x

Room Tip: They are all good but staff will happily change floors/rooms/bedding arrangement (e.g. swap from dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Travelled up to lancaster to partake in a parachute jump at a near by centre, chose this hotel because it looked great on the web and the reviews were excellent. What can I say the weather was atrocious the Parachute jump was cancelled ! were we dissapointed, not in the least this hotel made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived, nothing was to much trouble, the bedrooms we had were beautiful and spotless, great service from all the staff and a fabulous meal in the evening. In the end we were delighted our Parachute jump was cancelled because it means we can return again early next year. Congratulations to all at The Mill.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We have just returned from a short break in Lancaster, we stayed in "The Mill" and were thoroughly impressed. All the staff were very friendly and keen to help. The bar had a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere and a good range of drinks available. We ate in the restaurants both nights that we stayed there, the food was excellent, the portions were quite sizeable! The rooms are very nice and well appointed. On our first night we didn't sleep well, as our room was right at the top and there were gale force winds causing a lot of noise through out the night. However, when we spoke to the staff about this the following day they seemed genuinely apologetic but also keen to hear such comments as it would help them improve their future service. We were moved to another lovely room which was not directly in the wind and we had a fantastic nights sleep. As we were there in December and the weather was appalling we didn't great views across the canal and the lock but it easy to see just how lovely this place would be in the summer. All in all a great place to stay, we would definitely stay there again if we were in the area and would be happy to recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Mill for just one night in September. We arrived earlier than we had anticipated, but were pleased to discover that our room was ready for us anyway, so we checked in and then had lunch. We also had dinner here in the evening, and it was very pleasant. Two comments though - from looking at the menu, I perhaps expected a slightly higher standard, and whilst I don't like being pressured when dining, we were never asked whether we would like a dessert or coffee, and eventually we retired to the lounge where I had to interrupt one of the staff, who was very busy sorting out his bottle fridge, and asked him for two coffees and two liqueurs. I also expected the bar to be a lot busier, even though it was a Thursday, and as we were the only people in the bar, we felt as though we were preventing the bar staff from going home, so we retired earlier than we might have otherwise done. Could also benefit from a better selection of draught beers. Overall though, exceptionally spacious room, fantastic location, and friendly, helpful staff.
Whilst eating breakfast we looked out of the window to see a kingfisher sitting one one of the lock gates surveying his (her?) hunting grounds. Delightful!
We would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
1.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
3.8 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Conder Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Conder Green

Property: The Mill at Conder Green
Address: Thurnham Mill Lane, Lancaster LA2 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill at Conder Green 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill at Conder Green is a charming canal-side, Hotel, Bar and Restaurant located just 4 miles from the historic city of Lancaster and 3 miles from the M6 motorway. We offer clean, comfortable en-suite accommodation with breath-taking canal views overlooking miles of open countryside. Discover a relaxing atmosphere and a dedicated team here to ensure your stay is a pleasant one! Our prime location by the picturesque Lancaster canal is close to the charming fishing village of Glasson Dock and spectacular scenery of the Forest of Bowland. The Mill at Conder Green is ideally situated for walking, cycling, wildlife watching and activity breaks. Our country setting is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful get-away from modern life. We are well positioned for anyone traveling to Lancaster, Preston, Blackpool and the surrounding areas including the Lake District. We are also a popular stay-over for travelers from Scotland wishing to break up their journey. With complimentary WiFi throughout and just 4 miles from Lancaster university, Lancaster hospital and the city centre itself we are perfect for a business trip with a difference. Just a short drive after a long day at work and you will find yourself enjoying your evening by the canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mill at Conder Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing