We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in town if your looking to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The hotel is adequate for jst a day but its out of town so taxis are a must to get around. We were visiting our youngest who attends university here and found out that the university has a hotel at the campus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4funnMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCLCR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Lancaster, I would like to thank you for sparing sometime to share your experience. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

It's a Holiday Inn, a chain I use a lot, and you get what you expect, which is why I use them.
£85 internet rate including breakfast.
Upgraded to an executive room which was nice, clean and with a large Plasma TV. Comfy bed and great sleep.
Staff were friendly at reception and bar.
As with most other Holiday Inn's they let themselves down with restaurant prices, especially wine. Silly when there is a Brewers Fayre across the road, with food at half the price, which is where I went.

Breakfast buffet was fine although we had to wait 10mins for more bacon and fried eggs.

Its a handy stop on the M6 and I will certainly use it again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuarttaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Booked for business by a colleague £80 without breakfast and extra to use the internet. Expensive restaurant and breafast. refusd to pay these prices and ate across the road at the premier inn. Room clean but noisy.

hotel is characterless, try somewhre else

Room Tip: Book the travel lodge across the road or the best western in Kendal (castle Green)
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pash9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCLCR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We have a pricing strategy that allows us the opportunity to offer a variety of choices to our customers. In order to offer these rates we must attach restrictions such as payment in advance. Some of our lowest discounted rates carry full prepayment whilst others a cancellation fee, whilst our standard rates can be much more flexible.

We will always offer the option of either a restrictive rate or non-restrictive rate. This allows you more flexibility in making your specific travel arrangements and choosing a rate and package that suits you.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards

Nicola Crowley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Last visited this hotel 2 years ago - it has certainly deteriorated and it wasn't even that great then! Booked Executive Room for 2 persons for 2 nights and was really disappointed at almost everything. Checked in at 22:30 and was told it was too late to order a paper for the next day. The Executive Room was meant to have mineral water and chocolate but we had to request that both days. There was only one set off towels for 2 of us, the taps dripped and the sink was partially blocked. The hallways had several room service trays lying around and they had been there for some time judging by the smell. On the second day we arrived back at 17:00 to find that our room hadn't been made up. We were offered a drink in the bar while they made up the room and when we went back, one set of towels again without a bath towel and no mini bar items - the bed had only been loosely covered up by the duvet and it looked a mess. The room didn't even have a pad and paper and they have the nerve to charge £16/day for internet access. The breakfast was poor and we had to wait for eggs (only fried - no scrambed) to arrive in a self serve area both days and even tea and coffee was self service - the staff seemed to spend more time talking amongst themselves. Overall. a waste of money and we will never stay there again. Avoid!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cham3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCLCR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review in which I am most concerned to learn that you have experience poor levels of service and standards.

Upon receipt of your feedback I immediately investigated the circumstances described. We will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future.

Our Internet system was introduced into 61 of our Holiday Inn hotels earlier this year following a review of the requirements of the guests that stay in our hotels. As a result we have on of the fastest, most flexible and reliable high speed internet services. There are a range of packages to select, from a 1 hour internet charge to internet and movie bundles.

I appreciate your comments as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards

Nicola Crowley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This was not the first time I've stayed there but it was the most disappointing in terms of the overall standard. I use Holiday Inns regularly (I'm a Platinum Priority Club Member) so I know what to expect. This was a 2 night business trip and from the start it did not go well. 3G reception was almost non-existant.
There was no recognition of Priority Club Membership on arrival, just a very surly "welcome" from a clearly bored member of staff. While I don't expect a long chat I do expect to be greeted with a smile and some recognition of my membership (I.m not being snooty - it is what the hotel chain tell you that you should receive).
The room was not clean - the headboard of the bed was heavy with dust, as was the TV screen - there was a faulty lamp next to the bed, and there was little by way of refreshments in the room - no water, only 2 tea bags. The towels were very small and almost bald. The room was very close to the lift and so was noisy, and was worse of a morning as the cleaning staff gathered outside laughing and talking loudly from quite early in the morning. My instinct was that this was a room that they only used when the hotel was at or near capacity.
The dinner menu was limited so I ate across the road at a Brewers Fayre (good choice, good value) and breakfast each morning was a challenge; slow arrival of tea/coffee, a shortage of bowls, and poor quality cooked food.
Finally, although there were designated disabled parking spaces there was no monitoring or control and cars with no blue badge and obviously agile occupants (I saw them park and carry their bags in) filled the spaces.
Overall a very unsatisfactory visit; it was not cheap (around £100 a night) and I will think hard about returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCLCR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the Tripadvisor website following your stay at the Holiday Inn Lancaster.

I would firstly like to extend my personal apologies for the disappointment caused through poor service and standards. You are a valued customer and as a Priority Club member I have to conclude that we failed to recognise our actions and take care of you, as we would have expected.

I am disappointed that I was unaware of your dissatisfaction during your stay however, please be assured that all feedback is reviewed and acted upon to ensure we constantly improve.

We look forward to meeting your travel needs the next time your require hotel accommodation.

Best Regards

Nicola Crowley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The Holiday Inn is easy to get to and very pleasantly located if you take the trouble to look around, the riverside walks are enchanting. Crook o' Lune less than 2 miles away is a treasure to behold. Food was good and rooms OK.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCLCR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback. The Holiday Inn Lancaster does benefit from the view of River Lune and the walk to the scenic Crook O'Lune made famous by landscape artist JMW Turner and I am pleased that you were able to take the time to visit it!

I look forward to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Lancaster in the near future.

Best Regards

Nicola Crowley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Same standard as other Holiday Inn's but so noisy from the road outside. Food could have been better, not enough plates in the morning fro breakfast, and poor selection, tables not cleared when finished.

Room Tip: Ask not to face the road !
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,365 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
351 reviews
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
514 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £58 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing