We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The morning after the night before”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Urban Spice

Urban Spice
Ranked #185 of 241 Restaurants in Lancaster
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Fast food, Eastern European
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The morning after the night before”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Went out for our works Christmas party but left early as I am in training for a 10k run.

Once every fortnight I allow myself a takeaway and yesterday it was the turn off Urban Spice.

I ordered Samosas and Bhajis for starter and a madras with kheema naan for main. Total cost was just shy of 12 pounds.

The food arrived within 15 minutes which set alarm bells ringing. The bhajis were slightly dry so I chucked on some mango chutney. The samosas were frozen in the middle so I binned them. The Madras was horrifying and the naan was oily.

This morning I have been sat on the toilet for almost 3 hours. I wasn't sick so maybe something has reacted badly?

Next time I'll order from elsewhere or just not bother.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank legrandefromagery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    0
    2
    1
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Urban Spice. Urban Runs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Decided to order a curry in as my partner is away and I couldn't be bothered to cook. It took around 90 minutes to arrive and when it did the starter was like a child's portion. The main was tasty though so I was happy with this (chef's special) however 20 minutes after and I was on the toilet.

Thanks for the food poisoning! I won't be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Lancaster74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No taste, just pain.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Horrific experience. Food arrived late and was spicy to the extreme. I rubbed my eye and it stung for three days. Which was four days less than the pain in my bowels.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank swanlove666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Burnt Kebab with bad old lettuce and horrible chips cooked in old oil”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Kebabs arrived burnt with lettuce that should have been thrown away. Looked awful. Chips were dark brown and tasted like stale oil. Complained and was told no other complaints..the owner ended up hanging up on me and said dont order again...I WONT USE AGAIN!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank tellthetruth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No, just no. Never again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

What can I say? Cheap, but rubbish. Food took almost 2 hours to come and was cold. After reheating the dishes were spicier than a spicy spice mix. Within an hour after consuming me and my wife were tag teaming on our solitary toilet.

Don't ever order food from these.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
16 Thank mattyp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urban Spice also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Urban Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing