We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in north Lancashire for Cumbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed on many occasions with my family, taking advantage of various hotel deals.

Has excellent facilities such as restaurant, swimming pool and gym. However at Christmas some facilities are closed like the pool

Very modern even for a hotel which must be over 20 years now.

Ample parking, comfortable rooms. Have stayed in the giant room with an 8 foot bed, 2 sofas. Massive

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Steven S

I am so happy to hear that you've had another good stay at the hotel. Many thanks for the positive review and I hope it's not too long before we welcome you and your family back to the hotel again.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We recently attended the Christmas Dinner with Santa event on Sunday 8th December 2013 and I must say that we were very disappointed with it and so were the children!

We attended the same event last year so had an idea of what to expect but it was not like this.

For a start, we went looking (we weren't show, we had to go an find it ourselves) for our name on a table to find a table for two (we're a party of 8). When we eventually got sat down we had to be asked for all the kids names and ages again which was given over the phone at the time of booking several weeks before. We asked one of your staff for a highchair before going to get our food thinking it would be at the table when we got back. It wasn't. We waiting approximately 15 minutes for a high chair in total which is unacceptable as we then had to ask other members of staff for this. When we got some food we found the food to be luke warm, the turkey to be very fatty, gravy like water and deserts to be hard as they'd been put out too early. One our party asked a chef if there were any Yorkshire puddings only to get laughed at. I asked for a few more napkins at the start of the meal (knowing what kids are like) and they still hadn't arrived by the end of the meal. One of our party asked for 2 portions of chips an some fish fingers for a younger child and when they finally arrived she only got one portion of chips and no fish fingers!

Then Santa arrived and although this part of the event seemed more organised we found that our kids names were not even on the list after almost 30 minutes of getting 4 kids to wait patiently. When our kids did finally get to go an see Santa the presents were given to one of the adults in our party who then gave them to the kids. Why would Santa give a parent the presents to give the kids? This was the part of the day that was most upsetting for the kids.

They'd waited patiently watching kids get batons, cars and other good looking toys only to find that they had a small tube of sweets that you can get for less than a pound! Only after complaining on the day I was told that the only other thing they had was small chalk boards which it was that or nothing!

So despite the fact there was 8 of us, we had been given a table for two, the food and service was below average, none of the kids names were on the list to see Santa and their presents were given to a grown up not the kids!

The company made a mess of what should have been a magical day for the kids and because of this my 8 year old came home to say that he didn't think Santa was real any more! One of the main reasons for bringing him to an event like this is to prolong the Christmas spirit and help them believe for longer, not to do the complete opposite.

I'm truly saddened and disappointed by this experience, and with 4 young children saddened as well we really couldn't recommend this to anyone we know. For these reasons we will certainly not be going next year or ever again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nt78seo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCLCR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear nt78seo

Once again, thank you for sharing with us your feedback on the Sunday lunch with Santa event held the 8th December 2013. We appreciate candid feedback and welcome any opportunity to improve.

When things go wrong we ensure that full investigations take place so that we can act and avoid a re occurrence. On this occasion we found that a telephone conversation took place to try and cancel or book the 2nd date. It was then wrongly assumed by the events team that the booking had been cancelled, when the 2nd date was unavailable. This led to the operations team on the day, not being aware of your reservation details.

It is disappointing to hear that the children in your party were not happy with their sweets. Over 300 guests attended these two popular events and a number of other children also received the same gift with very positive feedback. However, as a result of your comments we will bear this in mind for next year when selecting the free gifts from Santa.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Best Regards


Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the holiday Inn at Lancaster on several occasions. We use this hotel as a staging post to visit our Son and his family in Scotland.
The hotel is conveniently situated approximately half a mile from the M6. A good point to note is that the area is quiet and one experiences little or no road noise from the motorway. Hence a good relaxing nights sleep.
The hotel staff have always been very attentive and have made our short stays most welcoming. The restaurant has a good menu and the food is very good and well presented. The hotel appears to have a very good chef. The restaurant staff are again very attentive and always smile.
The hotel is only 6 miles from Morecambe and the promenade there is great for a relaxing stroll especially after a long journey. There is also a wonderful statue of Eric Morecambe the comedian on the promenade.
We will definitely use this hotel again and would also recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn offer great rates if booked in advance over their web-site. Rooms on the Lancaster side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Peter S

What a lovely review - thank you. It's particularly pleasing to receive reviews like this from our regular guests. I do hope you had an enjoyable time with your son in Scotland. The team here at Holiday Inn Lancaster look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Made an overnight stop on Monday night (13 Jan 2014) - made good use of the pool and steam room - comfortable bed in a spacious room - breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Ideal location just off the M6 - but beware the slip road if heading North as it is very very short!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith_Parry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Keith_Parry

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Holiday Inn Lancaster. I am delighted that you rated us 5-star. I hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Booked this hotel to break a journey because it had a swimming pool and given I have a prolapsed disc to arrive on Boxing Day to be told facilities closed till the following morning. Not on website at time of booking I hasten to add! Asked for room not on ground floor and was given a room 3 steps up from reception and this is classed as not being on the ground floor of the hotel! Well in my book it was as there were 3 floors and we were on the lowest at ground level! Bed uncomfortable and tiny, pillows lumpy, towels scratchy.
£14.25 for a large glass of wine and a pint of Guinness!!!! Only food available was bar snacks which didn't look that appetising, breakfast the following morning was greasy, over done, restaurant messy, not big enough as had to wait 20 minutes.
Staff clearly had faces tripping themselves as they had to work! The girl on reception was a trainee and was on her own with no support or help, barman was moaning about having to work on Boxing Day.
Went across road for diner to Brewers Fayre... Wished we'd booked the premier inn as well! So needles to say we will not be returning to the holiday inn.

Room Tip: Don't book..... Go across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear deborah p

I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit. I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the team to ensure we handle things differently in the future.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We only live in Liverpool but when my son has a rugby match in Lancaster I wouldn't think twice about staying at this hotel for the night. Price is fantastic, staff go out of their way to help you, breakfast is good with children enjoying making their own pancakes and the rooms are spotless. I am a business travel consultant who gets to stay in lots of hotels but I only ever return to the ones I believe are worth returning to and this is definitely one

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank joanjones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear joanjones4

Your fantastic review means a lot to us. Thank you for sharing your feedback with others. I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Booked the DBB rate and excellent value for money. Room very spacious and clean. Spa facilities excellent. Evening meal fresh and tasty. Staff very friendly. Slept in and missed breakfast, but staff still treated us to breakfast despite the fact we missed the cut off, that was well appreciated. We stayed in room 244, we will be back. Thanks

Stayed: January 2014
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear james c

Thank you for your comments and a positive review, which is always very encouraging to read. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff looked after you. I am delighted that we shall see you back at the hotel again.

Sincerely
Nicola Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
85 reviews
2 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
535 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £50 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing