We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, but cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Tired, but cheap”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Paid £69 to stay on a Monday night at very short notice, on business.

First impressions were of a hotel built and stuck in the 1980's. Although communal areas and my bedroom were clean, the decor was dated and slightly shabby.

The reception staff were friendly but made errors with regard to my booking, although this was sorted quickly. I had dinner in the restaurant, which was actually quite good, although you pay captive audience prices. There's a pub over the road next to the Premier Inn, if you don't want in-house options.

Breakfast was included in the room rate, and it was pretty good, with a broad selection of cooked items, cereal, pastries and pancakes. There's a Starbucks concession in the otherwise tired looking foyer.

There's plenty of parking, and the location is handy for travellers using the M6 to make a quick getaway from Lancaster, although it's not in the town centre.

Overall, it was fine for the money but I was VERY disappointed to see that charges for wifi applied, at nearly £10 for 24 hours. I find this to be utterly unacceptable as so many other chains include some firm of access for free. The speed of the service wasn't even up to much. Poor show.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank inspec71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear inspec71

Thanks so much for posting a review. I really appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others. I do hope that next time you're on business in Lancaster you choose to stay at Holiday Inn again so that you can enjoy our breakfast and evening menu and hopefully find time to enjoy our leisure facilities.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    401
    236
    99
    76
See reviews for
320
335
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stay at many Holiday inn hotels throughout the country and this one is a pleasure to stay at, the staff are very friendly with the reception area clean and welcoming. The standard of cleanliness extends into the bedrooms, my room was spotless and the bed very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. The breakfast offered a good selection and was very tasty and hot. The staff were very friendly and keen to make sure your stay was enjoyable, the location is ideal for the M6 been only minutes away and the centre of Lancaster is only 1.5 miles away where you can find a great selection of restaurants. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClanGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear ClanGraham

Thanks so much for taking the time from your schedule to post a review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I am pleased to read that you will be staying with us again and we shall look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend visit to Lancaster.

It is located a short drive in to town or the bus stop is directly opposite. The staff were all lovely and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.

Our room was spotlessly clean and overlooked a river to the rear of the building. We couldn't hear any traffic despite being a short distance from the M6.

Breakfast was all fresh and hot. We went out for evening meals but the menu looked varied.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave1050_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear dave1050_1

What a fantastic review! I'm delighted you had a perfect stay with us and I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Lancaster again.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stay here at least once a year, as we have family in Morecambe and the hotel location is good.

We got a great deal, two double beds in a very comfy and spacious room for under £50 per night, including delicious buffet style breakfast served in the dining room.

Our only complaint is that we decided to have breakfast in our room on the last day...big mistake. Instead of the usual stainless steel plate covers, everything was covered with cling film. Result- our hot food was dry and our toast damp! Apart from that all was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee7Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Dee7Glasgow

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the time to write a review. Thank you also for highlighting the issue you had with room service - it is not normal practice for your plate to be covered with cling film and I will certainly speak with the team to find out what happened on that occasion.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Spent a lovely weekend with friends in this hotel
The family rooms were brilliant
The rooms were very clean
The pool was lovely
The only down side was the fact that we were charged £3.05 for a cup of tea
Can't believe that for a cup of hot water a tea bag and a little bit of milk

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank maccu50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Scottis52

I am delighted that you spent an enjoyable weekend at the hotel, and that you were pleased with your room and our leisure facilities. I have noted your comment about the beverage item, however I do hope this will not deter you from choosing to stay with us again next time you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,355 reviews
300 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 698 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I find this place typical of most experiences at Holiday Inn; they have rebranded but because they are in effect a group of independently run hotels they all have had different levels of investment over the years - in other words the brand experience is quite variable.

This one, located just off the M6 on the edge of Lancaster, is big but seems stuck in the 1980's - it is just not that modern with room functional rather than genuinely nice and the restaurant area a quite cold, barren extension to the bar/reception, rather than a nice place to sit down and enjoy a meal.

Food was OK, wi-fi was hit and miss, staff were mixed and overnight road noise from the road was disruptive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear sleep007

I am sorry that you found the hotel, its facilities and staff all a bit average. I have taken your comments on board and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

On arrival, we had to fight our way to the check in desk then after checking in again had to struggle through I think wedding guests who were all meeting in the reception area, we eventually made it to the lift with our luggage (we normally use the stairs) but there was no freedom of passage. The room was ok, the seating in the room is a bit dated and stained otherwise the room was clean. Our first night (Friday 15th) was not very good, there was teenage wedding guests running, screaming and shouting up and down from room to room banging doors until about 1am then later on there was a noisy trolley going up and down the corridor. We also had to use one of the pillows to block out the light coming in from beneath the door. This hotel could benefit from upgrading the rooms and fitting soft close doors.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Dave W

I am sorry that you felt your stay with us was less than satisfactory. I have taken on board your comments and hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
511 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#5 of 7 in Lancaster
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Property: Holiday Inn Lancaster
Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing