We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year at the Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in the holiday inn over new year 2011, everything about the hotel was absolutely fine. The rooms were clean and tidy, the beds were comfortable. We had a meal in the restaurant and joined in with the new yeas celebrations, there was live entertainment and dj. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was spot on.

The only negative we had was that we felt rushed with our meal and that staff were waiting for us to finish and constantly checking if they could take out plates.

All in all a very good stay and perfect way to start the new year, with a lively atmosphere.

Room Tip: As we travelled as a family we had connecting rooms which was a big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jb_jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

After waiting over an hour for our bags to be delivered to our room, we went in search of the porters and ended up just taking the bags to our room ourselves. Later in the evening, I went to reception, and as the only person behind the counter was slackishly leaning up against the wall wearing a sweater/jumper (as opposed to the attire usually expected of hotel reception staff, and they were minus a nametag). I had to ask if they actually worked there before proceeding with my enquiry...

Overall, the rooms aren't bad and the restaurant staff are quite nice. The in-room internet is expensive (~16GBP/24hrs). Also, it was disappointing that the TV in the room had HDMI inputs, however the hotel had for whatever reason blocked them from being used (it would have been helpful to connect my laptop to the TV).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisch79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Trying to find places in the South Lakes at Christmas is almost impossible or too expensive. However the Holiday Inn gave us a great price including cooked breakfast. We had three to a room but that was fine and spacious. Pool is not big, fine for a splash rather than a swim but Gym is adequate. Only fault I could find was the coffee was not good - but the rest of breakfast was great

Room Tip: As mentioned by other people rooms at the end of the corridors facing the river are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We only stayed here for one night, we found the check in quick and efficient, the staff pleasant and the room was clean and comfortable. Will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uktim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We've regularly used Premier Inn and Travelodge when visiting our sons at university. We needed to make a last minute mid-week trip to Lancaster, researched availability and prices and choose the Holiday Inn because it was cheapest at the time at £59 without breakfast.
Our standard room was more attractive than those at Premier Inn and much nicer than Travelodge, and very clean.We did't have breakfast, so can't comment on that.
We will always check Holiday Inn prices for future trips.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Ensure you get a room at the back,overlooking the River Lune.very quiet and pleasant room.
Good buffet breakfast with traditional hot, full english ,cereals or continental.
Swimming pool small and crowded with children( was when we visited) saunas good,modern changing rooms but where a bit untidy.

Room Tip: ask for one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just come home from a great weekend in Lancaster staying at the Holiday Inn, on caton road just off junction 34 of the M6.
We arrived at 3pm to be greeted by the helpfull reception staff who explained how to get round the one way system in Lancaster and the opening times for the health centre and restaurant.
Had a nice swim and work out in the gym before dinner in central Lancaster
We asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel away from the busy main road.
Room was clean and well equipped with a LG 32 TV with many channels but £16 for 24 hour super fast internet + movies is very expensive !!
After a great nights sleep we were down early for breakfast which was excellent with a great choice of cooked items and fresh fruit.
Another full day looking round lancaster city centre including Lancaster castle and back to the health centre for an afternoon swim and sauna.
Lots of young kids and babies in the dinning room on sunday morning enjoying the great breakfast.
Great stay and very helpfull staff at a top hotel Thank you Holiday Inn

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want a good night sleep Clay pigeon shooting on saturday morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awalysblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCLCR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Thank you Awalysblue for choosing the Holiday Inn Lancaster and sharing in detail your experience.

It really sounds like you had a great time taking in the local sites and utilising the hotel facilities. I will share you kind comments with the hotel team.

We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards

Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,429 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
103 reviews
2 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
556 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £42 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing