We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lancaster Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I am Platinum Club member so I was able to receive a free upgrade to an executive room which was very nice and very clean. It was at the rear of the hotel so it overlooked the river.
From checking in to checking out all the staff, including the housekeeping staff, were friendly and helpful. Our evening meal was very nice, as was the breakfast.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear HotelDemon

Thanks so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a great time at our hotel. I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, helpful staff. Great location for getting around the sights. Would recommend you have room overlooking river. Over looking car park very noisy and hot room.
Room sizes brilliant, breakfast well cooked and plenty of choice for veggie and meat eaters.
Would stay again but on otherside of hotel. Thank you to Jordan for going that extra mile for coach parties.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Diane S

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Your thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent service to our guests.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed for one night on Friday with a coach party. Large bedroom with very comfy bed ensuite was also large very clean and a powerful shower. Both evening meal and breakfast were buffet with good choice what was most impressive was how quickly plates, dishes etc were cleared as soon as finished with. I absolutely hate it when you are wasting surrounded by previous course crockery, so very well done to dining room staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 70ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear 70ish

Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and was particularly pleased with your comments about your dining experience here in our Traders Restaurant. I shall make sure the manager and his team are made aware of your positive feedback. I do hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last ten years. Staff are always friendly and helpful even when you turn up at one o'clock in the morning. Location close to the motorway junction and with a great walking/running/cycling track along the river into town. Pool and gym both large and open early to allow a swim before work. River side rooms best as the other side tends to have some traffic noise from the main road. Restaurant provides food for both seating and in the lounge bar, a little over priced but good portions. This hotel provides a good weekend base for exploring the many local sights and very relaxing if you bring the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a river side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Doctor phil B

As you say, the hotel is ideally located: it's easy to access from the motorway yet is set in pleasant grounds adjacent to the beautiful river Lune, with a pleasant footpath running behind the hotel to Lancaster and Morecambe or, in the opposite direction, the Crook O'Lune beauty spot and up into the Lune valley.

A 5-star rating from a regular guest such as yourself means a great deal to the team and I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the hotel again before too long.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

This was a midweek stay over booked last minute for £69 including breakfast. The staff were all helpful pleasant and courteous. We were immediately upgraded over a mistake in rooms. Our room was smart and clean, the beds were very comfortable. The clean and pleasant dining room offered a large choice of breakfast dishes.
I would willingly recommend this establishment

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank DebbieBollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Debbie B

Thanks for your recommendation - it's lovely to hear. I hope this means we can look forward to seeing you back at the hotel again!

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Paid £69 to stay on a Monday night at very short notice, on business.

First impressions were of a hotel built and stuck in the 1980's. Although communal areas and my bedroom were clean, the decor was dated and slightly shabby.

The reception staff were friendly but made errors with regard to my booking, although this was sorted quickly. I had dinner in the restaurant, which was actually quite good, although you pay captive audience prices. There's a pub over the road next to the Premier Inn, if you don't want in-house options.

Breakfast was included in the room rate, and it was pretty good, with a broad selection of cooked items, cereal, pastries and pancakes. There's a Starbucks concession in the otherwise tired looking foyer.

There's plenty of parking, and the location is handy for travellers using the M6 to make a quick getaway from Lancaster, although it's not in the town centre.

Overall, it was fine for the money but I was VERY disappointed to see that charges for wifi applied, at nearly £10 for 24 hours. I find this to be utterly unacceptable as so many other chains include some firm of access for free. The speed of the service wasn't even up to much. Poor show.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank inspec71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear inspec71

Thanks so much for posting a review. I really appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others. I do hope that next time you're on business in Lancaster you choose to stay at Holiday Inn again so that you can enjoy our breakfast and evening menu and hopefully find time to enjoy our leisure facilities.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stay at many Holiday inn hotels throughout the country and this one is a pleasure to stay at, the staff are very friendly with the reception area clean and welcoming. The standard of cleanliness extends into the bedrooms, my room was spotless and the bed very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. The breakfast offered a good selection and was very tasty and hot. The staff were very friendly and keen to make sure your stay was enjoyable, the location is ideal for the M6 been only minutes away and the centre of Lancaster is only 1.5 miles away where you can find a great selection of restaurants. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClanGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear ClanGraham

Thanks so much for taking the time from your schedule to post a review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I am pleased to read that you will be staying with us again and we shall look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
367 reviews
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
528 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £50 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing