We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Glossop, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hotel, location and staff”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Made an overnight stop on Monday night (13 Jan 2014) - made good use of the pool and steam room - comfortable bed in a spacious room - breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Ideal location just off the M6 - but beware the slip road if heading North as it is very very short!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith_Parry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Keith_Parry

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Holiday Inn Lancaster. I am delighted that you rated us 5-star. I hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    390
    236
    99
    76
See reviews for
316
328
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Booked this hotel to break a journey because it had a swimming pool and given I have a prolapsed disc to arrive on Boxing Day to be told facilities closed till the following morning. Not on website at time of booking I hasten to add! Asked for room not on ground floor and was given a room 3 steps up from reception and this is classed as not being on the ground floor of the hotel! Well in my book it was as there were 3 floors and we were on the lowest at ground level! Bed uncomfortable and tiny, pillows lumpy, towels scratchy.
£14.25 for a large glass of wine and a pint of Guinness!!!! Only food available was bar snacks which didn't look that appetising, breakfast the following morning was greasy, over done, restaurant messy, not big enough as had to wait 20 minutes.
Staff clearly had faces tripping themselves as they had to work! The girl on reception was a trainee and was on her own with no support or help, barman was moaning about having to work on Boxing Day.
Went across road for diner to Brewers Fayre... Wished we'd booked the premier inn as well! So needles to say we will not be returning to the holiday inn.

Room Tip: Don't book..... Go across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear deborah p

I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit. I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the team to ensure we handle things differently in the future.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We only live in Liverpool but when my son has a rugby match in Lancaster I wouldn't think twice about staying at this hotel for the night. Price is fantastic, staff go out of their way to help you, breakfast is good with children enjoying making their own pancakes and the rooms are spotless. I am a business travel consultant who gets to stay in lots of hotels but I only ever return to the ones I believe are worth returning to and this is definitely one

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank joanjones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear joanjones4

Your fantastic review means a lot to us. Thank you for sharing your feedback with others. I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Booked the DBB rate and excellent value for money. Room very spacious and clean. Spa facilities excellent. Evening meal fresh and tasty. Staff very friendly. Slept in and missed breakfast, but staff still treated us to breakfast despite the fact we missed the cut off, that was well appreciated. We stayed in room 244, we will be back. Thanks

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear james c

Thank you for your comments and a positive review, which is always very encouraging to read. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff looked after you. I am delighted that we shall see you back at the hotel again.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Fantastic value for money, excellent staff and food. Our room was large and very clean with a comfortable bed. What more can you ask? Will definately stay again. Super convenient for M6 which is less than 1/2 mile away.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms overlook the river at the back not the car park at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Graham H

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others - and for the 5/5 rating. Your thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent experience.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed for just one night on an excellent value DBB rate. The hotel was very comfortable and the service everything we have come to expect from the Holiday Inn brand.
Maybe the inclusive menu was a little limited but as I said it was a good rate.
Overall the rooms were well maintained and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. We were delighted by our stay at this conveniently situated hotel, which is just by the M6, yet far enough away to be quite, it also has a regular bus service to the City Centre which stops outside.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the River Lune.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherN979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear ChristopherN979

Thank you for your comments, and a positive review, which is always very encouraging to get. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and were comfortable and well looked after. I hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Have just returned from the Holiday Inn Lancaster, where we spent a couple of nights on a leisure break. Plus points included the bedroom, which was large and very clean, although as it faced on to the main road, there was some traffic noise during the night as well as in the daytime. The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. A minus point was about the Health Spa. When we enquired at reception about the opening times we were informed that it would be open until 8 p.m. each evening; this would have been fine, except that we went down the first evening at 7.17 and were told that we could not use the facilities as the last entry was at 7.15. We returned to reception to find out why this had not been pointed out to us when we made the initial enquiry about opening times and the receptionist on duty told us that she didn't know there was a last entry time. She did phone the Spa to see if we could be admitted but it was confirmed that we had arrived too late. There appears to be a lack of communication between staff about the Spa rules, which we felt was unsatisfactory. Also the notice in the lift said that from 5th January it would close at 8 on a Sunday, not from the 29th December. However, having just read previous comments about it not being open at all on Christmas Day and Boxing Day I was pleased that we did finally manage to use it, even though it was a day later than we intended! We would generally recommend the hotel, at least on a cheap deal, but suggest people phone up first to enquire whether the Spa will be open during their trip, if like us, it is one of their reasons for booking.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the river, not the main road, as the hotel is right next to the motorway junction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear suemburton

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your visit to our hotel. Having the opportunity to listen to our guests is imperative to identify the areas of improvement and I am grateful for the feedback you have shared.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
502 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Property: Holiday Inn Lancaster
Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing