We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Disgrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed 6 July 2009

All I can say is avoid it!!!! The rooms are not worth half the amount they charge for. There were spider webs above my bed; mould in the bathroom. Old tired decor & my room was opposite the main road, impossible to sleep after 6 am. Only good thing was the very nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2009

I stayed here for a week on a course. The hotel is a perfectly standard Holiday Inn- comfortable, clean, reasonably well equipped. THe food was OK, nothing special, but perfectly acceptable. Location wise, it is right beside the M6 and therfore handy in that way, whilst a riverside path out the back offers a pleasant way of making your way into the centre of Lancaster (about 20 mins walk). THe best feature from my perspective was the health club- the gym, pool, jacuzzi and sauna were nice after a long day of working.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djh_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

The location is good, just minutes from jct 34 of M6. We are used to living in country and noise was not bad, the hotel is set back from the main road into Lancaster. As others have commented there is a very pleasant river walk from the rear of hotel that takes you into Lancaster or Morecambe. Ideal place for a bike ride, I never realised previously that Lancaster was so bike friendly. The whole place could be better if the staff wanted to be there! We booked an exceutive room and requested rear of hotel - we booked into this but had 3 circling flies and an interconnecting door with a young baby crying next door so asked to move which was no issue at all. The room that we moved to was of a good size and looked like it had a fairly recent make over, overall we were happy withe the room and I would score room a good 3.5 out of 5. Ive stayed in lots of Holiday Inn's and thought the dining experience here was terrible the breakfast choice was under par and everything was rather chaotic and messy. Would deffinately not breakfast here again! We had a dinner at hotel and was ok, biggest downfall was that the bar is connscted witha huge Sports TV screen and football fans screaming evety 5 minutes. The following night we ate a great Italian resturant that was really good value and great service (on the road out to Morecambe) called Rastelli's . Good leisure centre at hotel, swimming pool is agreat size and a nice jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

The first encounter was good. Reception staff were very helpful, the entrance area was bright. However, that first impression was soon replaced by absolute disappointment.

The corridor to the bedroom was grubby, it had stained, faded carpet and marked walls. It was extremely gloomy.

The bedroom was a good size - that's the only positive thing I can say about it. The carpet was stained, it looked as if it had been well scrubbed and the room was generally clean but it was faded, well past its use-by date and quite depressing.

All the furniture had seen much better days - and many, many of them.

The 'bath' towels could just about be described as that - if you added the words 'for an under 3 year old' to the description. They were incredibly small and toileteries were virtually non existant. I'd forgotten to take soap and the tiny bar with which we were provided was all but used up on the first morning but no replacement bar was left for the rest of our stay. Tiles in the bathroom were cracked and chipped - they'd been painted with tile paint - this is a 3* Holiday Inn and they appeared to have employed DIY techniques to 'update' the faded bathrooms.

The curtains were not fitted correctly so from dawn on the first morning the sun streamed into the room and woke us then, at around 07.00, the tv came to life with no help from us. Was this a ploy to get guests up and out so that rooms could be serviced?

Worse was yet to come on the first morning - NO HOT WATER, we spent over an hour trying, waiting, trying again but from around 09.45 to 10.45 (at least) the water was tepid at most, sometimes quite cold.

I mentioned this to the (friendly and helpful) receptionist, who was most surprised and could not understand what was wrong but promised to report the problem.

The following morning I started checking the water at 08.20 - same result! NO HOT WATER.

It is unnacceptable in the year 2009 for a 3* hotel not to provide guests with hot water on demand.

I left with the impression that hotel is operating on a shoe-string (tiny towels, poor toileteries, no replacement soap - the notepad had 1 sheet of paper attached) and thinks that guests should accept 1950s seaside guest house standards from a 2009 3* hotel. They should not!

The shame of it all is that the location is excellent (apart from traffic noise at the front). The grassed area would be wonderful if there was some outdoor seating provided. Lancaster is a very short drive, the motorway almost on the doorstep and the glorious South Lakes are very handy indeed.

I suppose that with all those attractions the hotel chain thinks it can get away with offering sub-standard accommodation. The impression I formed was that it operates according the the belief that people will always want to come to the area, so why make an effort to provide a good product - just exploit the tourists!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groeslongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

A very average Holiday Inn and at £74 for the cheapest room with two single beds, not much of a bargain.

Good points - Friendly staff who resolved several problems quickly. Well-run gym. Reasonable view over River Lune, very convenient for M6 motorway.

Bad points - Poor systems. Slightly chaotic restaurant, staff had little idea which customer had ordered which dish, inedible gammon (although replaced with no argument), Milk jugs delivered to tables for breakfast in big yellow vegetable oil bucket! while diners still eating evening meals!

Restaurant was very noisy - more fabric would muffle sounds. Very average breakfast, no fruit, no pastries, no Starbucks coffee as mentioned by previous reviewer.

Our bedroom had no TV remote control and no instructions on working baffling shower controls (although staff were quick to help). Disabled toilet had fierce door closing device so it was very difficult for a person in a wheelchair to get in at all.

Just over the road is a Premier Inn. I'm sure this excellent chain will be taking custom from the complacent Holiday Inn. Systems need to be reviewed and improved - management take note.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farehamvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

I have stayed in this hotel quite a few times now, but was rather disappointed by this particular stay. The main disappointment was with dinner - the reception had not communicated my reservation request to the restaurant, and, whilst I did get a table, it was not properly set and did not make me feel like a welcome dinner guest.
Then the tuna steak I ordered was not cooked and was cold inside - I sent it back. The replacement was better, but it did spoil what I hoped to have been an enjoyable, relaxing evening

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinEFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Stayed there for two nights over a weekend and found everything fine - typical of a business hotel. Staff friendly, food decent, room reasonable (ask for one like ours at the back, overlooking the canal). It isn't the sort of place you'd stay for a week's holiday but for a short stopover I'd recommend it.

However I would really praise it for value for money. We pre-booked and it was £49 per night B&B for a family of four, which was a fantastic price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londoner2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,363 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
351 reviews
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
514 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £57 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing