We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel close to motorway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel close to motorway”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed one night with my husband on trip to Lakes. Convenient for the motorway. Furniture in room had seen better days,however the beds were comfortable. Toiletries in bathroom had already been opened and partially used, main toilet roll almost empty, no milk for tea or coffee and Holiday Inn guidebook had middle missing, when we gave this back to hotel receptionist when we checked out she said Oh! and when we added we had a few other problems she ignored us and wished us a happy day!
At the Buffet breakfast the coffee came from thermos flasks as did the water for tea and neither was fresh, only bread for toasting or croissants and the hot food could have been hotter. Not the usual standard we have come to expect from a Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at front of hotel rear rooms have view of rooftop and pipework!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coop3-52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Coop3

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Clearly, we were not performing to our usual standards, and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with the relevant managers.

Sincerely
Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    390
    236
    99
    76
See reviews for
316
328
36
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed @ The Hotel with my two children on Saturday the 19th of July for one night and I would like to stay that I was very impressed. The hotel check reception staff were really nice and they gave us a large family room with a fridge and two double beds.
We used the swimming pool, then went to Blackpool Zoo (which was also excellent). Following our return we ate in the restaurant in the evening and the kids ate free. Amazingly it was all products they love such as birds eye and fruit shoots.
I had three excellent courses for £18.00.
On Sunday we had breakfast,which was plentiful and fresh. The staff serving us were very helpful and friendly.
On Sunday we went to Old Holly Farm (again very enjoyable for a couple of hours).
I would recommend this hotel for a reasonably priced short break for families.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear elisecole

It sounds like you had a really good time here at Lancaster! I am so pleased you and your family were able to enjoy the hotel and our facilities. Thank you for sharing your feedback and for the recommendation. I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Sincerely
Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelsey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed two nights with 3 of our Grandkids. We had an excellent family room on the 3rd floor overlooking the play area. A nice clean light spacious room for the five of us, could have squeezed another in really. A good pool area for the kids though the costume drying machine did eat my wifes but fair play the staff replaced it. The only problem with the room was the sink had two huge cracks in it which does not look nice and is a health hazard , I did report this at reception so hopefully they have replaced it by now. Overall a pretty good stay. Staff excellent , house keeping team were spot on , looked after us all well. Have stayed here before but not with the kids, good location at reasonable rates. Will go back and though it is handy for family , the hotel itself is a pleasant place to stay in a convenient spot going North or South.

Room Tip: Third floor family room overlooking the play ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robahardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear robahardman

Thank you for sharing your review and I am delighted you have had another good stay at our hotel. I hope it won't be too long before we're welcoming you back again.

Sincerely
Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights as we where on our way to the Yorkshire Dales.

Perfectly placed to visit Lancaster and Kendal.

We were given a very nice executive room on the 3rd floor spotlessly clean with two lovely large beds, the bathroom was very modern.

Buffet style Breakfast which was very nice, quick service and pleasant staff,

A very enjoyable stay and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for executive room on 3rd floor much larger
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly hotel nothing too much trouble, Hotel convenient for the Lakes.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl50Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Charl50Jon

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for recommending the hotel to others - that means a lot to me and the team.

Sincerely
Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stopped here on a busy Friday morning after having been on the road for three hours after a very early start. We wanted tea and biscuits. Despite the place being quite busy, we were warmly welcomed by the receptionist. We were served swiftly and efficiently by two young gentlemen at the bar, who were cheerful and attentive. We have stayed here overnight many times when our son was small, and have always enjoyed our visits. Well done to the staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetcharity19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Sweetcharity19

I am delighted you had a pleasant stop at our hotel. Thank you for highlighting the friendly, efficient service you received from our staff, particularly the receptionist and the barmen - I shall make sure they are made aware of your comments.

Sincerely
Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth (the original Scottish one!)
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Spent two nights here, as a very handy central point between the Lakes (for good weather) and Manchester (for shopping in bad weather - and we used both scenarios). I am a regular HI user and Rewards Club member, and after an unfortunate booking mix up (with Central Reservations, not the Hotel) the lovely lady on reception, Levi, was charming and efficient at check-in.
I really do wonder what benefits (other than points towards stays) Rewards give - yet again we were stuck at the back of the hotel, with our "view" being ventilation pipework....one step up from the normal bin view though I suppose! Room itself fine, spotless bathroom, new TV, efficient aircon but the fixed furniture was obviously overlooked at refresh time, tired and grubby storage units. The hotel information pack was dog eared and incomplete. Free wifi for Rewards members but slow - not bad on my phone but my wife gave up using her tablet.
The fitness centre is functional if again a bit dated, the showers are apparently notoriously fickle according to locals spoken to who are gym members.
Breakfast was a major let-down, overcooked hot items left to frazzle under lights and a distinct shortage of staff - three guests asked for milk for cereal over a few minutes and it took an age to arrive.
Overall, a decent, functional hotel, pleasant reception staff, handily located for onward travel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faircityrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear faircityrover

I am sorry that we didn't quite meet all your expectations on this visit. However, your thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to continually make improvements to deliver the most excellent experience. So thank you for taking the time to feed back - I will make sure that your review is shared with the rest of the team.

Sincerely
Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

stayed here again on a second visit to friends up north, our first stay had been fantatsic and it seemed a perfect place to stop, we had room service dinner and it was great, absolutley no complaints, the pool was great and we would deffinaley stay again!

Room Tip: executive rooms are bigger x
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HONESTEYISMYPOLICY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK_HILancs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Lancaster, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear youdontknowmeright

I am delighted you have enjoyed your second stay with us as much as you did the first. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback; it is very much appreciated.

Sincerely
Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
501 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Travelodge Lancaster M6
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Property: Holiday Inn Lancaster
Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing