We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Spot for a few nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mill at Conder Green
Ranked #3 of 25 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot for a few nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stopped here on the way from Scotland to Cornwall. What a great find! Great food, very comfortable hotel and fantastic scenery. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. We will go back since there seems more to explore and this is a great base.

Room Tip: I would ask which size of rooms are available since we booked one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ST8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    143
    40
    16
    10
See reviews for
113
277
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My partner had booked us a room in this well-reviewed hotel for two nights, and we were really looking forward to our stay as it was for a friend's wedding. We wanted somewhere comfortable, a place we would look forward to coming back to after the wedding reception.

To get to the point - our room was nicely decorated, with good quality shower and bathroom fittings. It was rather a small room, with only one small window, but adequate. Our first glance at the room was very brief as we had to leave to meet our friends.

When we returned and got into bed, we noticed that the bed was only a small double, hardly what would be expected for a four-star hotel. Far too small for two people of average height and build. To make matters much, much worse, the mattress was completely worn-out and collapsed at both sides so that only the middle portion was usable.

There was simply a heavy, thick duvet supplied with no spare blankets or sheets, and this made matters worse: the small window provided no air to the room, and we ended up trying to sleep top-and-tail. It was excruciatingly uncomfortable and hot.

We did not sleep for hours on end, and there was no night porter to call to ask to be moved or to be bought another bed, so we were left to simply endure the night. We each only slept around an hour to one and a half hours, and of course this had a huge impact on the busy day ahead.

We of course cancelled our next night's stay. The lady on reception was helpful and did offer us another room, but this again was only a double bed - so we declined. We were also given the first night's stay at no charge, and breakfast, but unfortunately this could not make up for us not sleeping.

I can't recommend this as a comfortable night's sleep based on our experience; others may have had better experiences but it is worth noting you will not necessarily find what you are looking for. We'd definitely recommend checking when you book the age and condition of your bed, as well as the size if you are planning to stay as a couple. A hotel room should be based around an excellent quality, comfortable bed - and this was the glaring error.

Room Tip: Ask the size and condition of the bed before you book. Would also recommend asking for a room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the mill for one night in October. The setting next to the canal was great for an afternoon stroll along the canal to glasson dock, followed by coffee in the lounge area of the bar, which houses large comfy sofas. We ate in the restaurant, the food was amazing, my fish was delicious and my husbands lamb shank just fell off the bone. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable, extremely clean and with lovely views of the canal and surrounding countryside. We will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomaxwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed for one night early this month, ideal location by side of canal we took the opportunity to
walk to Glasson Dock. Room overlooking the canal lock was comfortable and spacious. Had evening meal in the restaurant which was very enjoyable as was the breakfast. All in all a relaxing and enjoyable break, thanks to all staff.

Room Tip: room 12 overlooking lock gates
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav2ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September.
The location and setting of the hotel was superb, so peaceful and our room was extremely spacious with everything we needed and as an added bonus had terrific views along the canal.
Food was spot on, breakfasts were brilliant and we also enjoyed our evening meal here one night. There was also a comfy spacious bar to relax with a drink.
We would certainly recommend this place and we will certainly be back if we are travelling in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iomwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

A week ago I got married in Lancaster. My now wife, plus my side of the family all stayed at The Mill for two nights, (there were eight of us in all). We all had a lovely time there, we had four rooms all of which were very clean, comfortable and tidy. Breakfast was lovely, with a wide menu choice. We also had our wedding meal here, all nineteen of us enjoyed the food which was delicious, and the table service was excellent. There was a slight confusion over the deserts but this was sorted out with minimal fuss.

Thanks for a lovely experience, we will definitely be staying here again !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 882David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night when travelling south and loved it. Beautiful picturesque surroundings in the country. The hotel is used also by the locals for eating and the food is fantastic. Bedroom we had was really big with an ensuite bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities. Cannot fault it in any way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
1.7 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
3.8 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.0 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill at Conder Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill at Conder Green

Property: The Mill at Conder Green
Address: Thurnham Mill Lane, Lancaster LA2 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill at Conder Green 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill at Conder Green is a charming canal-side, Hotel, Bar and Restaurant located just 4 miles from the historic city of Lancaster and 3 miles from the M6 motorway. We offer clean, comfortable en-suite accommodation with breath-taking canal views overlooking miles of open countryside. Discover a relaxing atmosphere and a dedicated team here to ensure your stay is a pleasant one! Our prime location by the picturesque Lancaster canal is close to the charming fishing village of Glasson Dock and spectacular scenery of the Forest of Bowland. The Mill at Conder Green is ideally situated for walking, cycling, wildlife watching and activity breaks. Our country setting is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful get-away from modern life. We are well positioned for anyone traveling to Lancaster, Preston, Blackpool and the surrounding areas including the Lake District. We are also a popular stay-over for travelers from Scotland wishing to break up their journey. With complimentary WiFi throughout and just 4 miles from Lancaster university, Lancaster hospital and the city centre itself we are perfect for a business trip with a difference. Just a short drive after a long day at work and you will find yourself enjoying your evening by the canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Mill at Conder Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing