We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Checked in to an "executive room" which was dirty and clearly had not been cleaned properly, the bathroom was grubby and the bed linen dirty. We were moved to another room which wasn't much better. Dinner in the hotel was adequate but the bar service was terrrible. 20 minutes to get 2 drinks delivered to our table and the excuse was that they were very busy at the bar, but we could see the bar staff lounging around at the bar talking to their colleagues.

Found the staff pretty indifferent to the needs of the customers who were all complaining about the service. We complained and the receptionist shrugged her shoulders as is to say "what can you do?".

The room was noisy. Constant traffic up and down the hallway outside and you could hear every word of the conversation and every footfall along the corridor.

We wanted to use the internet but it was not free. One of the staff warned us off using it as in her words "they charge you an arm and a leg".

Final straw really was the fact that they pushed the bill under the door of the room despite having taken a credit card impression the night before. Did they think we were going to run off without paying?

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Lancaster
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2010

Rooms are satisfactory and staff friendly but bar rather expensive.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Arrived as part of a large group early evening. The staff were very friendly, organised and and welcoming. The food was excellent and our room very comfortable.

For those who want a bit of exercise there is a super walk along a cycle track by the side of the hotel. This goes alongside the river and is very interesting - unfortunately did not have the time to go more than a couple of miles.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckettsTintagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

i stayed at the hotel and the reception staff was very friendly .the room was ok but could have been more up to date for the price.but i was not impressed with the restaurant the food was ok but the restaurant manger was unhelpful and very rude we felt ignored and it took 30 mins for a prawn salad to arrive ,because of this we chose not to eat in there for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123456789lins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We have just returned after spending a most enjoyable weekend break at the Holiday Inn, Lancaster. On arrival last Friday (30th April) we received a warm welcome from the reception team who checked us in quickly and efficiently. We had reserved an Executive Room (347) for our stay which we found to be very pleasantly furnished and overlooked the River Lune to the rear of the hotel. We received complementary bottled water and confectionery in our room which was also replenished for our second nights stay. This is a very welcome extra that many other hotels seem to have withdrawn and is much appreciated. We had a nice ensuite bathroom which had an adequate range of toiletries available. This hotel also has a Spirit Health & Fitness Club and a reasonable sized swimming pool. Although we did not have dinner in the Traders restaurant we did enjoy breakfast each morning.
Our stay last weekend coincided with the Scarecrow Festival which is held annually on the May Bank Holiday weekend (30th April - 3rd May) in the village of Wray which is just 8 miles from the hotel and well worth a visit. Lancaster city centre is just minutes away from the hotel with its vatiety of shops and the lakes are just a short drive away.
We did spend our second day touring around the Trough of Bowland which is easily reached from the hotel and well worth the visit.
The hotel is approx 400 metres off Junction 34 of the M6 motorway and is very convenient for anyone either stopping off on the journey North or for enjoying all that is available in this part of the country.
Overall we had a very enjoyable weekend break in the Holiday Inn, Lancaster and will return hopefully in the not too distant future. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We have now stayed at this hotel on 2 occassions. It is a perfect midway stop for us on the way up to Scotland, with being on 2 mins off the M6. We have always had an executive room and are fortunate to get very reduced rates. We always arrive very late and leave very early so it does the job. The rooms are quite battered, not always clean and only sometimes have the things in them they advertise. But based on value for money we cant really complain. I would receommend it to anyone using it for an actual break away as you may be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

This is one of the worst hotels I've stayed at in a long while. The room we were given stank, and we found out later someone had urinated on the floor. Fortunately the room was changed, but not very good quality hotel overall.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
4.5 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,363 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#6 of 6 in Lancaster
351 reviews
2.0 mi away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 6 in Lancaster
514 reviews
6.2 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lancaster

Address: Caton Road, Lancaster LA1 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: £57 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Lancaster has reopened with a completely new look. It enjoys an excellent location close to the M6 Jct 34 and with a bus stop at the main entrance makes the historic city of Lancaster easy to visit. The Holiday Inn Lancaster is also located near to the picturesque Lake District and provides a convenient location for day trips to the beautiful Lake Windermere and the attractions of Blackpool. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure guests, including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. The hotels facilities include 156 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and 7 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms. Each bedroom and meeting room is also equipped with High speed internet access alongside Wifi in the public areas. Our Conference & Banqueting rooms can facilitate up to 120 people for a meeting and up to 80 people for a Banquet. These 7 modern rooms can cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is provided complimentary at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Spirit Health and Leisure Club offers a gym, sauna, steam room and a indoor Heated Swimming Pool, in addition to Beauty Therapists and Spa. Our Restaurant, lounge and bar offer dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing