We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

The Sun Hotel and Bar
Ranked #16 of 246 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great hotel, excellent service and freshly prepared food, very close to the town centre and Lancaster Castle. I'd highly recommend staying here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    103
    24
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Used to be great but now dissapointing”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I've eaten at the Sun Hotel and Bar many times over the last few years and the food has always been amazing, and very good value. However, the last couple of times I have eaten here the food has been average at best, verging on poor. On the last occasion I ordered fish and chips only to find that the fish was full of bones, and coated in far too much batter in fact it was difficult to find any fish amongst all the batter. They has also run out of items and not bothered to tell us, had simply left them out of the order or substituted them without checking. When I broached about the quality of the fish (and too much batter) with the waitress she simply murmured something about letting the chef know and never got back to me. Very disspointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 502ewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Visited this week for my Brother's birthday and had a really lovely meal. I'd never been before and was expecting standard pub food but was very surprised by the high standard of food, huge selection of drinks and very friendly service. All in all a lovely evening and we will be back! Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank abzster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Ordered Sunday roast but had to wait a while for the food. The waitress was lovely and made sure we were well looked after and had everything.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Great food and plenty of choice. Excellent beer which was in good condition. Service was good and there was a nice atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueB000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Hotel and Bar also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Sun Hotel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing