We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nites on buisness its so close to motorway its a great location hotel is clean rooms are good except for the heating there is one radiator at window behind huge thick curtains no chance of heating the room up and is only on at certain times of the day pretty cold in room at this time of year appart from that stay was good one of the resturant staff (wendy) deserves praise as nothing was to much trouble for her and she recognised us from previous visits which other staff did not overall worth a visit. Bring a blanket

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank colin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear colin j

Thank you for sharing your feedback and I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am sorry that you felt cold during your stay; although no consolation to you, the heating has now been turned up in the hotel as we're moving into a period of colder weather - so thank you for highlighting this.

I am glad that our great team of staff looked after you so well and that you appreciated the service you received from them. I shall make sure Wendy is made aware of your kind comments.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    378
    225
    97
    72
See reviews for
303
322
36
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Nice clean, modern hotel with good food and pleasant staff. Nice breakfast and the room was spacious, bright and comfortable with a large TV, fridge, iron and trouser press. The only thing that let's this place down is there is no free wifi, not even half an hour to check emails.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ralphco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Ralphco

Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel. I am delighted that you had a pleasant and satisfactory stay with us. Regarding wifi, this is free to all Platinum and Gold IHG Rewards members and will be free to all other members as from January.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We spent a night here with our baby. We phoned in advance to request a room close to the restaurant so our baby listener would reach, giving us the freedom to dine together: they were able to re-allocate our room despite being fully booked. We checked in at 2pm - the earliest possible check-in - and ask for a cot "immediately" as our baby needed a nap: a cot was set up within 5 minutes. I asked if we could switch rate from B&B to DB&B: not a problem! Finally, at check-out, we were 5th in line, with bags and baby... The kind lady behind the desk called us forward to the front of the queue and completed our check-out. All in all, thoughtful, responsive, excellent customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed and Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Ed and Lindsey W

We do put customer service at the heart of everything we do so it's particularly pleasing to read your positive comments about the way you were treated by the staff. I am delighted we were able to accommodate all your needs and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

So where to start?

Pros:
Good location, close to the M6 on the way into Lancaster so good for the city or for a stop off from your journey.
Pleasant staff who were, on the whole, efficient.
Made myself a nice cup of tea in the morning - to warm myself up!

Cons:
Room was freezing cold - radiator behind curtains was a flaw but even without that problem it was not good and it wasn't even that cold outside! Heating went off overnight too so woke up to a cold room.
Shower head was absolutely filthy with mould - this made it spray all over the place and flooded the bathroom - and I mean flooded, took all the towels to mop up the water and this also made it's way under the door to the room!
Room service messed up my order and when the right meal was delivered it was luke warm. Obviously they had cooked it for me but brought someone elses so by the time it had been round the hotel a couple of times it was cold (didn't pay for this).
Carpet was filthy - tinsel, grit, bits of plastic (from clothing packing) and fluff. Not been vacuumed I don't think.
Small criticism - why put a bag in a waste bin but stretch it across the top like a drum? Lazy!

So there we are.

Would I stay again - no! I'm back in the area in about a month and have already booked elsewhere so even the loyalty points won't draw me back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon007Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Simon007Uk

I am very sorry to see that your experience has not been a wholly satisfactory one. Thank you for drawing these points to our attention - please be assured I will be speaking to the relevant departments to find out what went wrong and ensuring that systems are tightened up to ensure these oversights are not repeated.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

A visit for a family and friends reunion to celebrate a golden wedding anniversary, held in the hotel Halton Suite. Thoughtful and attentive staff made this a good occasion with buffet provided and kindness to the happy couple. Rooms at the hotel very good, clean and with comfy beds. Bathroom very clean and well appointed. Restaurant and bar area fine, tables laid out to accommodate all size groups. Reception staff very efficient and helpful, especially when booking in many people with the same surname. Hotel is also doggy friendly which is a great help to take our pets with us on holiday or for a short break. Leisure facilities also available here.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms available for those who may need them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurdeyofLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear PurdofLincoln

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Lancaster. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and really appreciate the positive feedback you have shared.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Spent two nights here as part of a coach weekend to the Blackpool Illuminations.

I am no stranger to IHG hotels as the points on my IHG Rewards Club card show!

This hotel was everything I expect from an IHG hotel from friendly check-in, the spacious room with comfy beds and clean bathrooms, excellent dinner on one night, and two equally good breakfasts, right through to my request to have the points for this stay added to my card, which I thought I was being a bit cheeky, but was assured that I wasn't!!

I visit Scotland once a year and will certainly mark this hotel for an ideal en-route stop-over.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear DaveJC

I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Lancaster and that we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you travel to Scotland. I do hope you enjoyed visiting Blackpool and seeing the Illuminations, which were lovely this year.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was a planned stop between week 1 in Devon and week 2 in Cumbria. Having stopped at a few sights on the way up, we were quite tired and were so happy for the in-hotel restaurant! Good local selection and drinks, and friendly service. Well-appointed room and a quiet night's sleep. Loved the buffet breakfast: automatic pancakes! Never seen them before, but they were good. Easy on and off the motorway, and petrol nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Demar H

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of Holiday Inn Lancaster. I am delighted that you had a good time with us and hope we shall have he pleasure of seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
5.0 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Property: Holiday Inn Lancaster
Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing