We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Deal on nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Deal on nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We got 2 nights for thr price of one on a deal. Reception staff were polite, though didnt offer much advice on the services offered (food, spa, pool etc).
Room was on first floor, and very big for a double. Comfortable bed.
A fair way out of town, only food option close by was the hotel or the restaurant beside the hotel across the road, but we knew that when we booked.
Check out was just as easy and quick.

The only disappointment was returning one night to find emergency services all over the hotel as a party booking had got out of hand.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    378
    225
    97
    72
See reviews for
303
322
36
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
292 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Rooms were enormous as we had 2 double beds which was nice. Breakfast was the usual standard fare and always plenty of it. On the plus side there was a very hot sauna and steam room. There was a pool but as the hotel is big it might be difficult to swim in once more than 5 people are in it. As it was new year's day we had dinner in. I really do think that dinner is expensive for what you get and some of my dinner was missing (stuffing and cranberry sauce) for turkey. The turkey was dry as anything. Staff were helpful and courteous though. It was also quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newgallowaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in the holiday inn over new year 2011, everything about the hotel was absolutely fine. The rooms were clean and tidy, the beds were comfortable. We had a meal in the restaurant and joined in with the new yeas celebrations, there was live entertainment and dj. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was spot on.

The only negative we had was that we felt rushed with our meal and that staff were waiting for us to finish and constantly checking if they could take out plates.

All in all a very good stay and perfect way to start the new year, with a lively atmosphere.

Room Tip: As we travelled as a family we had connecting rooms which was a big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jb_jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

After waiting over an hour for our bags to be delivered to our room, we went in search of the porters and ended up just taking the bags to our room ourselves. Later in the evening, I went to reception, and as the only person behind the counter was slackishly leaning up against the wall wearing a sweater/jumper (as opposed to the attire usually expected of hotel reception staff, and they were minus a nametag). I had to ask if they actually worked there before proceeding with my enquiry...

Overall, the rooms aren't bad and the restaurant staff are quite nice. The in-room internet is expensive (~16GBP/24hrs). Also, it was disappointing that the TV in the room had HDMI inputs, however the hotel had for whatever reason blocked them from being used (it would have been helpful to connect my laptop to the TV).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisch79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Trying to find places in the South Lakes at Christmas is almost impossible or too expensive. However the Holiday Inn gave us a great price including cooked breakfast. We had three to a room but that was fine and spacious. Pool is not big, fine for a splash rather than a swim but Gym is adequate. Only fault I could find was the coffee was not good - but the rest of breakfast was great

Room Tip: As mentioned by other people rooms at the end of the corridors facing the river are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We only stayed here for one night, we found the check in quick and efficient, the staff pleasant and the room was clean and comfortable. Will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uktim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We've regularly used Premier Inn and Travelodge when visiting our sons at university. We needed to make a last minute mid-week trip to Lancaster, researched availability and prices and choose the Holiday Inn because it was cheapest at the time at £59 without breakfast.
Our standard room was more attractive than those at Premier Inn and much nicer than Travelodge, and very clean.We did't have breakfast, so can't comment on that.
We will always check Holiday Inn prices for future trips.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
5.0 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Property: Holiday Inn Lancaster
Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing