We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff - great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed overnight in December. Very easy to find as just off M6. Staff were very friendly and helpful and most welcoming. The room was very good sized the only negative for the room is that the furniture needs up dating as looking worn, but the rooms were very clean and the bathroom looked like it had been modernised more recently.

The breakfast was lovely, help yourself, and even had a pancake maker. Did not get to use pool and gym as no time but they looked good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear jonandam

I am delighted that you had an excellent stay at our hotel and am pleased that you took the time to share your experience. I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stopped one night on the way up to Carlisle from Gloucestershire. A lovely spacious hotel, very friendly & helpful staff and just the job for an overnight stay. We used the pool and Jacuzzi, a real bonus and treat and slept well in the spacious and comfortable room - lovely beds! Plenty of free parking and delicious breakfast to set us up for the next day's travelling - would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Morganview

Thank you for your lovely comments and your recommendation - that means a lot to me and my team here at Holiday Inn Lancaster. I do hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future, and extend the duration of your stay so you can fully enjoy all the facilities at our hotel, Lancaster and its surroundings.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

As a family we had seven rooms booked. The Hotel manager was always around and nothing was too much trouble, after an horrendous journey, her friendly greeting was most welcome. All the staff made you feel at ease and little things were done without asking. The room was ready on arrival, and we were shown to it with a minimum of fuss. It was large, spotless and warm. The reception staff provided us with maps to get to our venue and bus timetables to get into Lancaster. The dinning staff met you with a smile on their faces and made you feel special. The food was outstanding and plentiful. I would rate this stay as 6 out of 5

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithB277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear KeithB277

It was lovely to meet you all and to spend some time with you at this special time. I'm delighted you had a thoroughly great stay and me and the rest of the team were only too pleased to help make your time in Lancaster full of happy memories. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences - we very much appreciate it. Your 6 out of 5 rating means a great deal to us.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here for one night on a Saturday as we were visiting the area.
OMG what a lovely hotel. From the outside it looks slightly dated. Please don't let it put you off.
We stayed in a exec room as we are a rewards members, the room was spotless as was the whole hotel. the bed was so comfortable and the staff just lovely.
We used the pool and the facilities and they were Spotless too.
All in all a fantastic night away, we will be back!
Rebecca on reception was just lovely, the restaurant staff , the housekeepers and the leisure staff..
A big pat on the back to you all needed.... thanks again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Lou134

Wow - what an amazing review! I love reading the fantastic experiences our guests have at our hotel, and yours is no exception. I shall certainly make sure that the whole team is made aware of your comments and thanks. I do hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Lancaster soon.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Booked 3 double rooms for a family celebration at another venue, must say very impressed, all the
Staff we came into contact with very pleasant and helpfull , bedrooms overlook river and comfy, will stay again
And would recommend to anybody, breakfast very good as well with varied choice

Thanks the Holden's

Room Tip: 3rd floor exec rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andra52351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Andra52351

Thank you for your recommendation and your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with the rest of the team. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again should you visit Lancaster again.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I am Platinum Club member so I was able to receive a free upgrade to an executive room which was very nice and very clean. It was at the rear of the hotel so it overlooked the river.
From checking in to checking out all the staff, including the housekeeping staff, were friendly and helpful. Our evening meal was very nice, as was the breakfast.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear HotelDemon

Thanks so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a great time at our hotel. I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, helpful staff. Great location for getting around the sights. Would recommend you have room overlooking river. Over looking car park very noisy and hot room.
Room sizes brilliant, breakfast well cooked and plenty of choice for veggie and meat eaters.
Would stay again but on otherside of hotel. Thank you to Jordan for going that extra mile for coach parties.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Diane S

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Your thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent service to our guests.

Sincerely,
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
366 reviews
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
526 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £50 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing